We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We love Vancouver and this was our 2nd time staying at the Granville Island Hotel. It is a few minutes walk from the Public Market and we enjoyed going for coffee each morning and people watching. It is so close to Kitsilano; 10 minutes from Yale Town and Robson St. They have bikes on the property that you can rent and go anywhere in the City. An easy, comfortable, gorgeous place to stay! Injoy!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the "executive suite" - it was just $25usd more per night - these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaA675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    541
    148
    53
    32
See reviews for
501
844
120
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I only had one night in Vancouver at the end of my trip after hiking the West Coast Trail and this hotel was recommended to me. It was fantastic. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and the views were outstanding. The location is great. You can walk to the market for shopping and to a large selection of restaurants. I had lunch at the hotel and the food was superb as was the service. I will definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauibabe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was somewhat small but tastefully appointed. Great location in a fun area. Staff at front desk were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We brought back leftovers from dinner one night. They graciously stored them in their fridge and heated them for us the next night. Plenty of reasonably priced parking spaces. Hotel right by the water with good views Overall, a lovely hotel and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had such great hospitality in and around the Hotel. The view from our room was breath taking.

We appreciated how clean the room and hotel was.

The corner room that we had gave us a view of the water front on both sides. The evening view of the lights off the water was special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Haror
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We just had our 3rd yearly stay at this hotel. We go up to meet a friend that brings his boat into Pelican Bay for the Festival of Lights each year, so its very convenient. The hotel has a great location so you can walk to restaurants, market, etc. The staff was very courteous. Hotel and rooms are clean, and the food in the restaurant is good. However, the drawback here is the cost. You are paying for location its true, but $280 a night for an average hotel room is a bit steep. I'm sure they up the rates for this event, but I'm sorry to say, next year we will stay elsewhere, its just not worth the money.

If you can get a good deal, or its a special occasion or you want to splurge, definitely stay here because its the only hotel on Granville Island, and its worth a visit there. Otherwise, stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharbot Lake ON
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My sister and I recently travelled to Vancouver to spend a week with our youngest sister. We have both been to the West Coast and Vancouver before, but have never stayed on Granville Island.

We had a late check in due to our flight times, and when we were shown our room we very quickly realized it was much too small for the week stay. We called the front desk and Yuko spent a lot of time finding us another - this was high season and hotel was fully booked.
The second room was lovely, water view and large - much better, thanks to Yuko.

During our stay, we enjoyed the restaurant on site (Dockside), breakfast, lunch, and dinner - everything was delicious and presented very appealingly. As well, the bartender makes a great martini.

Being a small hotel, staff recognize you, and remember your preferences (especially in the restaurant) - makes you feel very comfortable.

One of the things we enjoyed the most was the hotel location - right on Granville Island, a short walk to restaurants, shops, theatre, ferries, and of course wonderful water views.

The prices are comparatively high - but some things are just worth the $.

If I had to make one recommendation for improvement, it might be that the TV channel selection is very meagre - but who spends that much time watching TV with the wonderful views around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat_in_SharbotLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Granville Island Hotel a number of times over the years and have seen the changes. Most are all good. Love the Dockside patio upgrade! This last trip was for my birthday and over the weekend with the fireworks show. It was busy at the hotel (at least one wedding...) and being fireworks weekend likely contributed to a full house. This time was the worst room we have ever had at the hotel. Small, obstructed window. Even our worst room was still a really good room. It faced east, was very quiet, and the bathroom upgrade was wonderful. Our luck with amazing rooms had to run out sometime... :-) We love it that we can park the car and walk everywhere. We rented the bikes this trip and rode along the seawall for a few hours. (For the price of the room, the bikes should be free...) My best recommendation is to visit Granville Island in the spring or fall when it's not so crazy busy. We have always gotten a better room, and a bit better service during the quieter months. Still love this place and will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room - it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgurl_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing