We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a All-Round Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a All-Round Great Experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Granville Island Hotel made our visit to the island and Vancouver just that much more wonderful. The room we stayed in is beautiful, and well kept and supplied by staff. Meal portion sizes are acceptable to generous, and the food choices in all areas is good, especially if one enjoys offerings from the sea. No matter what area of the hotel we used, the staff was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    546
    150
    53
    32
See reviews for
509
850
122
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in early August 2014. Location is lovely - with the bustling shops/market and restaurants of the Island and a lovely chilled-out bar/restaurant with good food and stunning views over the harbour and Bay. Rooms are fine, functional and very clean and the service throughout the hotel was great. Would recommend as an alternative to the big chain hotels in Vancouver. The only downside is parking. The hotel does not have dedicated spaces so it is a bit of a free for all with all the visitors to Granville Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

…. go to Granville Island and enjoy dinner on the patio, overlooking False Bay and Vancouver Skyline.
If the air condition had not been that loud in our room, sleep quality would
have been two points better, and rooms one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If an airport shuttle is important to you then you will be disappointed. I felt like the front desk was annoyed if you ask them any questions regarding the area. The rooms were clean and overall very nice. The location is excellent. I do not feel that this hotel is a great value though. I do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Kelly K

I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't live up to expectations. With only 82 rooms, an airport shuttle just wouldn't be feasible, nor do I know of any other hotels downtown that have one. As for the front desk, I am sorry that we missed the mark. We are usually so enthusiastic about Vancouver. I am grateful you brought this up, we need our customers to hold us up to higher standards.

All the best,

John
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Rooms are nicely appointed. Great indoor/outdoor lounge downstairs. Awesome friendly staff.

Beware: walls are paper thin, beware if noise intrusion bothers you or you're a light sleeper. Also: We had the misfortune of arriving on a holiday Monday afternoon. Traffic onto Granville Island is uncontrolled and there are far more cars on a busy weekend than parking spots. Result of which is gridlock as an army of drivers inches their way around the island looking for nonexistent parking spots. It took us 15 minutes to drive the three blocks from the entrance to the island to the hotel. Getting a taxi would have taken twice as long so we ended walking back out to our dinner at Jehrico Beach. Not fun.

That aside, staying on the Island is so lovely. The following morning, sans traffic, was very nice, coffee in the market and some quiet time on the waterfront.

We paid ~15% less than what it would have cost for a hotel downtown and aside from the traffic snafu and thought it was very good value. This hotel is still a little bit undiscovered. Check it out before the hordes descend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleeopteryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Summer123456,

Thank you for your review - I'm glad you hear you enjoyed your stay, and I am sorry to hear you had trouble with traffic. Granville Island is a late 70's planning experiment that did everything right except for cars - in that too many people still bring their cars here, especially on a beautiful summers day! I see it as traffic on a busy day and the lack of roads and parking only contribute to the vibrancy of the place, making it more about the people, than their car. Its all part of the undeniable uniqueness that is Granville Island, but I am glad you got to see it when its quiet too!

I hope to see you again soon!

All the best
John Fialkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We returned to the hotel with all of our family to celebrate our 50th anniversary as this is the place we chose over anywhere else. Hotel was great and the service as well. Not too happy about our meals at the restaurant but perhaps the cooks had an "off" night. We chose not to return the following night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank saunderscm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went for the vaulted ceiling room, but didn't get it. We paid an additional fee for an upgraded room with a view--that was blocked by lots of trees!!! The only highlight of this hotel is their stupendous nighttime dinner/lounge. It makes you feel like you are in Miami with it's trendy decor and breathtaking views.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NMS971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,555 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,168 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,018 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing