We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We will definately stay here again. The hotel was cute, trendy and in an amazing location. Granville Island is so fun and there is so much to walk to and check out. The hotel staff was lovely, our room was trendy and very comfortable. We had a balcony with chairs to sit outside in the sun and watch the city. The bathroom was very nice. No refrigerator but there was a minibar if you had to put something in it! There is a nice hottub to enjoy as well. Great Place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunwineandpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
There are newer reviews for Granville Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

A charming place to stay in a great area away from the usual city noise . Parking with the taxes adds up. The waterfront suites are like no other! One of our favourite places to stay when in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My recent stay at the Granville Island Hotel couldn't have been better. The price of $159/night was a bargain given the location and quality of the room.

The staff was helpful and friendly from the moment I parked out front, through check-in to check-out. Room was gigantic but the bathroom was big, as was the closet and the bed was very comfortable. Also quiet with good temperature control. As a smaller, low-rise hotel, it's very quick and easy to get to/from hotel which was a pleasure after having stayed at a few 1000-room giants.

Location is wonderful for anyone wanting to park their vehicle or arriving without a vehicle. Short walk to S. Granville area and a cheap cab ride downtown. Parking is extra, about $20/day once all the taxes are factored in but that's Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BcIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience! We really appreciate it.

Our 3 level hotel making getting around the hotel very easy. This small size is especially important for families and people traveling together!

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Vancouver.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We arrived and right away the staff were helpful. The one woman at the desk was dealing with an elderly
WomAn that was taking a very long time talking. The woman at the desk saw I was waiting and made sure she got another person to come out and help me. I requested a room with a view and a rain shower and a king bed and I recieved all my requests, I was very pleased. The room was beautiful, the staff were very pleasant and the food from the restiarant Downstairs was delicious. They had very fast room service as well. Highly enjoyed our stay and the next time we have the money to go out for a nice weekend again, we will definitely be going back here :)

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allicat8321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

This is my second stay here after reading reviews from this site. First time in February with my wife, second time with my nephew, both for Vancouver Canucks hockey games (best record in NHL, but lost both times, go figure!). The hospitality is first rate, the Dockside Restaurant (their partnering on-site eatery) is also up to the task to provide first rate cuisine. Call for one of their packages, and you will get free parking on Granville Island (which is impossible to find). Granville Market is the best place to load up on unique items not found in Seattle. Bring a cooler for the drive back. As a matter of fact, the U.S. border agent will ask what you have bought from Granville Market. Watch out as they might try to take your Naimamo bars. you bought away. Only negative is that our U.S. Dollar's value is in danger for the first time in my life of not being accepted on "par." That's another issue which is not fair to ding this hotel. Great place, great stay, will come back again for the unique Penthouse room!

Room Tip: Watch the Canucks on TV if you live in Seattle.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CCRNseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay! It is alway nice to hear from multiple time stayers!

Our seasonal packages will always provide guests with some extra value!

We are very lucky to be located so close to the public market! I think all of the readers of this review will benefit from your boarder comments! I did not know you could not take naniamo bars back to the States.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in Vancouver soon (but maybe wait till the play offs are over!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffybouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We had a two night stay in Vancouver to attend a family event. Located in a wonderful location for walking and sightseeing, we loved being close to the Granville Island market, and enjoying the stunning maritime scenery of Vancouver. Our room with king bed was incredibly comfortable, easy to temperature control, well-lit and well-equipped. All staff we dealt with - front desk, housekeeping, dining room - were very accommodating and cheerful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKNonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor! Your comments are very important to us.

We are very lucky to be located on the beautiful Granville Island.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Vancouver.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,889 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £167 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing