We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, young staff the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great location, young staff the best”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

granville island is a community in itself. you could easily spend most of your time there since there are lots of restaurants and a fantastic public market featuring lots of food. you can set off on serious walks or just hang out and watch the local water scene. quiet at night without the often ugly street level scene you encounter at more glamorous high-rises (yes the high-rises can give you great views but coming out at street level you feel like you've walked into a seedy bus station environment). A design school campus brings a funky element to the scene as well as individual artist studios. Overall seems to be a part of life for Vancouver residents so you're not stuck looking at crowds of unattractive tourists.

Room Tip: best-332,333,316,314,315. good-331,315 (balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmikeyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    530
    143
    51
    30
See reviews for
484
817
119
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed here for the simple reason of location. And Man! Was that a great reason to stay here. The hotel itself was average plus, but as I mentioned the location nails it. Seems the rooms were a bit limited when we stayed so the room wasn't as much as I had hoped. There was a large function going on when we got in 11:00 ish on a Sunday night. Really rocking and that's not a bad thing eh :) But chasing down something to eat this late on the island was hopeless. Understandable for the hour and it being a Sunday. Did check out the restaurant during regular business hours several times and the food, service and beer brewed on premisise was an all around thumbs up! The market is a must go too. I don't care where you've been in your travels. It's a really cool market. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: I think you have to book earlier than later :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very enjoyable. The hotel location is fantastic, the staff were wonderful, they don't overcharge to park your car as many other Vancouver hotels do, and the casual restaurant was excellent. They have a few rooms that can accommodate a pet and it's important to book this in advance as those rooms are often booked up. The room we stayed in had a king bed, but almost no floorspace, so do be aware that the room is small. Nice modern bathroom, big shower. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you for your comments!

The hotel offers a wide selection of room sizes as each of our rooms is a little bit different.

For guests looking for a larger space, the Superior rooms and Executive Suites offer more square footage and fantastic views!

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Water view, executive suite. Very comfortable and fantastic views of False Creek and Yale Town. King size bed with quality linens. Granville Island market, shops and galleries great places to visit. Harbour Ferries make it easy to go just about anywhere or just take a lovely tour of False Creek. Everything at your fingertips. Great hotel staff. Fine dining in diningroom, lounge, or outside during fine weather. Snacks and meals available everywhere on Granville Island.

Room Tip: Perfect little hideaway for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We really liked the hotel and our room - it was our first time there since it was renovated - we were impressed with the renovation. The staff were very friendly and we got very good service. Loved the shower and the bedding.
I have only one suggestion to make it a perfect stay: I'm a 55 yr. old woman and as we get older, we need better light & magnification to put on make-up. You should add magnified make-up mirrors (attached to the wall on a swing-out arm). The only place that I've ever seen this is at the Waterfront Suites in Sydney, B.C. (it's one of our favorite places to stay) - there must have been a woman involved in their en suite designs. In your room, I had to sit at the window and prop up my tiny magnified mirror on our suitcases. Unfortunately, no one puts adequate lighting in bathrooms and the only way to get close enough to the mirror to apply make-up is to lean over the counter which is very uncomfortable. Of course, that's just MY opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danusia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My favorite place to stay in Vancouver, excellent location, comfy beds, helpful staff, soothing ambience, convenient parking. Quiet!!

Room Tip: Some free parking is available on G Island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou499153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Please note:

Parking on Granville Island is complimentary for 3 hours only! People who move their car around the island in the 3 hour spots can get tickets due to the fact that it is 3 hours of parking per day!

Parking passes for hotel guests can be purchased for $12 plus tax at the front desk or guests planning to visit for longer than 3 hours can park in the pay parking lots located around the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed at the Granville Island Hotel a few times for business. It is an excellent location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is quite a small hotel, rooms are very nice, restaurant food is good. Excellent support for organizing meetings. My only complaint is that the business centre has older computers and I had troubles getting them to recognize my memory stick.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for taking the share your hotel experience. We really appreciate it.

I appreciate your comments regarding the business centre computers, as we try to continuously maintain and improve the computers for our guests convenience.

Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing