We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at the Granville Island Hotel for one night at the conclusion of a 12 Night Hawaii to Vancouver Cruise on Royal Caribbean. When we arrived well before the normal check-in time on May 4th, the Front Desk quickly had rooms made up and we were able to stow our bags and start exploring Vancouver. The Front Desk personnel offered suggestions to a central location in Vancouver where we took a complimentary bus tour and also visited the Suspension Bridge Park. We took a taxi back to Granville Island and had a delicious late lunch at the Sand Bar Restaurant. During a visit to The Public Market we found wonderful meat, cheese, appetizer spreads, fresh breads & pastries that were paired with Red Wine & Champagne for a lovely evening picnic on the hotel patio. Later in the evening we had pizza, oysters & wine in the hotel bar that were all delicious and delivered very quickly. We had a king size bed, which was very comfortable. The rooms only have floor lamps, which made it a little difficult to read once the sun had gone down, but everything else in the room was great. Breakfast was in the hotel restaurant and consisted of the asian seafood omlette, white rice, spicy asian sauce & fresh fruit. Check-out was quick and easy the hotel was a 20 minute to the airport. I wish we had been able to spend more time on Granville Island and visit the surrounding area. If we visit Vancouver again I know where we will stay again.

Room Tip: The Front Desk has coupons to many Vancouver sights. A recommend a king size room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedebara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,914 - 1,920 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I have been staying at the GIH several times a year for many years now. Love being on the water, taking the water taxi over to Yaletown is so very easy and a good way to avoid the traffic of this very busy tourist location. Their web site gives a very true discription of all the rooms, you will not be disappointed. All the staff has always been very pleasant and helpful. Just ask, they will get you what you need. A few steps out the front door is the false creek rec center for a more complete work-out ,cycling,yoga etc.Beds are comfortable ,views are great.Many,many great restaurants just moments away. Cant wait till we return Love Vancouver Lover Granville Island and all the great shops and of course the Farmers Market.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I booked Granville Island Hotel as part of a cosmetic surgery package. The Sheraton Wall Hotel was another option but I chose the Granville Island Hotel for its walkable distance to where I was having the procedure. The hotel delivers on many fronts. The superior room I stayed in was spacious with a sumptuous king size bed, large sofa and additional chair, large flat screen TV, work desk and separate desk and mirror near the hanging space. The bathroom was similarly spacious and looked as if it had just been renovated. The views were stunning, looking across the marina and False Creek to both South Granville and Yaletown. Staff were friendly and efficient and room service delivered on time on all occasions I tried it. A pizza Margherita and grilled wild sockeye salmon were excellent options on the room service menu. Wifi is available in the room for no extra charge and was fast and reliable. Granville Island is also a thriving location for the visual and performing arts with a huge variety of craft-type shops and places to eat at or buy food. Overall, a really excellent hotel and I hope to return next year as part of a summer vacation to fully enjoy all that the hotel and Granville Island have to offer.

Room Tip: 207 has fantastic views and a refurbished bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Let me preface this review by stating that I have been a very regular visitor to Vancouver since childhood and my wife and I have stayed in very many of the fine hotels in the city since we were first marriage. In fact, Granville Island Hotel was the first hotel we stayed in together in Vancouver but that was shortly after it opened. Because Vancouver has so much to offer we just never seemed to get back to it.
This April marked a very special birthday for my wife and I offered to take her anywhere she wanted to go. She surprised me by asking to go to Vancouver and stay at Granville Island Hotel. We had no idea what changes might have taken place over the years but we booked our reservation and crossed our fingers. The two of us needn’t have worried. In fact, this boutique hotel is an absolute joy.
On arrival we pulled up to the front of the hotel and received a very warm greeting from a young man handling valet parking. Entering the hotel we noticed real changes from its start in the 1980’s when there was a massive moving sculpture hanging from the ceiling and an open bar and restaurant area next to the lobby that was typical of that era – excessive. Now the lobby is quiet, stylish and calming.
The staff members at the front desk were not only welcoming but genuinely pleasant. As they carried out the check-in they made a special point of wishing my wife a happy birthday, something that was a very nice touch. They then surprised us by upgrading our room.
We took our bags to the top floor, the 3rd, on the East wing of the hotel. Our room was situated right at the end of the wing. We opened the door to find a very large, beautiful suite that featured a terrific king-size bed in the centre and windows looking out on two sides. There were three small balconies overlooking the park and yacht moorings on one hand and then all the way down False Creek past Yaletown to the geodesic Science Centre. As we stood admiring the view a dragon boat swept past on the water with rowers pulling on oars, sailboats pulled away from docks and joggers ran by on the pier below. At night the same view was magical with the lights of the city reflecting on the water. Pure heaven.
Our room also featured fine amenities including free Internet access and a good desk set-up. That came in handy when I had to deal with urgent business matters one morning. The flat screen television was large and of good quality and the seating in the room and out on the balconies allowed us to catch up on the news in the morning and sit with our coffee to take in the view. It was also a very nice touch to find a free newspaper at our door every morning.
Our room had a very large bathroom with two sinks and a large show with a great showerhead arrangement. Although not a problem, we found it odd that there wasn’t a bathtub in this room. That may be a part of a good water conservation policy, a real effort to be eco-friendly when many hotels just make token gestures.
Through our stay the staff always greeted us as if we were old friends and made certain that they took the time to chat. They also wanted to make sure that our every need was being taken care of. As an example, when we found that our room did not have any bathrobes we made a request and they were brought up in less than 5 minutes.
We ate breakfast and also had cocktails in their main dining room, the Dockside Restaurant. Each time the food and service were very good. I was pleasantly surprised that the menu had very healthy choices and an emphasis on excellent ingredients. A real bonus is that Granville Island has its own microbrewery on site. They make well-crafted beers that are a delight to those that enjoy a good pint.
Vancouver is a very busy metropolis and its city centre is very dense with a lot of traffic and activity both day and night. Granville Island Hotel offers one very unique feature that very few hotels in the city can do. Because it is situation at the end of Granville Island out over the water and away from the main roads, it is very quiet. You don’t have to worry about being awakened in the middle of the night by traffic sounds or sirens or the odd rowdy tourist.
Granville Island Hotel is also situated in one of the most bohemian areas in the city. The Emily Carr Art College sits just a couple of dozen steps away. Art studios for painters, glass blowers, sculptors, textile artists and others abound on the Island. Good restaurants, theatres and interesting shops are also right nearby. The Granville Island Market sits just down the street and is a delight for the senses. The Granville Island Hotel is right in the heart of the city but right on the water. Water taxis can take you to Yaletown, Hornby Street and other great areas to explore. This hotel could not be situated in a better spot.
In total, Granville Island Hotel is a delight. My wife and I are very grateful to the staff and management for our wonderful stay with them. We don’t know why we stayed away so long but we will be back very, very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusMulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We rented one of penthouse suites to have a very small mature wedding. The suite is absolutely beautiful with all the renovations they have done.... new carpet, white leather chairs and live orchids in every room. The two complaints were.... the jacuzzi tub does NOT work and we were not able to get into the room until half an hour after check in. One would think with the price paid for the suite, we should have been able to check in right at 2PM, which is check in time. Also the reservation was made almost a year in advance, so they knew it was going to be used that day.
Other than that the bed is very luxurious and comfortable and the staff are very friendly. We did have a beautiful wedding, with a fantastic view!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Deborah S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your hotel experience! We were very excited to be part of your special day.
I appreciate you letting us know about the hot tub in the Penthouse, without you letting us know about maintenance issues we are unaware of the issue and therefore cannot correct the problem. The issue has now been resolved and the Jacuzzi is in great working order. We are very pleased to offer our guests an early check in time of 2pm. While, we work our best to make sure all the rooms are ready for 2pm, sometimes we cannot get all the rooms done by 2pm especially when we are full the night before.
I really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and I hope that you will think of us again for your anniversaries! Congratulation on your wedding and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,

Christine Louden
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We headed down to Vancouver for a quick stay (2 nights) and LOVED this adorable little hotel. The size was charming, the service was excellent, and the location was unreal - so many things to do and see! The Dockside Restaurant won an award for the best patio in vancouver, mighty impressive Dockside, mighty impressive. With it's own micro brewery and delicious menu it was a perfect night. Be sure to hop on the aqua bus to Yaletown and share a drink with the Real Housewives :) The restaurants around the hotel were great, Sandbar came highly recommended and lived up to the expectation.
Overall we would gladly stay at this hotel again, its not too fussy vibe suited us perfectly. The only downside was the gym sucked...in fact the work out equipment was right beside the hot tub...hot yoga anyone? Other than that it was just great!!

Room Tip: get a view room and take advantage of being right on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funwithduckandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spent another week at the Granville Island Hotel and had an incredible experience as always. The staff is amazing, the food is great, and the atmosphere is breathtaking. Won't stay anywhere else when I'm in Vancouver!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfnut007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,584 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,358 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £134 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing