We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Very nice B & B. You won't find a more helpful staff. Always interested in talking about what you are doing and where you are going. They live in the area and love to give advice. Plus... You won't find a better location.
We stayed in the Haidaway Suite. It was great, very quiet. You are given the manager's cell phone # and can call him anytime you need help. Highly recommend this B & B. Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Unbelievably helpful staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank revkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
94
405
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Beatiful place with an excelent location and VERY friendly staff.
It's placed at the heart of the west end, very close to shops, restaurants, Stanley park and beaches...Plus it only took us 15-20 mins. from the airport.
We stood at the Peak room for 4 nights and it met all our best expectations. The room was beatiful, clean, very confortable and quiet, and had everythihg we needed (see attached photos).
Homemade breakfast was very good and we had fresh cookies every day in our room.
I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MiguelMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed for three wonderful nights at Barclay House. Its location in the heart of charming downtown Vancouver is excellent. The house is a short walk away from many shops and restaurants. Public transportation for the farther destinations are also walking distance away.

The house itself is beautifully renovated, with invitingly comfortable common areas. We stayed in the "Forest" room, which was very well decorated and furnished. If there weren't so much to do in Vancouver already, we can easily imagine spending more time in the house and garden themselves.

Unfortunately some of the windows in our room are just meters away from the windows of a nearby apartment complex. Even though the window levels of the two buildings are offset, we felt the need to keep the curtains of those windows closed most of the time. One of the evenings we were there, our neighbors in the apartment complex had a noisy, late party. Luckily closing our windows, which were well-insulated, allowed us to continue sleeping soundly.

But it is the service level at Barclay House that made our stay particularly special. We enjoyed the half-bottle welcoming champagne, the convenient bottles of water we can take for our walks, the nightly cookies, the ever-changing breakfast menu. (And had we been back early enough, I'm sure we would have also enjoyed the evening sherry as well.)

The staff was friendly and helpful, notably Dennis, who offered us advice on where to buy shoes, where to find a good Thai restaurant late in the evening, where to get good oysters, etc.. Even though we arrived so late at night, he cheerfully checked us in and made us feel immediately welcome. He was very good to us, and if you ever meet Dennis, ask him to sing you a song!

P.S. To the management: Perhaps moving the computer out of the dining area would improve both the computer usage and dining experience. And Dennis deserves a raise!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Heldigmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

My son, Alex, and I just spent a wonderful 3 days at Barclay House in Vancouver. The hospitality and accommodations were outstanding -- and the very central, but lovely and safe location on Barclay Street, cannot be beat. Most everything is just a walk away. The house itself is a mesmerizing blend of old and new. This 3-story Victorian has been beautifully restored and carefully appointed to enhance its historical charm. However, beyond being very comfortable, the furnishings reflect discriminating taste and refreshing modernity within the historical surrounds. The result is bright and bold rooms filled with light and appeal. The full breakfasts were scrumptious, with great service from the staff (so much more enjoyable than the "breakfast bar" B&B's we sometimes find). What most impressed us about Barclay House was the gracious hospitality from our host, John-Jay, and his staff. John-Jay gave us a personal orientation to this wonderful city and was most generous with his time in helping us plan our days to get the most out of our visit. His cheer and hospitality were an unexpected and wonderful addition to our stay. As a frequent B&B traveler, I can assure that guests will enjoy a great BC getaway by making Barclay House their home-away-from-home in Vancouver.

PS - If you can, try to stay in "The Peak" room....very spacious and just wonderful !

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank cyber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We have just returned from a five day stay in Barclay House and cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality we received from Mette (on behalf of JJ) and the rest of the staff. From the initial welcome to the final farewell the team did everyting they could to make our stay as pleaseant as possible. The public rooms were comfortable and very well decorated. We stayed in the Beach Room which was large, bright and extremely comfortable. I have already recommended BH to my brother who is travelling to Vancouver in November, hopefully his itinerary will allow him to experience the BH hospitality.

Our first five days in Vancouver were spent in the Sutton Place Hotel - luxurious, comfortable but big and soulless. Small privately run B&B's like Barclay house leave the big boys standing in terms of delivering the personal touch. We called up to leave a bag in Barclay House whilst we flew to Vancouver Island, not a problem - like everything else with the BH Team.

It was a pleasure to have experienced the Barclay House hospitality.

Val & Dave Kidd
Aberdeen

  • Liked — The friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing really, no AC but fans were provided.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoBlackDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

My husband and I recently traveled to Vancouver along with another couple, and stayed at Barclay House in the West End. The hotel boasts a terrific location (just steps away from shopping, restaurants, etc) and is close to Vancouver's "hustle bustle" yet is still on a quiet tree-lined street. The decor is hip yet classic - those looking for either a cozy B&B experience or a hip experience will find something to like here. We stayed in the Mountain Room, which was tastefully furnished, although a bit small for two people to maneuver about with luggage. The breakfasts were excellent, and served by our charming hosts Mette and Dennis - both of whom were very friendly and eager to assist. They provided nice recommendations for things to see and do, and went out of their way to ensure our needs were met. Each evening a basket of warm cookies awaited us, and the inviting front porch served as a great gathering place to sit for a few minutes before heading out to explore the city. We did not have a rental car (we spent most of our time walking about the city) and so parking on this residential street was not a concern for us.

If you are looking for a hip hotel within walking distance to many Vancouver sites, and like the personalized attention of a small Inn, I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

The Barclay House is fantastic. The room we stayed in was gorgeous and the others appeared the same way. We were given lots of personal attention but never bothered. There are lots of little, nice touches like cookies every afternoon in your room, champagne the first night, biscotti, coffee, and tea in the room, thoughtful breakfasts (the chef made vegetarian options every morning b/c we had reported we didn't eat meat), pretty decor, a beautiful front porch, and a relaxing and well-landscaped garden out back. You really feel like you're living in Vancouver--it's in a very residential area--but you're just a few minutes' walk from downtown, Stanley Park, the water, etc.

The staff was wonderful. They were very friendly and available. By the end of the stay we felt like they were our friends.

  • Liked — Feeling like we were living in Vancouver. It felt like home.
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,718 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,577 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing