We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 55 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the West End Guest house between the 5th and 8th June this year. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was very clean and well equipped and full of old world charm in this excellently restored property. Breakfasts were freshly prepared, good quality and served in a well laid out and friendly atmosphere in the large dining area.

The guest house is conveniently located in the West End area of Vancouver and is within easy walking distance of Downtown, Canada Place and Stanley Park. There are many good restaurants and eating places within a short walking distance of the B&B. Overall an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

After reading several reviews, I called West End Guest House (wegh) to make reservations after our cruise to find them already booked. I left my info in case of cancellation and , lo, to my delight, I received a call from Evan. This lovely, renovated home on Haro St. , is located conveniently close to Stanley park, Robson St. and bus lines. Vancouver is a friendly walking town and Evan was very helpful pointing us in the right directions! Sherry was offered every afternoon and the smell of warm cookies greeted us in the late afternoon. The breakfasts were to die for---eggs benedict (2 ways), healthy smoothies, homemade scones, and much more. Our room had the softest sheets and decorated in the period of the Victorian age. We welcomed friends on their front porch that we had met while crusing and just felt right at home! The small but lush garden was inviting to the gardener in me! If you are ever in Vancouver, this is a little slice of heaven tucked right in the middle of a beautiful city! Thank you Evan and Ron for your "southern" hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ky2onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West End Guest House for two nights in June. The home has been beautifully restored to its 1906 glory. Antiques fill the rooms and the guesthouse is ideally located just blocks from Stanley Park. I could go on and on about the care and attention that is evident in this home. If you are someone who appreciates this type of effort, you will value staying here. From the personal note awaiting us in the room with chocolates, to the thank you note awaiting us when we returned home, not to mention the gourmet breakfasts that are so delicious, you do not want to leave the table; it was truly a wonderful experience! Thank you Evan and Ron!

Room Tip: B and B Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our family of four stayed at the West End Guest House during our visit to Vancouver and it was a great experience! Our young adult children had a room with two single beds and a roomy bathroom and we had a smaller but just as nice room with bathroom. We had an outside patio just outside of our room which was a lovely place to sit and enjoy the outdoors. It is so much nicer to stay at a house - beautiful Victorian house lovingly decorated - than to stay at an impersonal, huge hotel! The host and owner, Evan, grew up in the Vancouver area and was knowledgeable about the local history and was glad to share stories and advice on what to see and where to eat. They made a different breakfast for us each morning which we looked forward to. And it is close to many of the sights in the area. Our stay at the West End Guest House was just as much a part of our trip as was the sightseeing and adventures. We had a lovely time and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKG92673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

After searching the web and reading many reviews Dave and I decided to stay at the West End Guest House B&B while we were in Vancouver after our Alaskan vacation/cruise. I can not say enough good things about this place and EVERYONE involved. From the time we stepped through the door we felt like family. We arrived in the morning and they graciously kept our bags for us until our room was ready while we explored the city for the day. The house is cute. It's a charming old house that is decorated tastefully. It's our kind of place for sure. We stayed in the Deluxe Queen room for four nights and it could not have been more perfect. The entire house was super clean (which is a big thing for me). The food was impeccable. The treats left out during the day were perfect for a little snack. The sherry in the evening was a great way to bring together the guests of the house (which I found was a good way to get recommendations for dinner or things to do during the day). One night we sat out on the patio upstairs and drank some wine and ate some cheese that we had gotten at the Public Market in Granville Island. It was perfect. Every night they left a little dessert when you walk through the door and also some chocolates in your room. They definitely knew the way to our hearts. Breakfasts were amazing too. I wish we could've stayed there forever! We loved Vancouver and hope to be back one day. When we do go back, we'll be staying at the West End Guest House Bed and Breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in Vancouver prior to taking The Canadian train journey over The Rockies to Toronto, we could not have chosen anywhere better than West End Guest House.
The tastefully renovated property is to be found in Haro Street, running adjacent to the vibrant Robson Street and just a short walk to Downtown, English Bay, Stanley Park or even the ferry to Granville Island.

Our Victorian themed Deluxe room provided for a comfortable sleep in a Queen sized bed and benefited from a good sized well equipped & stocked en-suite, flat screen TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and clock radio. The bay window view over the leafy front garden with mountains in the distance and easy access to the sundeck were just the icing on the cake.

Hosts Evan and Ron have a genuine warmness towards their guests and this, together with their sense of humour, serves as an icebreaker at the communal breakfast table or the early evening sherry and informal chat session that takes place in the parlour between 5 and 7 daily. Their extensive and detailed local knowledge is readily imparted to their guests during these sessions, as well as randomly at all other times of the day.

The breakfast menu changes daily and never fails to come up with yet another delicious and unique, to die for, creation.

If your are seeking a warm welcome, a convivial, comfortable and clean place to stay in Vancouver – look no further, The West End Guest House is the place for you. This is not just another B&B; this is THE B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landcruiserBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

House is exactly what a B&B should be...old, furnished and decorated accordingly, yet modern where necessary, and very clean.

Great atmosphere, wonderful front room to sit and chat with Evan and other guests.

Breakfasts that are elegant, tasty and filling, without being too much.

Bed was very comfortable...we slept soundly.

One of the very best B&B's we've ever stayed at.

My only requests would be:
- Make the entire property non-smoking. One guest was smoking on the balcony/porch, and the second hand smoke would find its way inside.
- Put a wireless internet repeater up on the second or third floor. Third floor internet access was very difficult.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,117 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,722 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: £126 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing