We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at the Barclay House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at the Barclay House”
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We spent the first portion of our honeymoon at the Barclay House in the Haidiway Suite. We loved it! The room was great, the location is close to everything in Vancouver. Our host Dennis directed us to great sightseeing locations and tours and we had a fabulous time. We were able to walk to a lot of great places and the breakfasts were great. Thanks Art! We can't wait to return for an anniversary. This was our first trip to Canada and it was fabulous! This place is warm and modern! We highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Location, room seclusion, staff, food
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DRD-JAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
94
407
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

Five of us (2 couples + one) stayed at Barclay House in the inhospitable Canadian winter and were kept warm, wonderfully fed and delighted with many thoughtful extras. The B & B is well-located for walking downtown and to Stanley Park. Best of all, the owners stock each room with every possible comfort: champagne, very good cookies, a refrigerator full of Toblerone, biscotti and other calorific treats; they provide internet access, large-screen tv's, and wonderful, copious breakfasts. The management is available to give advice and directions and -- a lovely surprise -- when we ate our final meal (at the very recommendable Sequoia Grill in Stanley Park), Barclay House's owner had called and ordered a little extra amuse-bouche of local salmon for us. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank brownhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjmcgraw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

There were two reasons why we loved our stay at the Barclay, location and service. The house is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood--but only a few blocks away from Robson Street. We loved going out to late night dinners at restaurants on Robson and felt safe walking back the short distance to the Barclay. Service was excellent--JJ, Mette, Dennis and Jonas were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (Jonas poaches a mean egg) and cookies were wonderful as well, we hope to return soon!

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pjmcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We stayed in the Peak room. It was very private, airy, and filled with natural light. The room was well detailed - the amenities were all high quality and well thought out. There was a CD player with a wallet of CD's provided, DVD s available on the sharred stairwell landing, a selection of hot cocoa, tea, coffee, and biscotti available in our room, and a fantastic bed with fine linen. All the creature comforts of a luxury hotel with the comfort of home!

This place is a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is exceptionally quiet despite being only a couple of blocks from the heart of Robson street. The B House has done an exceptional job of restoring the character and the charm of this west end gem. The decor is modern yet traditional, and it has been put together with a great eye for detail. All of the rooms have a slightly different decor theme that reflects how they are named. Be sure to get a tour of the place from the welcoming staff. It is a must see.The lounge invites you to sit and enjoy the plush leather couch and the fire place rather than venturing outside. Be sure to experience the breakfast - a rotating menu and friendly staff will keep you fomr ever wnating to leave the house during your stay!

I would recommend this over any downtown hotel if you like service, quality of accommodations, and a little piece and quiet amidst the chaos.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Very nice B & B. You won't find a more helpful staff. Always interested in talking about what you are doing and where you are going. They live in the area and love to give advice. Plus... You won't find a better location.
We stayed in the Haidaway Suite. It was great, very quiet. You are given the manager's cell phone # and can call him anytime you need help. Highly recommend this B & B. Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Unbelievably helpful staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank revkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Beatiful place with an excelent location and VERY friendly staff.
It's placed at the heart of the west end, very close to shops, restaurants, Stanley park and beaches...Plus it only took us 15-20 mins. from the airport.
We stood at the Peak room for 4 nights and it met all our best expectations. The room was beatiful, clean, very confortable and quiet, and had everythihg we needed (see attached photos).
Homemade breakfast was very good and we had fresh cookies every day in our room.
I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MiguelMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed for three wonderful nights at Barclay House. Its location in the heart of charming downtown Vancouver is excellent. The house is a short walk away from many shops and restaurants. Public transportation for the farther destinations are also walking distance away.

The house itself is beautifully renovated, with invitingly comfortable common areas. We stayed in the "Forest" room, which was very well decorated and furnished. If there weren't so much to do in Vancouver already, we can easily imagine spending more time in the house and garden themselves.

Unfortunately some of the windows in our room are just meters away from the windows of a nearby apartment complex. Even though the window levels of the two buildings are offset, we felt the need to keep the curtains of those windows closed most of the time. One of the evenings we were there, our neighbors in the apartment complex had a noisy, late party. Luckily closing our windows, which were well-insulated, allowed us to continue sleeping soundly.

But it is the service level at Barclay House that made our stay particularly special. We enjoyed the half-bottle welcoming champagne, the convenient bottles of water we can take for our walks, the nightly cookies, the ever-changing breakfast menu. (And had we been back early enough, I'm sure we would have also enjoyed the evening sherry as well.)

The staff was friendly and helpful, notably Dennis, who offered us advice on where to buy shoes, where to find a good Thai restaurant late in the evening, where to get good oysters, etc.. Even though we arrived so late at night, he cheerfully checked us in and made us feel immediately welcome. He was very good to us, and if you ever meet Dennis, ask him to sing you a song!

P.S. To the management: Perhaps moving the computer out of the dining area would improve both the computer usage and dining experience. And Dennis deserves a raise!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Heldigmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,518 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,775 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,625 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,954 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing