We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had just spent the last 2 weeks in and cruising Alaska and we just thought it could not get any better but it could. We dragged our bags from the pier to the West End Guest House and we could not have been more warmly welcomed. We were early, left our bags to explore the city. We were delighted to see them in our room when we returned because they weighed a TON! Ron & Evan are they most gracious hosts, helpful, kind and very welcoming. The house has been fabulously restored to a wonderful Victorian luster. The rooms are as quaint as the living & dining rooms with character galore. The West End boasts wonderful breakfast, which I am truly here to say WONDERFUL!! (the croissants are to die for) plus cookies and candies when you come in at night. This was such a fabulous way to end our Alaska/Vancouver adventure. We will definitely return to the West End Guest House when we return to Vancouver.

Room Tip: If you like a soft bed Room 6 might be right up your alley otherwise if you need a more firm bed you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudyMcGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our 2 week exploration of Vancouver and the north west of the US. The guest house is in a great location with Stanley Park, Gastown and the shopping district eminently walkable. The owners were away on holiday so we were looked after by Danny who made us feel very welcome and served up excellent and varying breakfasts, which were a very friendly and sociable affair with a good mix of people. We stayed in the standard King room which was cosy but very comfortable and certainly met our requirement of not being your standard hotel room with its period features and furniture. My only slight complaint would be that the hair dryer in the bathroom was of the cheap hotel stuck to the wall type, only it kept falling off the wall which was inconvenient and unsightly. This however was a minor concern and was more than outweighed by other pleasant surprises such as the complimentary sherry and well stocked pantry. We'd definitely go back.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Em_Wanderlusterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Vancouver and Alaska. We stayed 5 days at the West End Guest House on the way to Alaska and 2 nights upon our return, before heading back to the UK.
The house has been beautifully, and lovingly restored and furnished in the style of the era in which it was built (circa 1900's). We stayed in the "Fickle Twins", which was a lovely room at the top of the house. The beds were so comfortable that it was a struggle to get up in the morning! Our room was exactly like the photographs on the website and had a skylight and windows with shutters that looked over the lovely Wisteria Tree in the garden. Everything we needed in our room was there, including lovely dressing gowns, hairdryer, shampoo. We borrowed dvds from Evan and Ron's dvd collection a couple of nights and enjoyed a hot shower and snuggled beneath exquisitely soft sheets and watched on the room's dvd player. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Evan is a superb chef and Ron serves with an ever-present smile and great efficiency. Nothing was too much trouble and we usually couldn't manage lunch! On the morning we went to Victoria there was a generous packed breakfast 'to go'. Evan and Ron are superb and extremely kind hosts who carried our extremely heavy cases up and downstairs and always had time to offer advice on where to go and what to do. The guest pantry always had something homebaked in it and I particularly appreciated the courtesy cans of soft drinks in the fridge, whilst my sister enjoyed being able to make herself a cup of tea whenever she wanted one. Every evening from 5pm until 7pm was 'sherry' time, with either Evan or Ron present to chat and introduce guests if they hadn't met before. The fact that it is out of the main hotel district stands very much in its favour as you can walk along a very quiet residential street and enjoy the trees and flowers as you take a very short walk to Robson Street, which is the main shopping street for Vancouver. You can easily walk down to Canada Place - where the hop-on-hop off tours go from, as well as the free shuttles to Grouse Mountain and Capilano Bridge go from. You can also walk to Stanley Park. I don't know how we could have been more central. The house was so warm and welcoming - as were our hosts - that we felt immediately at home upon our arrival that we were sad to leave when we went up to Alaska and so relieved to return. If you are thinking of visiting Vancouver you would be mad not to stay here. Alternatively, you could visit The West End Guest House and Vancouver would just be a bonus!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good! The "Fickle Twins" was great for two sisters travelling togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here during last year's Grey Cup festivities. The other guests were a mixture of first time guests, football fans and travelers on business. Breakfast made for lively conversations, and many new friends. Out of the main hotel district, still within walking distance to all attractions and shopping areas. The hosts were excellent about providing information and tips to this first-visit-to Vancouver traveler. I highly recommend this establishment to anyone visiting Vancouver.

Room Tip: the "cosy double" is VERY cosy, perfect if you like to sprawl diagonally on the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Evan and Ron were great hosts. I often stay at hotels rather than bed and breakfasts but this stay made me wonder why I do. We had come to Vancouver to find our daughter a place to stay when she comes to attend Emily Carr University in the fall. We thought that our hosts might have some ideas. It was actually uncanny how Evan's opinions and comments coincided with our own efforts!

Evan met us personally when we came in and was very welcoming. The food was superb and there was always a plate of cookies, a platter of muffins or a dish of chocolates that we could nibble on when we got a little hungry. They offered the use of their DVD collection and my husband and I enjoyed a fun, late-night movie.

The rooms were very comfortable with that special ambiance that our hosts have created. The location is outstanding; a two minute walk and you have the most gorgeous scenery in BC. The beds and linens were, as other reviewers have noted, exceptionally comfortable. Special little touches designed to charm or relax guests were everywhere. If we come back to Vancouver, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was very grateful that they offered one room (Molly's Room, I believe) which did not require a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Extremely comfortable beds, outstanding breakfasts, kind, helpful and friendly hosts, great place to meet people from around the world, extremely close to important attractions, help yourself pantry, warm cookies or brownies at the end of each day, they will organize your excursions and prepare breakfast to go, are very helpful in helping you chose what to do or where to eat, very clean and well upkept home. Evan and Ron are wonderful hosts, and the only difficult part is when you have to leave and I guarantee you will want to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are well decorated and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at West End Guest House in mid-May. Evan and Ron are wonderful hosts with a beautiful home in a great city. This is a secluded, ever-so-comfy, history-packed idyll right in the heart of Vancouver. Divine, imaginative and satisfying breakfasts. Home made cakes and goodies emerging later in the day. Really helpful, knowledgeable advice that helped us to get the best out of Vancouver. Do take the opportunity to have an early evening snifter and chat with your hosts and fellow guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
O Canada House
O Canada House
#3 of 56 in Vancouver
434 reviews
West End
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: £85 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing