We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gage Residence at UBC
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
California Desert, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We went to visit the university when our son was looking for colleges and unexpectantly found we could stay on dorms. Our original room choice ended up being booked by a group but we stayed in one of the multi-room dorm suites and loved it. All of the rooms were clean and well maintained, the staff was very helpful and polite, all students of the university.

The rates were well within reason for what we received. For us the location could not have been better, including the easy access to downtown.

All in all I would recommend this, especially for parents doing the college visit trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paininthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
8
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I should start by saying my three nights in Gage Tower apartments in August were not the warmest I've ever experienced. Camping in the desert near Moab Utah in July was hotter. However, these are the warmest nights I've ever experienced in a $100+ hotel. Sleeping under the stars in the Utah desert was cheapet (ie free) and more pleasant because the night breezes blew. Sadly the two small windows in my apartment appear to have a combined opening of about 1 sq meter and don't seem to catch the sea breeze very well. Might be ok in the spring, fall or winter. And might be ok in the summer for < $20 Canadian. Oh, there's no microwave in the kitchenette.

Room Tip: West side, top floor in the summer didn't work out. But it seems miserable all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Those who are coming to the Gage Towers should know there are some areas where you will need to bring your own cooking supplies (pots, pans, dish soap, utensils etc). However the bed is made up for you daily, the residence is largely clean and it is an excellent price for what you receive. An added bonus is you can meet new people who are also staying at the residence with you. I came here to attend school and loved it. I will most certainly be back again.

I should also note the front desk staff are amazing, they don't grumble but smile when they greet you. I loved their hospitality - thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyndiGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed in Vancouver for three nights, originally going to spend a night at the Pacific Spirit Hostel (also on campus). Ended up upgrading to Gage Apartments for a studio suite as the walls for the dorms at Pacific Spirit were paper thin and the mens bathroom was on a floor above or below me. if I had to do it again, would have just stayed at my downtown hotel for a third night and taken a bus to visit the campus and parks

Pros for Gage Towers:
- Right on campus
- Kitchenette (fully stocked with plates/utensils/cooking equipment)
- Towels and soap provided in rooms
- Free breakfast at the Student Union across the street

Cons:
- No air conditioning
- Can easily find comparable or lower rates at other places around town and easily drive or bus to campus.
- Nothing going on around the entire area. Campus is dead during the summer as to be expected but the surrounding area is also COMPLETELY DEAD. From my experience on other large campuses there is usually a little neighborhood with restaurants and bars that is active year round. There is an off campus area called University Place but literally the only place that was open at 8pm on a Saturday was McDonald's. Sad.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank cjlov22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed in the Gage apartments for a few days to attend a meeting at UBC. The room got very warm at times because the ceiling fan was ineffective and I didn't want to leave the window open in a ground floor apartment. The shower was a plastic all-in-one insert but was powerful enough. Housekeeping came daily but didn't seem to do much more than make the bed. Given that it is campus accommodation I was surprised there is only cable internet access in the rooms when there's easily accessible, free visitor wifi across most of UBC. The location is convenient - near various reasonable places to eat on campus, handy for public transport to downtown Vancouver and within walking distance of both the anthropology museum and the UBC botanical gardens. I have stayed at the UBC West Coast Suites before and they are considerably nicer - worth the price differential. Having said all this, I knew the Gage apartments were cheap before I arrived: my expectations weren't high so I wasn't disappointed.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EJF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at the Gage Tower for two nights in mid-December, 2010. They turned the heat to around 35 degrees but there was no air conditioning at all! You could literally suffocate if you don't open your window at night (which turned out it was also raining outside, the room became damp and hot). Ever since it's not even a hotel, you can't expect they have great facilities like you name them. Everything from bed to desks are pretty much like they have been using them since the 1970s. I am 6'1 and I had a bit problem with fitting the bed. Maybe because I stayed during the school period, the hallway got pretty noisy at night when some students came back from pubs (I couldn't fall in sleep during the second night). Overall it's just like staying in a low end hotel in third world countries like Vietnam, China, or India. However the only good thing is in Vancouver you can't find bugs in winter. Other than that please stay away from this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunganski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Director of Sales at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Our summer visitor accommodations at the Walter Gage Residence is only available from May through August. As your stay at the residence occurred during the academic year, we have forwarded your comments to our colleague who is responsible for Student Housing Winter Session. If you would like to provide them with additional details regarding your stay, please contact them directly at information@housing.ubc.ca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights during the Anime Evolution 2010. First night we were on a ground level 2 bedroom suite...a stones throw from all the action but didn't hear peep all night. Rooms were clean, nice, comfortable. Housekeeping knocked around 10 am but we weren't ready to leave yet. Being ground level during summer it was nice to find the room refreshingly COOL. Nicely decorated, comfortable beds, bedding etc.
The next morning we decided to stay another night and were lucky enough to get a suite in the Gage apartments (across from the main building). Got a one bedroom. Big comfy bed/bedding, a pull out in the livingroom. Ceiling fan in the bedroom, large flatscreen tv in livingroom, great view. Clean, tidy, nicely furnished. Quite a deal, both rooms! (same price). Staff were great. Starbucks coffee in both rooms. Kitchen was spotless, bathroom same. A REALLY good deal considering all other hotels are soooo far away! Am DEFINITELY staying there again. Would highly recommend. THE ONLY thing is that the 1 Bd. in Gage Apartments had windows that opened wide which was awesome for breeze but not good for YOUNG kids. Generally I'd recommend for both short AND long visits...lots of storage space, complete kitchens (with cutlery) in both, just very nice in general and nicer than some more expensive hotels i've stayed in. You get a whole APARTMENT, basically, for the price of a regular tiny hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteheart11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
West Coast Suites at UBC
West Coast Suites at UBC
#64 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#16 of 54 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
West Point Grey
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gage Residence at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Residence at UBC

Property: Gage Residence at UBC
Address: 5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > University Land Endowments
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gage Residence at UBC 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From mid-May through August, studios and 1-bedroom suites are available on the beautiful UBC Vancouver campus. Only 20 minutes by car to downtown or the airport. The Gage Residence is within walking distance to UBC bus loop, restaurants, shops, recreational facilities and attractions. Our newly renovated, fully equipped private suites provide the best value in Vancouver starting at $129. Everyone can stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gage Residence at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Towers At Ubc Hotel Vancouver
Gage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing