We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“The perfect family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife, my mother-in-law, and our two children (ages 3 and 15 months) stayed here for three days in August 2012. For comparison purposes, when we travel as a family, we usually stay at the Embassy Suites and have been very happy there. Rosellen blows that away. The outside of the building was fairly unassuming; we later realized that the hotel almost certainly used to be a condo building that was later converted. It's the inside that truly dazzles. The incredibly nice manager, Kent Chan, upgraded us for free from a 2BR/1BA suite to a 2BR/2BA suite. When we walked inside, we could not believe our eyes. The place was immaculate, and it was perfectly decorated with an Asian-style decor. It was also ENORMOUS. A huge living room, two nice-sized bedrooms, and great bathrooms. It also had a sizable kitchen that came with all of the appliances you would need to cook a great dinner--which we did one night, after buying food at Granville Island (a must-see for foodies). Wine glasses, too. Staying there was not at all like staying in a hotel. Rather, it was like renting someone's luxury apartment for a few days, with all the wonderful comforts of home but conveniences of a hotel. After we put the kids to bed, we could (and did) stay up reading and drinking wine in the living room for a few hours without worrying that we'd wake them up. The location is also unbeatable, as it literally borders Stanley Park, and it's also just three blocks from a strip of great coffee shops, pubs, and restaurants. We plan to return to Vancouver every two years to see family, and there is simply no question that we will stay here. It is among the best hotel experiences I or my family have ever had, and I cannot say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfalstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
The entire staff sends their greetings and appreciation for your very kind words and all are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The spacious suites, ideal location and helpful staff are all reasons guests such as yourself come back year after year. it sounds like you were in one of the newly designed Personal-ity Suites, the largest of which are perfect for a family for all the reasons you mentioned. In the winter, it is even better as you can sit by the fire while sipping your wine and reading your book with the kids comfortably tucked away in their own private bedroom. Thanks very much for sharing your comments. We look forward to serving you, again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    171
    38
    15
    16
See reviews for
244
165
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our family of five (two adults, three teenagers) stayed at the Rosellen Suites for five nights. The location is great - within a few minutes walk of Stanley Park, and about 20 minutes from downtown. It was quite roomy, and worked out quite well for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the suites, while clean, do need some serious updating (eg. old stained carpet and upholstery) and maintenance (eg. the sink plug didnt work properly). With this proviso, we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlovanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
The location is probably one of the greatest benefits for making Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park your Vancouver choice for accommodations. So very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our apologies that you found some of the items old in your suite. For your next stay we do recommend upgrading to one of the newly designed Personal-ity Suites that features individual themes, more modern amenities many guests today prefer such as flat screen TV's, DVD/CD player, iPod docking station and luxury bedding. The Classic Suites are great for those guests that prefer the more traditional style decor at a great price and the Personal-ity Suites are for those that want a bit more contemporary feel for a very modest additional fee. Our apologies also in regards to the issue with the sink. We are happy that it was fixed quickly for you. For your next visit, we will work extra hard to help ensure you have a flawless experience. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our family of 4, with two boys ages 11 and 13, stayed here for 4 nights. It's quite obviously a converted walk-up apartment building, so it's a little dated and, to be honest, tired looking, but we were comfortable and had no complaints. The staff were friendly and very helpful and accommodated us when we asked to have a late check out time. The suite was spacious, with a small but well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were a little warm at night, due to a number of gorgeous days in Vancouver (so I'm not complaining!) and although there is no a/c, portable fans were sufficient to keep us cool. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapabilityBrownTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Nice to hear that you enjoyed some great Vancouver weather while you were here and thank you for your accolades of the staff. We are happy to have been able to extend your check out time and hope you were able to get a last hike in around Stanley Park before your departure. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 months. My apartment was kind of a flat. It used to be clean and the internet worked well. The staff are really NICE as well! I really can't complain about them. Although the building is really old, the location is perfect. Close to the best places in downtown Vancouver for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Glad that you enjoyed the extended stay in your temporary Vancouver home. Thanks for your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had been travelling around a lot and these were large, clean flats in a great location next to Stanley Park and in Downtown and 5 minutes from the sea in each direction. Very helpful owners, but if you are arriving after office hours make access arrangement . We were lucky as he was there as not sure how we would have got in! Sadly someone decided to cut the stri of grass outside our ground floor window at 8am. We're able to leave luggage before taxi to airport and easy to use laundry facilities. I have one more night in Vancouver and I am going to go back rather than to a Hotel.

Room Tip: First floor upwards as slightly dark on ground floor and will get a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trout21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenSuites, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your comments. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Please accept our apologies that you found the late arrival check in confusing. Happy to hear that the Duty Manager was there to assist you. For guests arriving after hours, late arrival instructions can be found on the bottom of the confirmation notice and instructions are also provided on the front door. Should guests need assistance outside of the official office hours a Duty Manager is available 24 hours per day. Thanks, again, for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to your Vancouver home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Beware of the nice photos and their ranking as the "#2 family hotel in Canada". This hotel is nothing like they advertise. The rooms are dirty, the is no a/c (it was 90+ degrees) in the middle of summer, the chair in the room had gum on it, carpet was ripped and there are holes on the exterior walls - it's awful. I was so shocked by the difference in it's conditions when I arrived versus what is says online that I cancelled immediately. For a mere $50 more, I was able to stay at a name brand hotel in downtown that was clean, had a/c and other amenities with wonderful staff. Beware when booking here. It's nothing like they advertise it to be - it's awful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenSuites, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
A wise women once shared “if that is how you are perceived, then, that is how you are.” In most cases, this may be true as an individual’s perception is indeed “real” to that individual. In response to this particular review, after discussing with the Guest Services team, this is one of those rare cases where the hotel can merely apologize that the product was not what was expected but also share that there are three very clear misconceptions.

First, the ranking from TripAdvisor is a direct response from guests who have stayed at the property. In this case, the vast majority found their experience “excellent”. We do regret that this particular reviewer did not. Second, the hotel has worked very hard to portray realistic photos and clear descriptions of what a guest might expect. There is no marketing fluff. If there is something specific in the advertising that does not correctly convey what the experience truly is, it would be most appreciated to learn what those specifics are so that it may be corrected. The objective is to have guests arrive and receive the experience that they expect. Third, the hotel Guest Services Manager was spellbound at reading this review as he had personally spoken with this guest and shared that the guest indeed preferred to check out but was very positive in moving hotels stating that they “expected a full service modern hotel.” That is not what the hotel is nor what the hotel portrays itself to be.

Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park offers a hotel alternative experience with fully equipped apartment style accommodations. There are no food and beverage facilities on site. However, there are countless restaurants featuring any type of cuisine a person might desire within 2 blocks of the hotel. There are no fitness or pool facilities on site. However, complimentary access to the local fitness centre and pool are available to all guests. There are limited office hours. However, there is a duty manager available 24 hours per day to assist guests with anything that they may need. In short, it is not full service but offers all the services you would find in a large hotel within minutes of the hotel.

In response to the specific comments, the hotel does not have air conditioning with the exception of a few first floor suites. Many Vancouver hotels and even newly built condos do not offer air conditioning as the need for this is very minimal. On the few days where the heat is above comfort levels, guests have access to fans that are in each suite, portable air conditioners are available on request, or guests can follow what the locals do and merely open the windows which typically provides a good enough cross breeze to keep things cool enough for comfort.

Housekeeping has reviewed the suite for gum on the furniture and holes in the walls and was unable to locate either. A small tear in the carpet was discovered and as soon as occupancy allows the hotel will replace this.

Every member of the Rosellen team works hard to ensure guest satisfaction and 99% of the time this is accomplished with ease. On those rare occasions when a guest is not satisfied, everyone works to resolve whatever issue may arise before the guest leaves the hotel even if that means helping them find an alternative property that better suits their personal preferences. What the hotel cannot do is provide accommodations or experiences that are based on misconceptions of what the property is...spacious suites, in the best location in Vancouver, with a caring and friendly staff where guests can experience Vancouver like a local vs. a visiting guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My partner and brother and I stayed at a spacious 1 Bedroom Suite here in late JUly. We were very well taken care of by Kent and Tag, the friendly and well informed Concierge team.They suggested restaurants and points of interest that def. appealed to our sensibilites and budget. The suite was totally equipped and newly renovated so all our needs were attended to. And after arriving home and realizing that I left something behind, they promptly posted it to us. One last thought; the location could not have been better, 1 minute walk away from Stanley Park and 5 min. stroll to the charm and excitement of English Bay.

Room Tip: The location is very quiet so all units seem equally desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosellenSuites, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
One of the three greatest features of the hotel is the location, steps to Stanley Park, English Bay and the diverse restaurants of Denman. Thanks very much for sharing your comments and very glad to hear that you enjoyed the surrounding area. Thanks also for mentioning the great staff. Again, glad that you were well cared for. We look forward to return and truly appreciate the time you took to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Property: Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Address: 2030 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood just steps from Stanley Park, Rosellen offers that largest suites in Vancouver that can accommodate from 1 - 8 guests. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms and bathrooms, dining area and living room providing plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The staff provides personal friendly service. The hotel is in walking distance to many different types of restaurants, shops, and major Vancouver attractions including English Bay and Vancouver Aquarium. The hotel provides complimentary high speed wireless internet access, local and toll-free calls, passes to the local fitness center and pool, coffee, tea, and popcorn with two premium high definition movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel At Stanley Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing