We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect B&B in every way!”
Reviewed 13 October 2006

From the moment you walk through the door, you're made to feel welcome. The entire team are friendly and professional, making a lovely relaxed atmosphere for guests. Nothing seems too much trouble (even the clothes I left behind were in the post to me before I'd noticed they were missing).

The house really is as lovely as it looks on the website, combining sytlish design and comfort. Our room was so lovely that it was tempting to hibernate there. However we were tempted out every day by the wonderful breakfasts, always including fresh fruit and muffins home-baked that morning.

Barclay House is ideally situated, being within walking distance of most of Vancouver city, yet Barclay Street is quiet and full of greenery.

It's obvious that a lot of thought and attention to detail has gone into creating this gorgeous B&B and we recommend it unreservedly.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank L&PJ-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
95
409
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

This is a very welcoming and friendly B&B. Lovely little extras - the welcoming drink and the dish of home made cookies and bakes.

First rate breakfast, everything made fresh for you

The service was warm and generous but without being intrusive or overpowering - great balance of privacy and attentiveness

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank OWLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2006

We were booked for september for over a month before we received a call from the Barclay House two weeks before our planned stay stating they double booked the room. They told us our booking was second so it was not any good. They gave suggests of other places, but just about anywhere worth staying was booked. We are glad they called, but they really need to get with the times and handle their booking better. This mistake on thier part cost my wife and I hours of time and lots of long distance phone calls! But on a postive note we are getting to stay at a higher ranked BB. :)

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Aggie1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik, General Manager at Barclay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2007
We sincerely apologize for the incident described above regarding our previous booking system. During the recent ownership transition (in February 2006), we did experience a period of time where the old booking system did cause some minor isolated issues for our customers. Since then, we are happy to announce that we have implemented a new and more robust reservation management system that has proved to be more efficient and much more user friendly. Again, we do regret the isolated incidents that caused difficulty and frustration with some of our customers but believe that these challenges are now in the past. Feedback, good or bad, allows us to monitor our guest experiences effectively and we always welcome the opportunity to introduce better, more efficient ways to serve our valued customers. Thanks to all of our guests who have stayed with us over the recent months in the new and improved Barclay House. For those planning trips to Vancouver in the near future, we look forward to meeting you and making your stay in our great city one to remember. See you all soon and thanks for your wonderful support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

The property was beautifully renovated and immaculate. The manager JJ, was very friendly, always available and went out of his way to accommodate our early touring travel time schedules with continental breakfasts on two occasions. Rob made unusual but delicious full breakfasts. We couldn't have enjoyed it more! DVD, CD player and coffee was available in our room.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank G&Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I was looking for a reasonable priced play to stay in Vancouver for a long weekend. I don't like hotels you never seem to get any value out of them and private rentals can be a real pain - the solution - BARCLAY HOUSE! The perfect combo of privacy and hospitality with the right price.

  • Liked — staff and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank micajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASKATOON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

While attending the Urban Forum in June in Vancouver we were booked into the Barclay House on the West End.

While many of our colleagues stayed at various hotels around where the main functions of the World Urban Forum were occuring at Canada House - we were the most fortunate by far.

Without question we recommend this as THE place to stay when in Vancouver. To begin - excellent hospitality by JJ and his siblings. To an excellent room, quality sevice, sumptous breakfasts, an awesome sitting room. It is beyond functional to being a place where its location is fantastic - close to everything yet quiet and quaint.

Thank you Barclay House on the West End Family. We shall be back.

Lenore and Kelley, Saskatoon, SK

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank LenSwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

The Barclay House is a perfectly placed B&B away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Vancouver - it is close to English Harbour and Stanley Park. The Barclay is beautifully decorated and is warm and welcoming. JJ is the perfect host and very helpful. We will certainly recommend the Barclay.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,558 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,812 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,552 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing