We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Regular Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for a number of years and continue to really enjoy the experience. The location, for me, is ideal, the reception very friendly and efficient and the rooms great value for the price. As I live in the UK I almost regard the hotel as my second home!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
807
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

A clean, comfortable, convenient and scenic place to stay for visitors to Vancouver. Hop on a nearby ferry to explore downtown, the West End, Yaletown or Chinatown. Visit all the amenities on Granville island and enjoy a meal at the hotel restaurant Dockside - especially on the waterside plaza in the summer! Even though we're local, we've stayed here a few times when we've turned our place over to out-of-town family.

Room Tip: Request a room on the north or east for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

One of my favourite weekend retreats. The hotel is located on Granville Island in the heart of Vancouver. Granville Island is a shoppers bazaar by day for gifts, clothing, groceries, baked goods, quick snacks, sophisticated dining, aboriginal art and more and also popular among locals and tourists alike. Being on the water, there is never a lack of things to do or see. At night there is live theatre and great dining both on the island as well as a short drive or cab ride away. The evenings are quiet and perfect for a good nights sleep.
Living in the 'burbs' of Vancouver, my wife and I enjoy staying at the Granville Island Hotel as our home away from home. It allows us to enjoy the Vancouver night life without the drive back home in the early morning hours. We find the hotel rooms well appointed and comfortable; the staff friendly and accomodating.
The dining room in the hotel is the Dockside Restaurant which offers a fine menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. On the weekend, we especially enjoy items on the brunch menu.
We have on occasion had many out of town guests attend a celebration or reunion and have not hesitated to recommend the Granville Island Hotel for their stay in Vancouver.
The Granville Island Hotel continues to be one of our favourites.

Room Tip: Get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman43c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have stayed at the Granville Island Hotel several times over the past few years, usually to attend Bard on the Beach and the Fireworks (which are within walking distance). We have always been impressed with the service the staff provides and all the amenities offered. We decided to spend this past New Year’s Eve there as the package they were offering sounded wonderful. The only difference this time was we had to bring our 2 small dogs with us as we had no one to dog sit. Never having taken our dogs to a hotel before we were a little apprehensive about what to expect from both the hotel and our dogs. To our delight we were accommodated in a beautifully appointed room on the 3rd floor with a view out over the Marina and south False Creek. The only difference between a pet friendly room and a people only room was the tiled floor (very smart for accommodating a pet). There is a gorgeous and very quiet green space right next to the hotel for walking dogs and a 10 minute walk to an off leash area. The staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable with the dogs being there and we were even offered doggy treats and waste bags upon arrival. As all pet friendly rooms are located side by side we did not even have to worry about the occasional woof or growl. Our dogs were very well behaved and seemed to enjoy their visit nearly as much as we did.
All in all it was a great experience and one we would not hesitate to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Granville Island hotel is clean, comfortable and very normal as a regular hotel. They do seem to lean a bit too heavily on their location, and although their beds are comfy and bathrooms fresh, the rest of the room decor needs sprucing up. The staff were pleasant but not friendly, it felt more like an anonymous business hotel than a friendly holiday venue. If you're after quiet halls, comfy bed, perfect location and restrained staff attitudes, this is your spot.

However, we had just come from a Kimpton in Seattle, and the energy, friendliness, perks, and decor of the Kimpton made the Granville seem boring and drab. If we'd come to it from a long flight or a stressful meeting we may have liked it better. However we were on holiday and would have appreciated a more friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view! We got a 'roofing' view and it was a bit disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pherriswheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Quiet and cozy, this hotel is perfect for exploring Vancouver -- well appointed rooms and great bar and restaurant right on the water make for a well appointed stay. Friendly staff and lovely rooms, this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I've stayed here 4-5 times in the past 4 years and I'm only so-so on this place.

Pros: location is good (not near downtown though), walking distance to the food markets, restaurant in hotel has great food and views of the water

Cons: internet is an adventure, rooms are so very small, front desk staff only somewhat helpful instead seeming to believe you should be just happy to be there, rooms and general decor definitely need an upgrade/overhaul, fitness centre is painfully bad (just admit you don't have one), definitely the slowest elevator in Vancouver (and only one elevator).

Room Tip: ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we really appreciate it!

I would like to report that our on-going internet problem has been corrected as of this past Monday. With the help of Shaw and our wireless team we have corrected the issue and we are now running daily speed tests to confirm that our wireless internet is always fast and reliable.

Being a boutique hotel each room is a little bit different in shape and size. While some rooms are smaller we do have larger rooms in all room categories and for guests looking for extra space our Executive Suites are large and spacious.

The hotel realizes that our fitness area is very small. For guests looking for more space or a larger range of equipment, we recommend the False Creek Community Centre which has a large and modern gym and is less than 1/2 a block away from the hotel. Also, as we are located directly on the sea wall, weather permitting our guests can enjoy walking, jogging, or cycling the beautiful seawall which connects us past the Olympic Village to Science world and for those looking for a longer run all the way to Stanley Park.

Again, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Christine Louden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing