We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Pelham, Ontario
1 review
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good location for our needs. Check in and check out was easy at the desk, but we requested a room change as the air conditioner was not functioning properly, it was a very warm day. Initially they said "No" the hotel was full but they did find us an alternate room. The first room we were given was also very small and very noisy above the outdoor dining/bar patio (this was not a last minute booking either). Our dining experience was poor! We booked a reservation and were told they only take reservations for inside, we had only wanted patio seating. When we arrived they said there were no outside tables left, but as we were being seated inside we saw an empty table set for outside.
We were then told that table was reserved!! You see the ambiguity? Diner was a very poor experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
807
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

If location is your thing, and you love walking or cabbing it around, this is the place for you. I wont go into detail, as many before me have already explained it, but Granville Island itself is a pretty cool little spot. Great day-trip if heading to Vancouver, and the proximity of bars/restos/nightlife within walking distance of the hotel is a huge plus.
The hotel itself was nice, if not showing a little age here and there. Various beers made in-hou se are cool, and actually quite tasty [says the guy visiting the Molson brewery on business]. Real gem if you like[love] beer, is of course Granville Is. Brewery just down the street. Breakfast every day was nice, but pricey. didn't have dinner there.
Stayed in a suite, and while there was plenty of space and a view out onto False Creek, the room & furnishings just seemed a little underwhelming vs. price. Everything in the room was very clean, no dirty grout, etc. Can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe I'm just not used to the 'uniqueness' of this 'boutique' hotel. Mind you I stayed at Le St. Germain in Montreal and understood from arrival I was somewhere special, and it was also 'boutique'.
But enough about that. I would stay there again, but wouldn't spend my own money to do so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StopsforHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of all of the things we like to do in Vancouver. It has many amenities and is a beautiful hotel. The view of the Science Centre dome form our balcony was exceptional at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A nice and convenient hotel with beautiful views. All staff we met were very friendly. It's a good hotel for two or three days getaway in Vancouver. Traffic and parking is the only concern. It's better to reserve a parking with Granville Island Hotel first.

Note: Parking is available for guests for the rate of $12.00 plus tax ($15.12) per night per car.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AmberHsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

So much to do and see on Granville Island. (market, theaters, shops, restaurants). When you've done all that, hop on the "Aquabus" and head over to downtown. Lot's of fun! Once on the otherside, walk or cab it. This saves the price and inconvenience of parking and fighting the downtown traffic. Plus if you wish to have beer/cocktail, you don't have to worry about driving back to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Grandville Island Hotel is on a great location, there are many shops, restaurants and a great market where you can spend hours shopping. The rooms were clean and modern with fantastic views. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duncan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheat Ridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is such a comfortable place to stay. It is so easy to get downtown via the water taxi and the views of the city are amazing. Try the prosciutto and fig pizza at Dockside. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing