We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rare gem in a busy city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A rare gem in a busy city!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

A quaint hotel that is in the heart of Granville Island. Excellent location for seeing a tonne of stuff but never needing to drive. Excellent staff, crisp cleanliness throughout. A definite must for a romantic getaway...or a change of pace for a business trip. Meals were good, work out facilities were small but acceptable for the amount of time I spent in it. I would recommend checking it out soon!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmrloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    528
    136
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
805
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The location is an ideal jumping off point to some of the more interesting sites in Vancouver: Kitsilano, Jericho Beach, The Endowment Lands and Robson Street. The hotel provides some wonderful views of the harbour and the rooms are modern and clean. Oh, and Granville Island is one of the great treasures of Vancouver that residents regularly flock to and no tourist should miss.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My partner and I enjoy staying at this hotel. Its location beside the seawall is ideal and all rooms have a nice harbour view. Restaurants and the Granville Market are within walking distance as well as many theatres and artisans. We travel to Vancouver on business trips and always extend our stay a day or two to enjoy the ambience of this great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwaitesSorrento2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

For the vacation traveller this location hits the spot. Very central with markets, food stalls, shopping and galleries at your doorstep. Breakfast from the fresh food markets with real coffee from a real coffee machine. Yumm. Bus stop at the entrance to the island, the cute little ferries take you down town or a walk over Granville Bridge is not a huge impost. There are several pubs on the island to have a drink after a days sightseeing. Most offer good meals. We ate in the Granvile on two nights, once in the dining and once in the bar area. Both menus are the same and both times we had a good meal.

The room was modern and spacious. We liked that you could open the winow and let the fresh air roll in. Staff were helpful at every turn. The free high speed wifi was a bonus.

We loved this boutique style hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a charming, quiet, conveniently (re centrally located) hotel in the heart of Vancouver. The staff were kind and responsive, the rooms clean, and the food, in general, excellent (with a few hiccups that we promptly resolved) - all a traveler would want in overnight lodging. The business centre is clean and up-to-date, and the printing free. No charges for internet, no hidden irritating extras expenses - what you see is what you get and that is much appreciated.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors and facing the water are quieter and have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Granville Island is pretty happening during the day, but quiet at night. This property is very nicely kept, and staff are very good. Seemed reasonably priced for Vancouver. They do charge extra for parking but it seems reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taos_NMSundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel was recommended to me and I was very impressed. the rooms were well appointed and modern. The resuarant was excellent but lets face it, it's location, location, location. What a wonderful spot. I will be returning. The only change I would make is a better equiped fitness centre.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate it.

The hotel is currently drawing up new plans for the Fitness area! We will keep you posted as developments arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,595 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
1,991 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing