We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granville Island Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Inn and Suites(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$341
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Pacific Rim(Vancouver)
US$458
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Horizon Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$376
US$341
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$405
US$339
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$589
US$502
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,338)
Filter reviews
2,338 results
Traveller rating
1,473
609
164
58
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,473
609
164
58
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdockside restaurantpublic marketgreat locationart gallerieswater viewthe penthouseboutique hotelfront desk staffeasy accessdowntown vancouversea wallwonderful hotelstanley parkcreekgiaquabuswedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,119 - 2,124 of 2,338 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Everything about our stay at this beautiful boutique hotel was perfect. The staff went out of their way continuously to ensure that all our needs were met. From storing our excessive baggage to supplying us with umbrellas, we were always cared for! The breakfasts were delicious and the bedding was positively heavenly. I will be returning regularly for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raegan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We live in Langley, so didn't come far. Our son and new daughter-in-law decided on the Dockside restaurant for their reception so we thought we would also stay the night at the hotel to extend the fun and relax. It was all lovely, beautiful venue with the patio and city and water view, delicious food, all the guests and a great time! The staff was very helpful and attentive, the evening was seamless from appies to dinner to dessert....just ended too soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_rodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Not the easiest to get to, but once you arrive you are set for the rest of your visit. Easy access to downtown, Science Centre, English Bay, etc. via AquaBus, and that's only if you have time to do any of that after checking out all the great places on the Island. Also an easy walk to 4th Ave. which is great up towards Arbutus, Kits beach, and you can step right out the hotel door onto the SeaWall for a run around False Creek. That being said, my room was only okay. I think the bathroom was recently reno'd and it was great, but the rest of the room was pretty ho-hum, and even a little run-down/old looking. I expect more considering the price. The event I attended had a lunch and reception in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. I probably wouldn't eat there though if I was paying for it myself as the menu was pretty expensive and there are several great places to eat elsewhere on the Island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Great place if you want to explore Granville Island. A bit expensive for the standard of room but is ideally positioned to also explore downtown by water taxi. I found the staff in the bar ignorant but the Hotel staff were extremely helpful

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbabronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Location, location, location - the best feature of this little hotel. Imagine eating breakfast on the waterfront every morning and wandering through craft stores and a public market a minute away from the front door. The public spaces of this hotel are contemporary and elegant, the staff aims to please and the food was quite good, though we limited that to breakfast and late night snacks. We rented bikes at the hotel, jumped on a water taxi and rode to Stanley Park and back.

I gave this hotel only three stars for the room because it seemed to be furnished from a garage sale and was somewhat cramped. The desk, dresser and mirror were of older, hotel traditional style and the newer desk chair did not fit under it which meant we had to constantly roll it here and there to get it out of the way for two people to move comfortably around the room. Our kingsize bed was nicely appointed, but had a large lump in the middle. We would have complained but honestly, our days were so action-packed I think we could have slept well on the floor! However, it really needed a new mattress. The lobby and dining rooms are contemporary and the old style wing chair in the room looked like a hand-me-down.

The other thing that took us by surprise was the very large flat screen tv in the room. We thought it was great until we turned it on and realized the hotel rooms do not receive HDTV and the selection of channels was limited.

The bathroom had one of the best showers we've ever enjoyed! Obviously updated and modern, but again...a stark contrast to the room furnishings.

Still, we would go back to this hotel and hopefully try anothe room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moimoi184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your hotel stay. We are very spoiled to be located right on the waters edge in False Creek. The beautiful water front views from the hotel and restaurant really high light what Vancouver has to offer.

I appreciate your comments on the guest rooms. We are in the process of updating the furniture slowly. While we have beautiful new beds with duvets and triple sheeting some of the older large wooden furniture pieces are still at the hotel. This process is underway to update the furniture so we appreciate your comments to demonstrate that we are moving in the right direction.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the new rain showers; these bathrooms are very popular with our guests!

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews