We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Super Comfortable”
Review of Hycroft Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hycroft Suites
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Paris Townhome was perfect for what we needed for 3 adults (1 couple and 1 single) travelling together, visiting friends in Vancouver. Plenty of space; large bedrooms; washer and dryer; free parking; full kitchen; quiet neighbourhood; bright and fresh. The location was perfect as it was walking distance to my friend's house and very close to shopping, restaurants and transport on Granville Street. The dining and cooking facilities were great and had everything we needed to entertain our Vancouver friends for dinner. We only stayed 2 nights this time but we will be back. With a minimum 2 night stay at Hycroft we also stayed at 'sister property' Granville House B&B during our holiday. It was very easy dealing with the same helpful and friendly owners for both properties. A big plus!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tracy7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

LOVED HYCROFT. A wonderful, perfectly maintained house in a great location. Staying there was just easy...from the parking to the keyless doors to the full kitchen amenities and w/d. Walking distance to good shopping and restaurants and a quick drive to the main sightseeing areas. My friends and I rented all four apartments for our families and it could not have been a more perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marissafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were thrilled with Hycroft during a one week stay. We traveled with several friends all of whom had young children. We rented all four apartments. It was PERFECT for our needs. We each had our own space but plenty of communal space as well. The private backyard was a hit for games, mingling and an outdoor movie night for the adults after the kids went to bed. The apartment we stayed in was in great condition and filled with everything we needed. The coded access allowed for each of us to travel from apt to apt with ease. It's also very convenient to shopping along Granville and we even walked all the way to Granville Island! So easy. I highly recommend Hycroft Suites!

Room Tip: The upstairs apts were larger than the garden level apts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bm0rebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My parents recommended this place after staying at the B&B, thinking this would be more suitable for us as family. After reviewing the website we decided to reserve Monaco suite. The room looked bright. The description said there was 3 flights of external staircase even though it also said Garden Suite. This was a bit confusing - especially when we arrived to find it a basement suite, essentially, since you enter from a car park above the ground level and walk down to the suite.

The reservation and checkin process was straight forward.

The rooms were very dark, unlike the photos on the website. The layout awkward, not even a kitchen table to eat at - and we were traveling with our young child. Eating on their sofa would have been a disaster - we managed.

There was limited room to move in the bedroom. Sound insulation from the bedroom to other suites was non-existent, as in any basement conversion. We heard the people upstairs thundering across the floor at all hours and making phone calls from the back deck at midnight. We also heard other suites on their decks into the early hours of the morning. It was hot, so we needed to keep the windows open.

Cooking facilities were actually a microwave, toaster oven and temporary hotplate - and electrical problems didn't allow you to use the kettle and microwave simultaneously. But most things we needed were there.

It was actually a good 'family' suite, but nothing special. Not what we had expected at the price.

Added touches, that didn't appeal to us included soap, shampoo in a dispenser fixed to the wall in shower.

I would have expected the suite to be cleaner. We found empty beer cans and an unopened pepperoni sausage in a cupboard and multiple cobwebs in the suite, with lots of spiders. It was very dusty, as if minimal cleaning had been done for a while. Towels were old.

Even though you can't fault the location, it is overpriced for what it is. There are better deals in town that have a microwave and kettle, and some that have full kitchen at the same price -
We wanted to try something different and so, chose this self catering suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank victoriafoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at the Paris townhouse suite . Suite is 2 level with 2 bedrooms and full bath upstairs and full kitchen, dining and living room plus full bath downstairs. Location is reasonable distance (not walking) to university and Granville market areas. Grocery and good deli about 3 blocks away. there were 3 of us and the space was great for having breakfast in and also we had supper in one night with food from the deli.
Parking was convenient.
Having to count the towels and cutlery when you check in is a pain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 643retiredguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice suites. Clean and very welcoming. Location was very good and close to public transportation. It was like being home away from home. Well equipped with everything that you need. I would recommend this place to everyone and will use it again when returning to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darylsue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I agree with the best and the mediocre of the reviews; not with the negative ones. This is a very comfortable stay with a few minor (neglible) issues.

We stayed in the Paris suite for two nights with friends. The suite was clean and tidy and the overall setup works very well for two couples sharing the suite. Pre-trip instructions via email were detailed and helpful.

There was some confusion regarding the access code. First, I did not receive the access code by email as expected via the published timeline. An email to Randy was immediately answered with the access code (and I mean immediately). Grade A response! When we arrived at the site, we found two doors on the back of the house, each with a four-digit address above the door. All of my paperwork indicated one address, which is the door I tried to open with the code. However, the access code was for the Paris suite, which was the other door. I could have tried the cypher lock of the other door but it looked as if someone might be occupying that suite (a light was on and a window was open). It turns out that was our suite and I could have opened the door with the access code had I tried. Instead, I had to give Randy a call and after some confusion, we understood the situation and were immediately inside the suite (which was good as we were in a downpour that lasted the entire time we were in the city). I'd recommend Randy place the name of the respective suite above the door on the outside. Soon after we were inside, Randy called the house phone to make sure we were comfortably inside. Nice gesture.

I agree with the comments about the smaller bedroom at the back of the suite. Both bedrooms are upstairs. The larger of the two is at the front of the house and is very quiet. The smaller bedroom is at the back of the house which is situated rather close to the confluence of two residential (but busy) streets. We always sleep with windows open, however we could not do so due to the heavy traffic noise, even in the wee hours of the morning. We ended up closing the window and operating the ceiling fan.

The kitchen is nicely appointed and the entire suite is comfortable. The internet was great (a little slow at times and lost it a few, but overall very nice to have.) A large screen tv worked perfectly and the fireplace added to the environment. The location is great for access to Granville Island and downtown Vancouver. In spite of the rain we walked the three blocks to Granville Street where there are a ton of shops/stores, including food markets.

I don't remember it being mentioned, but there is a rooftop access for a photo op of downtown Vancouver and some fresh air (when it's not raining cats and dogs).

We were in Vancouver only two nights, but a week-long stay would be very comfortable and convenient at the Hycroft. We would stay there again.

I leave you with one of our happiest, unplanned moments: we took a long walk in Stanley Park and ended up (in the rain) stopping in the Teahouse Restaurant. Oh, my goodness, what a treat...the ambiance and the food are a double whammy of delight. We later discovered that the same company owns the Teahouse Restaurant and Cardero's, where we also enjoyed a fine meal. We can wholeheartedly recommend both....and the Hycroft. Happy travels!

Room Tip: The Paris suite is quite nice. There is some pesky road noise in the back bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RetiredAF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Granville House B&B
Granville House B&B
#25 of 56 in Vancouver
165 reviews
Kitsilano
Alma Beach Suites
Alma Beach Suites
#4 of 54 in Vancouver
165 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,779 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hycroft Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hycroft Suites

Address: 1248 15th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1R8, Canada (Formerly Hycroft Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: £89 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hycroft Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an extraordinary stay with Hycroft Suites! Our 4 Vancouver vacation rentals offer every comfort near Granville Island Public Market. Walk through charming Shaughnessy or wander home from the South Granville Rise restaurants, boutiques & spas: your perfect home away from home. All suites with dedicated parking, 24 hour keyless entry, dedicated phone, 40" LCD TV, wired & wireless internet. Down duvets & pillows with face, hand & body towels supplied. When you want "more than a hotel". Close to transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hycroft Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing