We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN IN VANCOUVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After a disappointing Alaska cruise on NCL Sun. we stayed at this most perfect hotel. Located on Granville Island and away from the hustle bustle of the city. Staff at desk and restaurant were superb.Very popular Dockside rest serves good food with eclectic variations. Vegetables are to die for. Our room was spectacular on the third floor. on the corner so glass all around with wonderful views of false creek and all the boating activity. Our room was huge, with a living area, separate bedroom area, and nice bathroom with all the amenities. Free Wi-fi is very fast.

Room Tip: Would try for 333.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hutchplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Business on Granville Island! Team
Meeting for 3 days. Great meeting room with doors that opened to the outside. Comfortable sleeping room with window that opened !
Free wifi, great shower and newspaper delivered to the room. Starbucks coffee in room for free. Reading lights over the bed.

Excellent staff. I will find a way to go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sleeperpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Rooms are a nice size with very nice walk-in shower. Great beds. Desk. Side chair. Very tiny balcony that had a view of the water. Nice soaps, shampoo,gel, lotion. Nice tv. Very quiet atmosphere. There is a workout room and hot tub. Restaurant right there. Is very good and has indoor and outdoor seating (it is pricey, but so is everything in Vancouver). Park your car or take a cab from the airport as there is plenty to do within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the opposite side of the outside bar for more privacy and a better view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HoosierNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A great place to visit Vancouver and relax as you wander around the Granville Market and watch the yachts cruise by. Close to everything. The hotel is very quaint it was a treat not to be on the 20th floor.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The rooms aren't cheap, but what a great place to splurge a little--there's just nothing like staying right *on* Granville Island. You're right there when the market opens, you're right there to do shopping-kayaking-whatevering ... you're smack in the middle of what, for us, is the best part of Vancouver.

I would *not* go to Granville if I was just looking for a single-night accommodation and sailing out on a cruise the next day--for me at least, there's just not enough time to "do" the Island, and the travel options over to Canada Place aren't as good as other locations. But if you're going to take a couple of days--either before or after your cruise. Wow, what a *great* location. For us, it was well worth it to spend a little more and have our base of operations be the area of town that we love the most.

I'll tell you--we made the decision based on all the right logic and research and well-thought-out planning--but we had no idea how great it was until we stayed there! What a complete and total win it turned out to be.

Start by having a pretend-breakfast out on the hotel's patio. Take in the sumptuous view of Vancouver, and of False Creek as it wakes up. Then head up to the market for your real breakfast and a huge heaping helping of fresh-as-it-ever-gets. Art galleries, studios, beadwork, weavings, pottery ... eclectic shopping abounds ... both out on the island and inside the market. First Nation artwork is well-represented. There's a little bit of tourist shopping if you need to. There's kayaking, and stand-up-paddling if you've got the nerve (and the balance). Go Fish is the most amazing fish-and-chips shack we've ever been to (ignore the warning from Google and Yelp that Go Fish is closed ... it isn't). Edible Canada Bistro sources *all* their food and beverages from Canada. There's a hidden water park that *seems* hidden, until you realize that a zillion children have "discovered" it and are having a blast running through all the water fountains. Finish up with dinner or drinks at any of the great restaurants on the Island. And don't overlook the Dockside--the hotel's own entry in the terrific-restaurants-with-an-astonishing-view-along-the-waterfront competition. Each evening that we were there, our family commandeered a small gang of seats in the bar--off in the corner by ourselves where we could have a little privacy, and not bother the citizens. :-)

Sorry for going on and on, but we love Granville Island, and the Granville Island Hotel is the *only* hotel on the Island.

Hints? Wow. OK, let's go there:

It's expensive, and the rooms are a *little* on the smaller size. (Not terribly small, as one reviewer wrote, but there wasn't a whole lot of *lounging* space--it was more of a narrow walkway around the two queen beds.) But if you're staying at one of the better-known hotels in downtown Vancouver, you're paying the *exact* same prices (or higher) and your location is gonna be close to just one thing. Maybe it'll be Gastown, or Robson, or close to Stanley Park. If I'm gonna pay those prices anyway, I might as well stay right on the Island. And if you're in town for a cruise and looking at the Pan Pacific or Fairmont, then you'll be paying *hundreds* more than Granville Island. To be fair, if I'm staying by myself ... maybe I'll opt for a less expensive hotel ... there are some excellent choices available, and I can navigate to Granville by just getting up a little early or something--I'm the only one who is inconvenienced. But with the whole family here ... oh man. For us, this was the absolute best choice.

The hotel staff was wonderful to work with. They were extremely helpful from start to finish. The rooms were perfectly clean, the air conditioning was quite strong (an important point on those occasions when Vancouver gets really hot), and the bathrooms ... oh man, those showers ... the rainfall showerhead was REMARKABLE!

Yup the Granville Island Hotel ... location, service, cleanliness. *Well* worth the splurge.

Hope this helps ... a little at least! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4allisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Granville Island Hotel has the most amazing location in Vancouver and the most wonderful staff that go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and simplistic. The only downside is the tiny rooms and the price they put on them knowing that they have a captive market. We were at a reunion recently with a number of old friends and all stayed in the hotel. This is my own personal view and as my husband and I are in the airline industry, and get to experience many many hotels. Granville Island Hotel is selling rooms smaller than a dorm room in a hostel for exorbitant rates and will continue to do so because of supply and demand in their location. Don't go there with great expectations of the accommodation but do go there knowing that their staff are absolutely outstanding and the location is the best in Vancouver!

Room Tip: Not sure on that one but all I could recommend is to ask for a room with a view of the beautiful Van...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hidden_treasures4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location of this hotel is interesting. Granville Island is a recent redevelopment area complete with a fantastic public market with great food, produce, and meat. It also has local artists and and shops. There is a design and art university. There is a working Ready-Mix cement factory; which cannot be seen or heard from the hotel. For a touristy area it feels real and alive. You are not right in the downtown area of the city however. Of course Vancouver is not huge so it is a short cab ride to downtown. The hotel has bikes available for rental. Bike riding is great right from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jafrnch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,935 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,266 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £161 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing