We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The rooms are not clean and smell like they have been fumigated. The window could not be closed as the hardware was corroded. The carpet was burned by an iron. No one was at the desk when I checked in and there was no easy access to the hotel from the unmarked parking lot around back.
A true disappointment !

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventureSeeker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear Adventure Seeker 67 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is equally disappointing for us when a guest leaves Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park unhappy. As no hotel is perfect every time, when we do make a mistake we take pride in listening to any guest challenges and taking corrective action immediately so that each guest has the experience they expect and is satisfied with their stay prior to departing. We apologize that this was not the case with you. If you are ever returning to Vancouver, it would be our pleasure to have you return to Rosellen Suites and allow us the opportunity to make it right!

To specifically address some of the concerns in the review, we are not sure how to respond to the housekeeping issues mentioned as this is something that has never been a problem at the hotel. Guest after guest and review after review rates the housekeeping service exceptional. The classic suites offered are indeed a bit older in design and may have a few blemishes that to some may appear to be "dirty". But, repeat guests enjoy this type of suite and regularly convey how "clean" they always find their suite. For those who prefer a more modern appeal, our "personal-ity" suites are newly designed with individually themed decor, flat screen tv's, DVD/CD player, iPod docking station, upgraded bedding and a more "crisp" look that some guests prefer over the "classic" suites. Admittedly, there are accidents when an iron ends up on the carpet causing an imprint. We attempt to repair and replace carpets as often as economically feasible and are always ready to help a guest find the perfect suite for them if not satisfied with the one they have.

The windows are indeed the originals from 1959 and they have an older style arm that requires manual tightening and loosening to open and close the window. Many guests find this part of the charm of the building and all find the ability to actually have windows that open a great amenity as many of the modern buildings do not allow windows to be opened at all anymore. A quick call to the on-call Duty Manager during the evening or to the Guest Services office during the day and someone is always happy to demonstrate how to operate the windows and/or assist with anything needed during a guest stay. Again, apologies that this was not made possible during your stay.

Parking in Vancouver is always a bit of a challenge. Rosellen offers parking under the building and on the back side of the building. Parking location is assigned based on the size of a guest’s vehicle. From either parking area, it does require walking up a flight of stairs which is a bit inconvenient for a few. However, having the ability to offer guests self-parking on-site and charging half what the nearest competitor charges is appreciated by most guests.

The hotel does not operate a 24 hour front desk. However, there is a duty manager available at any time who can be reached by dialing the emergency number. Instructions for late arrivals are provided in the confirmation with each reservation and are also posted on the door. In the event any guest has a problem, assistance is just a phone call away. Again, our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the late arrival check in process.

Constructive feedback is always most appreciated as it helps us improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for taking your time to provide us this valuable information. Though we did not have the opportunity to assist in correcting the inconveniences of your recent visit while you were a guest, we do hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate to you that what you experienced on your last visit was an exception and not the rule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

This was my 6th stay at the Rosellen. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely decorated, well equipped and comfortable. This location is awesome, close to the beach, park, shopping and downtown. It's in a quiet neighbourhood. Just a terrific value for what it offers. We'll stay again. I've recommended this hotel to many friends who also stay there regularly now too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moleesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear Moleesmith -

Guest's like you make coming to work each day so enjoyable. Thank you for your comments and for all the referrals. Please make sure you let us know when you are returning so we can share a thank you toast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

clean, spacious (800 sq.ft.) 2-bedroom in quiet Vancouver west end with full kitchen; more than generously friendly staff; stayed 6 days ; parking is pricey but likely is all over Van.; 5 minutes away into Stanley Park to see Blue Herons doing their annual nesting rituals; building is older but well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. One of the all time favourites for guests is walking through Stanley Park to enjoy the wildlife. Herons, swans, Canadian geese, racoons, skunks, even an occasisional bear! You can walk, run, roller blade, or bicycle around the park. Rosellen is just steps to the entrance. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We have stayed at the Rosellen several times over the last 5 years, and have never been disappointed. It truly is the best place to stay when you're traveling with small kids. These are full apartments with kitchens - and it is a lifesaver to NOT have to take the kids to restaurants if you don't want to. The suites are roomy and comfortable - we hosted Easter dinner in ours, with 6 adults and 2 kids. It did not feel cramped. I cannot say enough about this place - we love it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVEMYBOYS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Our college freshman was home for spring break so we wanted a brief family retreat. This was the perfect location to able to walk everywhere---great food, movies and shopping nearby but on a quiet residential street just 1/2 block from Stanley Park. The website had unfortunately booked us for one night instead of two, but the receptionist warmly accommodated us with a free upgrade to a Personality Suite on the top floor. Nice layout with kitchen, dining and 2 bedrooms with comfy double beds, TVs/DVD and WiFi, great temperature control on chilly spring nights. All staff were very friendly and helpful. No fitness center on site but they'll reimburse you if you go to the community center a few blocks away. Definitely the best place for the price that we've stayed in Vancouver, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in the West end. You can have it all here. A short trip to Stanley Park and the wonderful miles of nature and sea walks there. A few blocks in the other direction and you have world class dining, entertainment and shopping. But if you really want you can stay in and cook your own meals--especially after a day to Granville Island. So much to do and see. The staff are wonderful and have a GREAT sense of humor. The suites are lovely and the building, although, older is lovingly cared for. A sort of art deco vibe. We can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69pepper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at the Rosellen Suites for a month and were very impressed with the way we were treated while staying there. Our accommodations were spacious and very clean (Housekeeping staff came twice a week to clean.). The staff at the front desk could not be more accommodating. When we asked about Saturday markets in Vancouver, the gentleman at the desk did not have the information, but he subsequently went to the trouble to go on the Internet and print out the appropriate details. When Vancouver was celebrating the anniversary of the Olympics, the staff gave us information sheets about all the related events in the city. On Valentine's Day, each suite received a "chocolate rose" – a lovely touch! Whenever we needed directions to get to places in the city, the front desk always provided the information.

Staying there for a month, we wanted to do some cooking in the apartment as well. When we didn't have certain specialized cooking utensils in our suite (e.g. roasting pan, stockpot), a simple request at the front desk was made and in minutes, the needed materials appeared in our apartment.

We have nothing but praise for all the staff at the Rosellen Suites. They helped to make our stay a memorable one and our apartment there feel like home.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Yingele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#42 of 92 in Vancouver
1,533 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 92 in Vancouver
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Address: 2030 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £93 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood just steps from Stanley Park, Rosellen offers that largest suites in Vancouver that can accommodate from 1 - 8 guests. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms and bathrooms, dining area and living room providing plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The staff provides personal friendly service. The hotel is in walking distance to many different types of restaurants, shops, and major Vancouver attractions including English Bay and Vancouver Aquarium. The hotel provides complimentary high speed wireless internet access, local and toll-free calls, passes to the local fitness center and pool, coffee, tea, and popcorn with two premium high definition movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel At Stanley Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing