We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
244 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Great guest house in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

We started our three week holiday in Canada with four days at the West End Guest House in Vancouver and what a great start it was. We arrived tired after a long flight from the UK and were welcomed warmly and made to feel at home. The West End is wonderfully located in the "West End" and we were able to walk and take the mass transit everywhere. It is great to be able to walk to the sea on both sides as well as a short walk into the downtown heart to connect with all the buses etc.

The rooms are very comfortable - a little on the small size but a trade off well worth taking for the location. The downstairs areas are extremely comfortable and it was great to have a cold drink from the fridge, a cookie and a read after a hot day out in the city. We used their bikes for a trip round Stanley Park which we enjoyed very much too. As others have said breakfast is outstanding, and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The downside, well the wireless internet doesn't work very well.... the security is on the network and no one could really help with the password. One was supplied but we could not get it to work. Everywhere else we stayed ( 5 B&Bs in 3 weeks) , had open access wireless and that made it very easy to check e mails and use Skype and that is all I would have liked! However the guest computer worked well. It wouldn't stop me going back though!

In summary an excellent central Vancouver choice at a reasonable price what more could you want!

  • Liked — The location and the comfortable house
  • Disliked — Frustration with the internet
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
372
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

What a lovely stay we had at the West End Guest House. It was a perfect way to begin our trip that would take us to Alaska. The home is lovely, the staff very friendly and professional and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to visit the downtown area. The home is on Haro, which is just one block from Robson. Many good restaurants and stores are in walking distance. Breakfast each morning was so elegantly served and was delicious!!! Every evening some delicous treat awaited us as we returned from our touring. We stayed at 5 different B&Bs this trip, and the West End was our favorite!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful home and friendly staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at the West End Guest House for three nights in May 2008. We have never stayed at a B& B before and we decided to stay there as a treat for some quiet time after arriving from Las Vegas. What a treat it was. We were welcomed on our arrival and taken to our room on the middle floor front (Deluxe Queen). What a delightful room it was. It had a bay window with a couch in front of it looking out onto the leafy street. This B&B is one block from Robson Street and very close to restaurants etc. Down the hill is an easy walking distance to Stanley Park.

Breakfast at West End was a delight with something special and different each morning. Ron and Evan were the perfect hosts and sherry is served around 5pm each evening where you can catch up on the other guests' daily adventures. We took a day trip to Vancouvre Island including Victoria and Burchart Gardens which was organised on our behalf by Ron and Evan.

The bed linen and towels were of very high quality and the room was very comfortable and beautifully restored indeed. It is situated in a quiet neighbourhood and safe to walk around at night. The little touches like wine glasses in your room for a quiet nightcap to freshly baked cookies left in the lounge area at night and not to forget the chocolates and welcoming note left for us on arrival in our room all made us feel very much at home in this lovely old house.

Thank you Ron and Evan and your friendly staff for your hospitality.

We would love to return to Vancouver one day and if we do we will definitely stay here again.

Deborah

  • Liked — Location, cleaniness, friendlyness, everything
  • Disliked — Loved everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

Tremendous restoration job resulting in an outstanding property just several blocks walk from dining/shopping and a half mile or so from Stanley Park. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Owners/staff very accomodating and helpful. Breakfasts are extremely tasty and not too heavy. We stayed in the Grand Queen Room which is the uppermost room. We highly recommend the property.

Jim and Theresa, Tampa

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank billfisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at the West End Guest house, because we wanted to experience Vancouver, but not in a downtown hotel. We chose this place because of location, and since we could walk everywhere (though we did take a taxi once or twice, as we are getting on in age). We loved the house, it is so beautiful and clean, and having the signs of spring all around was nice.

It rained a couple of the days, but everyone seemed to be happy with it... i guess Canadians are used to that sort of thing.

The home itself was supurb, but exploring Vancouver was the best part. We stayed in the west end and visited Stanley Park and the Art Gallery.

We booked directly, but did most of our research on http://www.westendvancouverguide.com. The location was great, the price was fair, and will probably return later this year. The early Spring was nice... but we're looking forward to Summer!

  • Liked — Very Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Stairs were a bit tricky for older guests, but very nice
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cubiclemods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

My partner and I stayed at the West End Guesthouse for three nights and let me say, what a delight! We stayed in the Grand Queen Room in the top floor. How wonderful it was to have chocolate snacks and a special card written to welcome us. There also was a stuffed sheep animal on our queen sized bed! The fireplace was gorgeous, and I even got to use the antique soaking tub with the bath salts they provided. There were all these details we kept on finding in our rooms that added a great touch to the whole experience.

I looked forward to the gourmet breakfasts every morning. Ron served our every need with coffee whenever we needed it. The menu always changes, which kept us surprised, and they easily suited the meals to our vegetarian needs. It was also a nice time to get to chat with the other guests in the house, visiting from all over the place! But there was one morning when it was only me and my partner, which still was nice.

We reserved two mountain bikes from them for free, and used it to ride around the 1,000+ acre Stanley Park. The ride and the views were breathtaking, and so close to the guesthouse.

When we would come home at night, there would be a plate of fresh cookies waiting to be eaten by the guests. We would take a couple, go to the pantry to fix some tea, and we even borrowed My Big Fat Greek Wedding DVD from their batch of movies to watch upstairs in our room.

Although I love staying in high end hotels, I will definitely stay here again. Ron and Evan are generous hosts always with a warm smile! You can't find this experience anywhere else.

  • Liked — Charming rooms, gourmet breakfasts, location close to everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jchato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

I just returned from a 6 night stay in Vancouver, BC, where I stayed with my 11 year old son at the West End Guesthouse. My first impression upon entering was," Wow, this looks better than the pictures on-line." Evan, one of the inn-keepers, greeted us warmly and showed us our lovely room with extra-long twin beds. That night and everyone thereafter we came home to warm cookies, a clean rooms with all the extras (like good quality sheets, nice pillows, brass swing lamps attached to the bed for reading, a large fresh bottle of purified water) our pick of DVDs to watch, sodas and snacks, and a lovely living room with working fireplace a and lots of magazines and books. There was even a laptop for use by guests to check e-mail, etc. Evan and Ron were graciously helpful, always happy to give directions, offer advice about restaurants and genuinely happy to be serving us.Finally, I must mention, as other have, the breakfasts, which were unique each morning consisting of no less than 3 courses ! Such a lovely place attracts wonderful guests; we met and talked to many interesting people during our stay. We loved Vancouver and felt we'd hit the jackpot with the West End Guesthouse!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank busylizzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing