We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top B&B in BC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top B&B in BC”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We selected the West End Guest House to stay in Vancouver for our 40th Wedding Anniversary.
The welcome and services we received made it worth the trip alone. Extremely well run and cultured environment from top to bottom. Even the other guests, lots of whom were repeat customers, were a welcome addition to the experience. Evan was miles beyond the extra mile of consideration and assistance.

Room Tip: Reserve a spot early. You will not be able to book a better value in all of BC for location, superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_e_mcquillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
373
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We booked West End because of its location and mainly due to the mass of excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived we felt at home. Immaculate decor, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom and delicious breakfasts. And, thank you for looking after our excess baggage while we flew to Vancouver Island. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

As I travel more and more to B&B's I do find its the little touches that now provide the 5star service.... In this case it wasnt the room, abundance of home cooked high fat sugar scrumptious home cooked delights it was the Free sherry and free soda for the hangover,,,,, this is a great B&B with good sized rooms and great breakfasts, knowledgeable homely hosts and friendly ..... It's number one for a reason,,,,, 400 plus people don't lie... Go and check in :). Breakfasts are a blast Depending on who is also checked in......

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johngrahamcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had such a great time here a couple of years ago, so no hesitation in stopping here at the end of our 2013 Canada trip. Evan and Ron run a wonderful B and B, and the location is perfect. Just off Robson, its minutes either way to Stanley Park or Downtown. Its just great to park the car here and explore on foot or by the transit.
Rooms are spotless and are well equipped with luxury fittings. Breakfasts are gourmet, and always a pleasure to sit and chat with guests from around the world. A well stocked parlour is available for complimentary drinks, and watch out for the tray of freshly baked goodies at the bottom of the stairs in the evening.
Ron and Evan are marvelous hosts, eager to help with queries and to promote their city. No trip to Vancouver for us, is ever complete without stopping at the West End.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temptus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I spent two nights in late July at this gem. As a single female traveler, it was important to me to be in a place where I could feel at home and safe. From my first email from Evan, I knew the personal service would be top notch. He patiently and quickly answered any of my logistical concerns. I stayed in the cozy double which was perfect for me. Yes, it is tiny but works. I was a bit concerned when I realized there was only a ceiling fan; after all I am from Atlanta, GA, but even with the windows slightly opened, there was a nice cross breeze & I actually got cool at night. The sundeck is off the bedroom, just close the blinds for privacy. It was a great location to have a snack, study the map & meet Boots. I love the neighborhood; it was an easy walk to English Bay for the fireworks (& Evan told me exactly how to get there) or to the waterfront. So many great little spots for a meal but the Guest House breakfasts were so wonderful that I wasn't even hungry till midafternoon! And where else can you have breakfast with folks from France, Luxembourg and the good old USA. The West End Guest House was a memorable stop and I will be back if at all possible.

Room Tip: The West End Guest House has wonderful pics of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisalleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The West End Guest House was charming. Our standard queen room was a little small (no closet) but well-appointed with a clever "mantel closet" hanging space. The bed was comfortable and the linens were high-end. Breakfast was delicious every morning. We enjoyed the back porch - and the cat. The location was perfect. We were in a delightful residential neighborhood but able to walk to wonderful restaurants and shops. The on-off trolley stopped nearby. Evan and Ron were welcoming and helpful. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife booked room # 2 in February with a woman who answered the phone. This was after her friend had booked a room for three nights in July (12, 13, 14). Her friend said my wife would call her with our credit card info and she immediately called. The woman reserved the room from July 11 thru July 13 (wrong). When we arrived the owner said he expected us the night before based on the booking. We didn't have to pay for the room that was booked on the 11th, but we were being sent to another hotel for our last night. As it turned out, we were able to have a smaller room at the B & B for the last night. The room was small and cramped, designed for one person. Our original room that we paid well over $250.00 had a problem with the lock, you had to play with the key to make it work. We were unable to use the outside porch because there was an abundance of cat hair on the cushions. Very disappointed. On the positive side, the food was very good and the owner was helpful in providing us with a take out breakfast for our trip to Victory Island because we had to leave before breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan55, Owner at West End Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I can see that you would be disappointed. I was too because we never want our guests to not enjoy their stay. In this case I think the problem would have been nipped in the bud if our guests had read their confirmation email. (There were two couples traveling together and it was confusing on our end because they were to have disembarked from the same ship but made reservations for different days.) As always we try to be as professional as possible with the ultimate goal of our guests leaving with a smile on their faces. Despite the comments of the review I believe they were happy when I assisted them with their luggage to their taxi at check out. My apologies for the cat hair - we haven't managed to train her and obviously need to tidy the cat hairs from where humans sit on a more regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing