We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Room - 4 nights reduced to 2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superior Room - 4 nights reduced to 2”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I have lived in Kits for a year so we've had the time to discover where the good spots are, we never heard of any exceedingly bad reviews of this hotel so we booked a few nights in one of their Superior Rooms.

I'm sorry to say that although the packaging is well tailored it didn't deliver much on their advertised promises. I have to give the front desk some credit, that they did try - after the second attempt at communicating with them. The restaurant left something to be desired though. I think I made the mistake of informing the hostess that because it was midday, too early for dinner too late for lunch, that we were interested in appetizers and drinks only. I felt that because we weren't ordering off their dinner menu that we weren't important enough to be received like other guests.

By the time the waitress took our order they had seated 4 other guests and of those 4, served 2 drinks before us.After our appetizers, the waitress arranged to bill our room but needed my husbands signature, she presented the bill but did not return to our table so my husband had to present it to a Maitre d' to get that resolved.

Needless to say we were not impressed and our meals elsewhere after that and by the second day of our stay we resolved to cut our stay short. The view from room 307 is great but we can get that view from other hotels in Vancouver too.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay at this hotel, I highly recommend room 307. The views and privacy are ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    528
    136
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
805
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I've visited Vancouver on business and never had the opportunity to visit Granville Island. What a gem the hotel is in a beautiful location, close to the market, with it's great food and specialities and the really unique and interesting shops. Since I was staying for a number of nights and had booked the room online, I was delighted when I had a lovely room on the 3rd floor overlooking the patio and the waterfront. My bed was great! I had a balcony for sitting out in the evening and enjoying the view. The staff was very helpful and friendly and more than happy to accomodate a number of requests resulting from an event I was participating in at the hotel with friends.
The restaurant and bar are an added bonus for convenience
The proximity to the ferry to get to other parts of Vancouver is great
I'm looking forward to my next visit to the hotel

Room Tip: Pick a room with the waterfront view on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMA235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Came to the hotel earlier in the week to scope out the rooms. Front desk staff were very accommodating in arranging for my personal tour with A.J. who was very helpful. Fell in love with room 307 with the beautiful view of False Creek and a southern exposure. The room has three private balconies to boot. Unfortunately, the room was already booked for the weekend. I booked room 107 with King bed and sitting area. Booked our stay for Friday and Saturday nights finishing up with a Mother's Day brunch on the Suday (May 13). The staff also assisted in arranging to have the champagne and ice cream on ice (Cherry Garcia - yum) I bought be put on ice. Also gave us a vase for the flowers for my kid's mom. Staff set up the champagne, flowers. ice cream and cheesy magazines in the sitting area. Well done. The room was quiet; the bed was comfortable. The staff were excellent and friendly. Needed help with resetting the cable for the television. Called for maintenance to come. Met him out in the hallway because he was heading back to the front desk to have them call my room. I had a DND sign on the door and hotel policy was not to knock on the door without being sure it would not disturb the guest.

Dockside patio was excellent and had great sun exposure during the day and heaters at night. Great food, great drinks and great staff at Docksides. The Mother's Day brunch was a fabulous spread - well done. Great value for the $55. Family enjoyed the time and the hotel. Really enjoyed the band the hotel had playing during the Mother's Day brunch.

Thanks for the wonderful getaway within my own city. Loved hanging out at the hotel and Granville Island for the weekend. The hotel is a piece of paradise within the heart of the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcnlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at the Granville Island Hotel for one night at the conclusion of a 12 Night Hawaii to Vancouver Cruise on Royal Caribbean. When we arrived well before the normal check-in time on May 4th, the Front Desk quickly had rooms made up and we were able to stow our bags and start exploring Vancouver. The Front Desk personnel offered suggestions to a central location in Vancouver where we took a complimentary bus tour and also visited the Suspension Bridge Park. We took a taxi back to Granville Island and had a delicious late lunch at the Sand Bar Restaurant. During a visit to The Public Market we found wonderful meat, cheese, appetizer spreads, fresh breads & pastries that were paired with Red Wine & Champagne for a lovely evening picnic on the hotel patio. Later in the evening we had pizza, oysters & wine in the hotel bar that were all delicious and delivered very quickly. We had a king size bed, which was very comfortable. The rooms only have floor lamps, which made it a little difficult to read once the sun had gone down, but everything else in the room was great. Breakfast was in the hotel restaurant and consisted of the asian seafood omlette, white rice, spicy asian sauce & fresh fruit. Check-out was quick and easy the hotel was a 20 minute to the airport. I wish we had been able to spend more time on Granville Island and visit the surrounding area. If we visit Vancouver again I know where we will stay again.

Room Tip: The Front Desk has coupons to many Vancouver sights. A recommend a king size room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedebara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I have been staying at the GIH several times a year for many years now. Love being on the water, taking the water taxi over to Yaletown is so very easy and a good way to avoid the traffic of this very busy tourist location. Their web site gives a very true discription of all the rooms, you will not be disappointed. All the staff has always been very pleasant and helpful. Just ask, they will get you what you need. A few steps out the front door is the false creek rec center for a more complete work-out ,cycling,yoga etc.Beds are comfortable ,views are great.Many,many great restaurants just moments away. Cant wait till we return Love Vancouver Lover Granville Island and all the great shops and of course the Farmers Market.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
407 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I booked Granville Island Hotel as part of a cosmetic surgery package. The Sheraton Wall Hotel was another option but I chose the Granville Island Hotel for its walkable distance to where I was having the procedure. The hotel delivers on many fronts. The superior room I stayed in was spacious with a sumptuous king size bed, large sofa and additional chair, large flat screen TV, work desk and separate desk and mirror near the hanging space. The bathroom was similarly spacious and looked as if it had just been renovated. The views were stunning, looking across the marina and False Creek to both South Granville and Yaletown. Staff were friendly and efficient and room service delivered on time on all occasions I tried it. A pizza Margherita and grilled wild sockeye salmon were excellent options on the room service menu. Wifi is available in the room for no extra charge and was fast and reliable. Granville Island is also a thriving location for the visual and performing arts with a huge variety of craft-type shops and places to eat at or buy food. Overall, a really excellent hotel and I hope to return next year as part of a summer vacation to fully enjoy all that the hotel and Granville Island have to offer.

Room Tip: 207 has fantastic views and a refurbished bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Let me preface this review by stating that I have been a very regular visitor to Vancouver since childhood and my wife and I have stayed in very many of the fine hotels in the city since we were first marriage. In fact, Granville Island Hotel was the first hotel we stayed in together in Vancouver but that was shortly after it opened. Because Vancouver has so much to offer we just never seemed to get back to it.
This April marked a very special birthday for my wife and I offered to take her anywhere she wanted to go. She surprised me by asking to go to Vancouver and stay at Granville Island Hotel. We had no idea what changes might have taken place over the years but we booked our reservation and crossed our fingers. The two of us needn’t have worried. In fact, this boutique hotel is an absolute joy.
On arrival we pulled up to the front of the hotel and received a very warm greeting from a young man handling valet parking. Entering the hotel we noticed real changes from its start in the 1980’s when there was a massive moving sculpture hanging from the ceiling and an open bar and restaurant area next to the lobby that was typical of that era – excessive. Now the lobby is quiet, stylish and calming.
The staff members at the front desk were not only welcoming but genuinely pleasant. As they carried out the check-in they made a special point of wishing my wife a happy birthday, something that was a very nice touch. They then surprised us by upgrading our room.
We took our bags to the top floor, the 3rd, on the East wing of the hotel. Our room was situated right at the end of the wing. We opened the door to find a very large, beautiful suite that featured a terrific king-size bed in the centre and windows looking out on two sides. There were three small balconies overlooking the park and yacht moorings on one hand and then all the way down False Creek past Yaletown to the geodesic Science Centre. As we stood admiring the view a dragon boat swept past on the water with rowers pulling on oars, sailboats pulled away from docks and joggers ran by on the pier below. At night the same view was magical with the lights of the city reflecting on the water. Pure heaven.
Our room also featured fine amenities including free Internet access and a good desk set-up. That came in handy when I had to deal with urgent business matters one morning. The flat screen television was large and of good quality and the seating in the room and out on the balconies allowed us to catch up on the news in the morning and sit with our coffee to take in the view. It was also a very nice touch to find a free newspaper at our door every morning.
Our room had a very large bathroom with two sinks and a large show with a great showerhead arrangement. Although not a problem, we found it odd that there wasn’t a bathtub in this room. That may be a part of a good water conservation policy, a real effort to be eco-friendly when many hotels just make token gestures.
Through our stay the staff always greeted us as if we were old friends and made certain that they took the time to chat. They also wanted to make sure that our every need was being taken care of. As an example, when we found that our room did not have any bathrobes we made a request and they were brought up in less than 5 minutes.
We ate breakfast and also had cocktails in their main dining room, the Dockside Restaurant. Each time the food and service were very good. I was pleasantly surprised that the menu had very healthy choices and an emphasis on excellent ingredients. A real bonus is that Granville Island has its own microbrewery on site. They make well-crafted beers that are a delight to those that enjoy a good pint.
Vancouver is a very busy metropolis and its city centre is very dense with a lot of traffic and activity both day and night. Granville Island Hotel offers one very unique feature that very few hotels in the city can do. Because it is situation at the end of Granville Island out over the water and away from the main roads, it is very quiet. You don’t have to worry about being awakened in the middle of the night by traffic sounds or sirens or the odd rowdy tourist.
Granville Island Hotel is also situated in one of the most bohemian areas in the city. The Emily Carr Art College sits just a couple of dozen steps away. Art studios for painters, glass blowers, sculptors, textile artists and others abound on the Island. Good restaurants, theatres and interesting shops are also right nearby. The Granville Island Market sits just down the street and is a delight for the senses. The Granville Island Hotel is right in the heart of the city but right on the water. Water taxis can take you to Yaletown, Hornby Street and other great areas to explore. This hotel could not be situated in a better spot.
In total, Granville Island Hotel is a delight. My wife and I are very grateful to the staff and management for our wonderful stay with them. We don’t know why we stayed away so long but we will be back very, very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,595 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
1,991 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing