We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in one of the one bedroom suites at Rosellen Suites in mid-August. The staff were very helpful, the bedding, bathroom and kitchen were all in good condition and clean. Housekeeping did a wonderful job for the week that we were there. The price is also decent for the location. The neighbourhood is quiet and is close to major bus stops offering transfers to the sky train, restaurants and English Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nebula456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    171
    38
    15
    16
See reviews for
244
165
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a wonderful suite at the Rosellen Suite. There were three adults and three children. There were 2 baths and two large bedrooms,
plus a fully equiped kitchen and a large dining room. The decor was
very well decorated, much more then we have ever seen before.
The staff was unbelieveable, what ever you asked for, they had it
there for you right away, no waiting for anything. There were three
flat TV and a sofa that made into a large bed. Their grounds are
beautiful. Just a block away from the entrance to Stanley Park.
I would recommend this place to anyone or families, they do have
weekly rates if you are planning on a long stay. You won't be disappointed!!!
http://www.rosellensuites.com/

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Sharron50 -

So glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park and Vancouver. Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing the web address. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

If Stanley Park is your thing, the Rosellen Suites is perfectly located. It's an old apartment building converted to a hotel in 1989. Unfortunately, many of the furnishings (sofa, drapes, kitchen) in our two-bedroom suite looked like they were from 1989. The hotel is just two blocks from Dehham Street where there are myriad restaurants and a short distance from the beach on English Bay. Members of the staff were very nice and welcoming. It's quite a walk to Canada Place, Gastown, and Granville Island, but doable. For my first trip to Vancouver, I wish it had been a different hotel. It I went frequently, I might consider the Rosellen Suites again, but for a "one and only" trip, I'd do some more research on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillnDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear BillNdc -

Thank you for staying with Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park and for sharing your perspective on your visit. Though we can absolutely appreciate that everyone has personal preferences when they travel, it is regretful that Rosellen Suites was not specifically what you were looking for. Your advice for guests to do additional research is great advice and some additional tips particularly on what to expect from Rosellen and the area also follow:

In regards to the suites, the first thing to keep in mind is that each and every suite is unique. To help address the individual preferences of the many different guests that may consider making Rosellen their home, two very distinct types of suites are offered. It sounds like you were in one of the "Classic" Suites. These are of the original style and design and they have purposefully been kept in this style as 100's of guests that make Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park their home year after year have requested that we do so.

The "Classic" Suites are ideal for those guests that prefer a very casual homey type atmosphere where they can feel comfortable resting their feet on the coffee table. These are very family friendly suites, many are pet friendly, and a few are smoking friendly (though most are non-smoking). These suites are among the very best value in Vancouver.

For guests that prefer accommodations with a little more character, typically more contemporary in design, that feature more of the modern technologies that many can’t live without today, the “Personal-ity” Suites are available. Each of these suites has been recently re-designed with individual themes, all the amenities of the “Classic” Suites plus the added benefits of flat screen TV(s), DVD/CD player, iPod docking station and luxury bedding. For a slight additional charge, some guests find the Personal-ity Suites their perfect match. This may have been a better match for the personal preferences of this reviewer.

Regarding location, again, it is very much a personal preference. Guests specifically choose Rosellen Suites so that they can be close to Stanley Park. Many spend days exploring nothing but the park. However, for those first time guests, to walk from one end of Vancouver (West End and Stanley Park) to the other end of Vancouver (False Creek and the BC Stadium) is a 40 minute walk for the average walker. The ferry to Granville Island is a beautiful 15 minute walk along the sea wall on English Bay. Canada Place is a 15 minute walk along the waterfront of Coal Harbour. Gastown is a 25 minute walk. The main shopping area on Robson is a 15 minute walk.

The nearest bus top is 2 blocks from the hotel and a taxi to and from anywhere in the downtown area is $8-10. Many people enjoy walking to their destination in one direction and then take a taxi back to the hotel.

Besides being next to the park, one of the advantages for many guests is that the hotel is a short distance from all the best Vancouver has to offer but is nestled in a very quiet residential neighbourhood close enough to easily enjoy it all but far enough away not to be disturbed by the high traffic and noise typically found in a city center hotel.

We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again and highly recommend trying a Personal-ity Suite. Call us directly for a special upgrade rate on your next visit to Vancouver. Thanks, again, for taking time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Rosellen Suites is a really good hotel located in the West End of Vancouver.
At first, we arrived in the hotel that is in an old building and was kinda surprised, but the hotel from the inside was really clean, comfortable and had large rooms.
The staff at the hotel is very friendly and accommodating, gave us ton of info about the city.
The hotel is located on Stanley park, a really big park in the city, the Vancouver aquarium is there and its really nice to take a walk or cycle on the sea wall, surrounding the park.
The only "bad" thing I have to say about this hotel is that it's a bit far from downtown Vancouver, but is located on a main street with access to bus lines that take you straight downtown in 15 min. We'll be back at this hotel on our next vaca in Vancouver!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Elad Toronto -

Thanks very much for taking time to share your experience! Glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Review for Trip Advisor of Rosellen Suites

My husband and I stayed at Rosellen Suites from 16th – 22nd July 2011. We already knew that it was an older apartment block, so that did not come as a surprise. Any negatives due to this were definitely outweighed by the plusses – namely friendliness of the staff, its location, and size of apartment. I would say though that the windows really do need replacing – in our suite we were unable to close them fully. The kitchen had everything one needed to cook a meal – the full oven was very useful and the dishwasher much appreciated. The housekeeping staff kept the apartment clean, and they too were very friendly. As our stay at Rosellen was at the start of a 3 week holiday we really appreciated being able to use the laundry at the end of the week. Washing powder is available from reception in reasonable size packets so you don’t have to buy the huge boxes on sale in the supermarket!

Located only a few minutes walk from Stanley Park, in a quiet leafy street, restaurants, banks and supermarkets are close by (about a 7 minute walk), on Denman Street. You can also catch buses to Downtown from there, and they are pretty frequent. If you prefer to use foot power then Canada Place is a 25-30 minute walk away. English Bay beach is a 10 -15 minute walk from the hotel.

We ate in most of the time in the evenings, but we did splash out on a visit to the Fish House in Stanley Park – expensive but well worth it, and the service was excellent.

Reception staff were extremely helpful, and when we had a problem with the bathroom washbasin it was fixed the same day. We had more or less given up on being able to visit Victoria and the Buchardt Gardens on a day trip without spending a fortune or getting up incredibly early, but the staff researched our options, discussed them with us and booked our preferred option for us. Taking a sea-plane for the outward journey, and returning by ferry worked well for us (sea-planes leave every 15 minutes from the dock which is within walking distance, so there is a good choice of flight times), giving us plenty of time to explore Victoria before catching the coach (already booked) to the Buchardt Gardens, where we had 2½ hours to look around before picking up the coach again for the onward trip to the ferry terminal.

Being from the UK we Brits do love our cup of tea in bed in the mornings, so an apartment such as that at Rosellen Suites suited us very nicely. Our next two weeks were spent on a Cruise and Land Tour to and in Alaska, but boy did we miss our little kitchen at Rosellen and our morning cup of tea in bed, not to mention in the 4* pre-cruise hotel, where there was only a $30 breakfast on offer!

We would certainly recommend Rosellen to other travellers – don’t go there expecting a modern glamorous hotel and you won’t be disappointed. Instead enjoy the friendly helpfulness of the staff and the large, comfortable suites in a lovely area of Vancouver.

Room Tip: Room tip:- Try and get an apartment at the front of the building. The street is quiet and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Victoria3 -

Thanks very much for taking time to share your thoughts on Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park and the great synopsis on the area and Vancouver in general. You captured the essence perfectly.

As a tea enthusiast, please let us know your favorite tea and we promise to have it waiting for you when you return to your Vancouver home on your next visit. Until then, best wishes to you and your family from everyone at Rosellen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My wife, son and I just returned from spending a week at the Rosellen Suites and found nothing to complain about and everything to praise. The location of the hotel in Vancouver's West End less than a block from Stanley Park was ideal. We had never visited the city and heard positive things about it so decided to give it a try. The hotel's location was perfect. Every day we were out walking in Stanley Park and throughout the downtown. Our suite had no problems and was quite comfortable and clean, with a nice view of the mountains as well. The staff was so helpful and friendly, we could not believe it, had never experienced anywhere such courtesy and willingness to provide us with tips about places to see, restaurants to choose from, nearby places to rent bicycles, best ways to get where we wanted to go, a useful way to see Victoria that saved us plenty of time and enabled us to see more while there on a day trip. Tag, Kent and Ken at the front desk always made time for us and provided us with sightseeing options that we had not been aware of. If there was an award for best Vancouver hotel staff, their friendliness, practical suggestions, and helpful overall approach would make them the unquestionable winners. They also communicated with us before arrival to see if we needed any additional sightseeing details. The housekeeping staff kept our room clean. In significant degree due to the friendliness of the staff and location of the hotel, we came away with a very positive experience in Vancouver and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a fourth-floor suite with two bedrooms and reserved it more than a month in advance, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Jim H. -

So very glad that you and your family had a great time in Vancouver and thank you for the staff accolades. You certainly brightened everyone's day! We very much appreciate that you made Rosellen Suites at Stanly Park your Vancouver home and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel is a nice boutique hotel in a great location, but didn't realize there was no air-con in the hotel. Weather wise in the evening is ok without the air-con, don't feel hot, but as we need to leave our windows open, can get noisy. Staff are generally helpful and friendly. Daily housekeeping will only include changing of towels, no refills of coffee, so be prepared.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLT_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear GLT_HK -

Thanks very much for taking time to share your thoughts. We are happy that you enjoyed your suite, the location and the friendly staff and very apologetic that the AC, amenities, and housekeeping service did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that if we would have been aware of any of your preferences in regards to each of these issues, we would have very happily rectified them, hopefully to your satisfaction, while you were staying with us.

It is true that the hotel does not have centralized air. Most properties in the city including newly developed condo buildings do not provide AC for the individual units. With Vancouver's relatively mild climate, an open window and cross breeze typically suffice. For in house guests that prefer, there are a number of portable AC units available and with a quick call to Guest Services one can easily be delivered. In addition, each suite does come with 1-2 portable fans that are kept in each suite closet for guest use as they prefer.

One of the amenities provided to all guests is a complimentary starter kit of essential goodies like coffee, tea, water, etc. The Personal-ity Suites feature an upgraded version of the starter kit with the addition of comfort snacks. Though these items are provided complimentary on arrival, if any guest requests additional items the hotel is very happy to provide them. Depending on the item this may be complimentary or at a small additional cost. Again, a simple inquiry and these items are happily delivered to your suite.

Full housekeeping service is provided twice per week for both short and long term guests. For guests staying less than 7 days light service is provided daily and full housekeeping service is provided as is requested and arranged with the Housekeeping Manager, typically on the first morning of a guests' stay. Many guests prefer not to be disturbed each day and some guests, such as yourself, prefer full service daily. The housekeeping team try's to meet the preferences of each guest. Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this issue.

Please let us know when you are next coming to Vancouver and we will work very hard at making sure that each of your personal preferences are met and/or hopefully exceeded.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to the possible opportunity of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Property: Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Address: 2030 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood just steps from Stanley Park, Rosellen offers that largest suites in Vancouver that can accommodate from 1 - 8 guests. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms and bathrooms, dining area and living room providing plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The staff provides personal friendly service. The hotel is in walking distance to many different types of restaurants, shops, and major Vancouver attractions including English Bay and Vancouver Aquarium. The hotel provides complimentary high speed wireless internet access, local and toll-free calls, passes to the local fitness center and pool, coffee, tea, and popcorn with two premium high definition movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel At Stanley Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing