We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best b&b in Vancouver!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great b&b in downtown Vancouver, situated perfectly for visiting Vancouver. Very friendly and helpful staff. The manager Dennis gave us very good advice and was very nice.
The breakfast was very good with enough variety. Nice and clean rooms.
We really enjoyed our stay and can advise everyone this b&b!
We will go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent!! Perfect!! Wonderful!! The hotel is simply the best!!! I strongly recomend it! The staff is very gently and the breakfast id delicius! The room is awsome and very comfortable! Love it and I would be hosted here again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Although we live only a 40 minute drive from the Barclay House, we wanted a weekend away and chose the Barclay House B&B for our get away. We were very happy with the choice. It is a heritage building located on a quiet residential street just two blocks off Robson Street. We parked our car and walked to most of downtown Vancouver - Denman Street, the convention centre, Pacific Centre, China town, Yale town and Robson Street. Dennis is a friendly and great host. The breakfasts were excellent. We look forward to visiting the Barclay House again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach room which has three windows facing the street, but there was no street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After looking at many hotels for our stay we ended up booking Barclay House B&B and chose to stay in the Beach Room.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Dennis and his staff. Barclay House was very clean, tidy, and a lovely building. A free car parking space was also available if required. Breakfast was nice but a little “fancy” for us but it was a great place to exchange information and chat with the other guests.

If you are looking to discover Vancouver on foot I cannot think of a better location to be stay. Being central in the West End you are within walking distance of many attractions so you can save time by not having to wait for public transport and experience more of the city. Approximate walking distances from Barclay House are: Stanley Park 20 minutes, Canada Palace 20 minutes and from here you had good views of the city, float planes and marina and it is also the starting point for the 8.8km sea wall walk., Coal Harbour 10 minutes where you can join the sea wall walk, English Bay just over 10 minutes and a great place to watch the sun set, ferry to Granville Island just under 20 minutes walk away. You are also just a few minutes from the main shopping streets.

If you are going to travel on the SkyTrain to or from the airport you need to use the Canada Line. Unfortunately the closest station “Burrard” is on the Millennium Line. We walked from Barclay House to the “City Centre” station on the Canada line as we had plenty of time but it was quite a walk pulling two suitcases but doable if you like walking.

Barclay House was just what we where looking for and a lovely place to stay for the last 3 nights of our 3 week Canadian trip.

Room Tip: Beach Room was very comfortable and quite. I recommend paying the extra to stay in the Beach Room ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w-spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Barclay House is a fantastic place to stay! We stayed in the Forest room. The bed was wonderful! Dennis and Yolanda were great hosts! Dennis even went out of his way to prepare and early breakfast for us due to our schedule, and even went so far as to find us a parking space for our last day in Vancouver, after we had already checked out of our room! We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Barclay House Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelandRaenaShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife & I spent five days here in early November. We were charmed by the whole experience.
The owner, Dennis, is very nice, full of helpful travel tips & good advice. The breakfasts are excellent, and the neighborhood wonderful. I highly recommend Barclay House if you are traveling to Vancouver.

Room Tip: We liked the Garden Suite with its private entrance & fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastMaxSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in early November and found the Barclay House to be very tranquil and lovely. It was absolutely perfect for a romantic weekend. The house is full of character. The staff are welcoming, helpful and very friendly. The location is beautifully quiet, which made sleeping a pleasure, even with open windows. You can walk to everything downtown Vancouver has to offer, and if necessary, transit is a short way away. The breakfast is a significant step up from the standard continental breakfast usually on offer in a hotel of similar price: fresh fruit, baking, and a hot offering. The Peak room was the entire length of the house, so very spacious. The overall experience was such a nice change from what you experience in a similarly priced hotel room in the downtown core!! We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,855 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
West End
O Canada House
O Canada House
#4 of 56 in Vancouver
437 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 56 in Vancouver
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: £64 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing