We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Night Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wedding Night Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Granville Island Hotel the night after our wedding. She had also stayed there with a bride's maid the night before the wedding.

This was such a lovely treat. The room was really nice, the service was great, the view over False Creek was gorgeous and the room service breakfast was perfect for the morning after the wedding party. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBI747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    515
    133
    50
    29
See reviews for
465
792
118
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel right on the water. Prettiest patio dining in Vancouver--we watched the full moon rise over the harbor and toasted it with champagne lounging on comfy sofas under the stars around a beautiful fireplace. Cool architecture, wonderful service. Perfect location, central to everything. Cannot say enough positive things. We stayed 3 nights, flew over to Vancouver Island for 3 nights, and came back to Granville for our last night. They held our luggage while we traveled out, and welcomed us back like family upon our return. We definitely recommend this as the place to stay. And we were referred here by our friends who stay in Vancouver for the month of August each year--to escape the Texas heat--it was 112 in Dallas the week we were there! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebSuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We love Vancouver and this was our 2nd time staying at the Granville Island Hotel. It is a few minutes walk from the Public Market and we enjoyed going for coffee each morning and people watching. It is so close to Kitsilano; 10 minutes from Yale Town and Robson St. They have bikes on the property that you can rent and go anywhere in the City. An easy, comfortable, gorgeous place to stay! Injoy!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the "executive suite" - it was just $25usd more per night - these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaA675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I only had one night in Vancouver at the end of my trip after hiking the West Coast Trail and this hotel was recommended to me. It was fantastic. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and the views were outstanding. The location is great. You can walk to the market for shopping and to a large selection of restaurants. I had lunch at the hotel and the food was superb as was the service. I will definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauibabe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was somewhat small but tastefully appointed. Great location in a fun area. Staff at front desk were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We brought back leftovers from dinner one night. They graciously stored them in their fridge and heated them for us the next night. Plenty of reasonably priced parking spaces. Hotel right by the water with good views Overall, a lovely hotel and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatoon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had such great hospitality in and around the Hotel. The view from our room was breath taking.

We appreciated how clean the room and hotel was.

The corner room that we had gave us a view of the water front on both sides. The evening view of the lights off the water was special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Haror
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We just had our 3rd yearly stay at this hotel. We go up to meet a friend that brings his boat into Pelican Bay for the Festival of Lights each year, so its very convenient. The hotel has a great location so you can walk to restaurants, market, etc. The staff was very courteous. Hotel and rooms are clean, and the food in the restaurant is good. However, the drawback here is the cost. You are paying for location its true, but $280 a night for an average hotel room is a bit steep. I'm sure they up the rates for this event, but I'm sorry to say, next year we will stay elsewhere, its just not worth the money.

If you can get a good deal, or its a special occasion or you want to splurge, definitely stay here because its the only hotel on Granville Island, and its worth a visit there. Otherwise, stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#7 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing