We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice campus accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gage Residence at UBC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gage Residence at UBC
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice campus accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

During summer, the university rents out these student accommodations. I stayed in a studio apartment with kitchenette while attending a conference. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Very good breakfast is included. It is close to the bus terminus and well connected to downtown. A very nice food court, restaurants and convenient stores are closeby. The campus is beautiful to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Espi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
8
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here as a family, in a unit which slept five. This is a low quality residence with ambivalent employees. Maintenance matters were ignored and the cleaning staff enter the unit and do their work while we you are there. they even entered the bathroom while one of us was showering! yes the shower is in cubicle, but still, that is rude.....the breakfast is disgusting, so much so that we made our own after the first day. the kitchen was welcome, but read the fine print...no microwave. likewise there is no airconditioning and we overlooked the UBC bus terminal, which was very noisy from 6am to midnight. in our building of 17 stories, there was only one elevator operating for part of our stay, which meant long waits. For the price we could have stayed in two airport hotel rooms, with breakfast...next time that is what we will do.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ALBERTATRAVELLOVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

hexham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Noticed some negative comments out there, mainly based around standard of accom and cost. This isn't a hotel - it's student rooms in summer so don't expect top quality features. But if you want a room to yourself, a pleasant kitchenette and sitting area shared between a few rooms and a great breakfast included at the university cafe then this hits the mark.

It takes about 20 minutes (several bus services) into Vancouver downtown. Buses stop close to the Gage residences and run fairly regularly so no probs. The UBC campus is modern and pleasant - a cool, leafy place with beaches and forest walks close by and stores and cafes a short walk away from Gage. As a resident you get access to the gym (ca$7 for a drop in session but if you stay longer can get weekly rate) and library computer terminals (free).

I chose Gage as I wanted a room to myself with self-cater facilities on hand. By booking ahead I got a $45ca per night rate which wasn't too much more than a hostel rate for shared accom. I found the staff at the front desk (mainly students on summer work) universally friendly and efficient, the room was functional and other guests in my apartment were respectful of privacy and noise. Shared facilities had 2 showers and one WC - never had to wait for either.

About 10 minutes on the bus gets you to Broadway West which has a wide selection of cafes / restaurants and independent stores with a relaxed vibe. If you're looking for food, I tried out the Dharma Kitchen run by a Burmese guy who did a mean tofu green chili curry.

For the money and facilities, Gage is a good place to base yourself if the bus journey into Vancouver doesn't bother you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litandphilrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Make no mistake this is University student dormitory housing. The rooms in the Gage towers are the rooms the university students living during the year. So there is a bare hostel like feeling in the rooms. The rooms do not have air conditioning and our suite did not even have a telephone. The carpeted areas were dirty.
Pros:
- Good location on campus in that we were there for primary a UBC activity
- Our suite faced west so we had a nice view of the ocean
- Given that you are out of the downtown core it does feel like a little oasis away from the bustle of the city

Cons
- Seemed a bit expensive roughly $200 per night
-This included a trip to the cafeteria for breakfast in the morning. The breakfast is traditional cafeteria styled food. fortunately the coffee was good
- No air-conditioning
-no telephone (good thing we had our cell phones)
-Wireless Internet did not reach our room at all and was only available in the lobby areas on the main floor
- Finding parking was a bit tight as only the outside parking areas are available

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jengweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the views. We are sorry that the carpeted area was not as clean as it should be. We have advised our housekeeping team to look into it. Unfortunately, we only have wired Internet available in the rooms. We hope you had a chance to enjoy our free WiFi in the lobby and throughout campus. Thanks again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a suite on the second floor for two nights. Initial impressions upon walking in was that the suite was quite nice until it was time to actually sleep in there. The beds are quite hard, the sheets made me itch all throughout the nights, and the bugs... the complex has quite a few bugs living in it's walls. One night we arrived back to our suite late, turned on the lights and found bugs crawling on the floor all along the walls. We spent a few minutes walking around the apartment squashing them all. Then in the middle of the night, when we flipped the lights on again, we found MORE bugs coming out from the walls. I noticed we even brought a few of the bugs home with us in our luggage. Bleh!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QianCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We are sorry to hear about your recent stay. As a world class university, clean – pest free rooms are critical to our reputation and we have a professional pest management program in place. We take your claim seriously. Please let us know which room you were in so we can follow up. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is very good value for Vancouver. I was at UBC for an appt. at the hospital on campus. Gage Towers are very convenient for that purpose. The included breakfast was okay I was a bit surprized by the $11 charge for parking but there was less expensive parking very nearby in a parkade. I did have a car so I was able to drive to Kits with in minutes for a bit of shopping and a few meals. I felt very safe and the room was secure. My room had a fantastic view of the Inlet, North Shore Mountain and green spaces! I check the hockey scores on the tv so I know the tv was great. The lack of wifi in the rooms was a bit inconvenient but the foyer is huge with pkenty of seating and the wifi is available throughout campus so that wasn't an issue for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valliepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you found our accommodation is of good value and convenient for your visit. We apologize for the lack of WiFi in the guest rooms but I understand that the free Campus WiFi in the lobby served your needs. Our parking fee is probably one of the cheapest in the city and we are glad that you found more affordable options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great place, very clean, modern furniture (except maybe for the kitchen's furniture), plenty of space, large shower, good price for the location (on UBC campus), beaches nearby, 10-15 minutes from downtown, los of buses nearby, calm place (never heard any neighbour).
Bed is a little hard, but still comfortable (pillows are very comfy though!). Absolutely nothing wrong with this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our campus' proximity to downtown to be convenient. We trust you had a chance to visit some of the beautiful beaches nearby and attractions on campus. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
West Coast Suites at UBC
West Coast Suites at UBC
#66 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#18 of 50 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#16 of 50 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gage Residence at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Residence at UBC

Property: Gage Residence at UBC
Address: 5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > University Land Endowments
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gage Residence at UBC 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From mid-May through August, studios and 1-bedroom suites are available on the beautiful UBC Vancouver campus. Only 20 minutes by car to downtown or the airport. The Gage Residence is within walking distance to UBC bus loop, restaurants, shops, recreational facilities and attractions. Our newly renovated, fully equipped private suites provide the best value in Vancouver starting at $129. Everyone can stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gage Residence at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Towers At Ubc Hotel Vancouver
Gage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing