We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Costa Mesa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Quiet”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

So I like to have fun late into the night and even through the break of dawn when the feeling is right, but when I hunker down, I really crave for quiet time. Jericho Beach was utter perfection for me. I had access to all of Vancouver, yet had a quiet, beautiful, & serene location to go to when it came to resting time. I loved that I could walk outside and just be surrounded by beautiful green trees & plants. I loved going to the beach often to contemplate. Staff was friendly and helpful. This hostel has everything you need to cook your own food. Bunk beds were super comfortable and had a sense of privacy despite being in a dorm room. Location is a bit off as I had to travel longer distances to other parts of Van to see the sights & my friends, but the trade off is that I was away from all the loud noise from the city. I can't wait to come back!!! <3

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorillazfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    23
    16
    11
See reviews for
6
25
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here in July. Having mucked up my dates with some other accommodation and needing a place to stay at the last minute, I found a vacancy here. It's a wonderful location for a hostel and the building itself is clean and pleasant. Five minutes max walk to the beach, six minutes to a beachview bar, beautiful sunsets. I would definitely stay here again. Incidentally, for those trying to decide whether to stay here or the central Vancouver hostel, I would recommend here, especially if you are willing to walk or take public transport to explore Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location is okay if you're after a slow pace. Not much options for food/service wise unless you're willing to walk 15 minutes.
The beach was a let down, coming from Australia though, my standards are quite high.
Room/dorms and bathroom facilities are all great.
Biggest let down is the miscommuniaction between staff and service at reception. On any most of my requests, they are confused.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintera850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June in a private room with a shared bathroom. The hostel was a great choice. Within Vancouver but in a quiet area with easy access to downtown Vancouver. The room was small but comfortable. Hostel was very clean. Staff were helpful with answering questions and giving advice. Unfortunately parking is in the street if travelling in your own or rented vehicle. It's easy to locate a place at night. Free wifi. A place to cook downstairs. Also a place where food and drinks can be purchased. Somewhat veggie friendly menu.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HopeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I brought my girl guide unit to this hostel and loved it!! The girls and guiders loved the location and the staff at the hostel. Very friendly and pleased that they had a dormitory room that all the girls stayed in :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KymKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I found this place to be extremely quiet and the beds were very comfy. Only thing is the design of the place, its kinda a bit prison like or mental institution. The washrooms and showers could do with a bit of a revamp. They are clean, just old style. They need to get vending machines that sell food. The closest shop is 30 minutes away so come here with all the food you need. Great for a short stay and staff are very friendly. I stayed in co-ed dorm and was fine, big lockers and big windows for air. Only downside is one light for 16 bed dorm (difficult if dorm is full of people)

Room Tip: I stayed in a co -ed dorm room and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniatarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the co-ed dorm for the first couple of nights as the private rooms were fully booked. Then we moved into a private room for our last night which topped off a good stay here.
The only downside to the dorm was there was no power points accessible for bed 1&2 as the outlets are behind a bench seat that goes along the wall & our plugs would not fit behind. There was 2 plugs accessible to beds 3&4 but were used by our room mates. The barracks style dorm accommodation is not for us, I don't mind dorms but these only have a curtain blocking off the entrance to the room which offered less privacy to what dorms already normally lack.
Once in the private room we had a great stay, still used the shared washrooms but slept much better without people coming in at all hours & turning lights on & banging doors.
The staff were very friendly & helpful & the location was ideal for us to relax at the beach & also walked to BCU via the beach :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwide_wandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#66 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
648 reviews
University Land Endowments
West Coast Suites at UBC
West Coast Suites at UBC
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
1,302 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#26 of 49 in Vancouver
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Address: 1515 Discovery St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's hostel by the beach is located just 20 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the University of BC. At HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach you'll be surrounded by parkland and sandy beaches, with views of downtown Vancouver, Stanley Park, and the North Shore Mountains at your doorstep.Live like a local and experience all Vancouver has to offer. Cycling, kayaking, beach volleyball, wind-surfing and hiking are within easy reach. Travelling to Vancouver with your bike? HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach provides secure bike storage, and our friendly staff can direct you to the many bike trails, street routes and pathways.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the only Vancouver hostel with a licensed café on site. Jerry's Cafe is open for breakfast, dinner, and drinks seven days a week. Join us for our weekly activities while experiencing the great food and some great Canadian Beer selections.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the ideal West Coast home base for outdoor adventurers, beach-goers and summertime relaxers - we've got it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing