We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and Lucky FIND.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting and Lucky FIND.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

I haven't stayed at this hotel since it was a raving nightclub back in the 80's. Being older all I thought was I need to get a room away from the music - only to find it has grown up as well and offers the nicest location in Vancouver with outstanding rooms and one of the best restaurants in Vancouver.
I could not have asked for a better location and diamond hidden away but yet so close to everything. Outstanding hotel and the beds are so so comfortable. Thank You DND/CF for recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCFireConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor!

We really appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
807
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Great service (especially at the front desk and in the restaurant). Great food. Great views. Superb location. What more could a traveller ask for--except for maybe free parking. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaniwiChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Granville Island hotel! We really appreicate your feedback! As a manager we feel very lucky to have such a great front desk staff!

We are currently working to create packages that include parking as we realize it is an added expense.

Thank you again for your time and kind words.

Cheers,

Christine Louden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I lived in Vancouver, and when I go back, this is for sure the first hotel I am looking for. The hotel is nice, the restaurant is great, and it is really central. The best of all is that it is located on Granville Island. There is great restaurants close by, downtown is easily accessible, you have an amazing view of the city and the mountains, and you can have a quite night of sleep!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviersavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

The Dockside restaurant has beautiful views and fantastic food, especially their eggs benedict for breakfast and the watermelon feta salad for dinner! My huband and I tried all the types of beers in a little flight from the micro-brewery onsite. It was perfect.

I have stayed here twice and would stay again. The first time I stayed was in the summer and I borrowed a bicycle from the front desk and biked around the seawall, what a great experience. The galleries on Granville and market are fun to see as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshower82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Checked into the hotel on Granville Island for a 3 night stay and our first reaction was WOW! A beautiful large modern style room with lots of windows. Great kind bed with very nice soft linens and fluffy towels. Best shower ...the bathroom was huge with an amazing huge ceiling shower head. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant too was really great and prices were in line with good restaurants in Vancouver. Although the hotel has parking for a daily fee, it is best not to bring your car as the island is definitely best seen on foot and driving on the island is difficult as pedestrians are everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talktomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

We just got back (home to the US) from staying at the Granville Island Hotel. We always stay there when we go to Vancouver because we feel at home there and it is the perfect location for us. Seems like that's where the locals stay. Every morning (and sometimes several times a day) we go to the Granville Island Public market for breakfast (sometimes lunch and dinner too and for pastries always - we like Stuarts and the Muffin Granny), I walk around False Creek every morning [which is just beautiful; this time I walked an hour from the hotel to Yaletown and walked around there for awhile. Went to my favorite market the Urban Fare. Didn't get to go in my Favorite Doggy boutique (Fire Hydrant) though cos it was closed. Then took the Aquabus back to Granville Island]. I miss my walks already. People are very friendly and the City is very dog friendly which was really nice. We usually eat at Global (Yaletown) but this time we tried the Keg (on Granville Island) and it had really good food. My husband loved his primerib hamburger and we tried an appetizer that we loved - tempura snap peas and asparagus with a soy dipping sauce. Yummy! We also took the ferry to Vancouver Island for the day. Got to go on a Whale watching tour - which I've been wanting to do for a long time. We had a blast and was a very memorable trip. Saw lots of animals thanks to our captain. I'll write a review for the Whale watching company we went on. Another thing we did was buy a bunch of Dutch Boy potato chips - they have unique flavors (like Ketchup, etc.) that we don't have back home. It wasn't easy bringing them back home though cos they are so fagile but worth the effort. We also brought back some candy bars that we can't find here and of course we brought back some berry bran muffins (Muffin Granny), scrumpets (Muffin Granny), and skor & peanut butter & m and m cookies (Stuarts). We love Granville Island and the Granville Island Hotel and will definety will be back. It's a great get away and feels like our second home. There's still so much to discover in Vancouver and lots of restaurants to try. On our last trip we got to visit Stanley Park and eat at the Red Door (on Granville St.) but sadly we didn't have time to do so on this trip.

Oh! the hotel has been renovated since our last stay two years ago. They did a nice job in updating it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikake2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel is great if you want to explore granville island. Our room was clean and large. The hotel restaraunt was ok, not outstanding but pretty good. The bar was really nice and I spent a nice couple hours there on a sunny afternoon enjoying a slow pint. You can walk to everything on granville island and there is a lot to see and do there. We had been to granville before but this was the first time we stayed at the hotel. Its a much better way to see the island. No fuss about parking. walk everywhere and return to your room for a drink and a hot tub when you are done.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcoopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing