We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Granville Island Hotel(Vancouver)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
81
43
25
18
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
43
25
18
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bspring bloomshared kitchen areaprivate bathneeded a place to stayvancouver general hospitalsmall mallhardwood floorshome away from homebeautiful city of vancouverafter midnightskytrain stationlonger staylocation is amazingsized bedguesthousedowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A lovely B&B in a 100 yr old house on a quiet street in bustling Vancouver. It's obvious that the house is old as the wooden floors creek, there is no air conditioning and the bathrooms are very small (smaller than what we had once in Paris, France). The house also has a musty smell to it. The gardens were a little overgrown, but full and green. Unfortunately, we were not able to sit outside much as it was wet most of the time due to rain. That being said, the breakfasts completely make up for any faults the B&B had; and I looked for them. A variety of omelettes, fresh cut fruit, homemade muffins, croissants, and some kind of bread or cake. Stash brand tea and plentiful coffee. We ate ourselves silly every morning. The bed we were on was custom made in Vancouver and was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. All of the rooms were spotless, no dust or mildew or mold on any of the surfaces, even in the bathroom. We had some mosquitos because we needed to leave the window open to get some air, but oddly, they didn't bite and kept away from us. I would absolutely stay here again, but would ask that the breakfasts begin at 7:30 or 8am as sometimes 8:30 is a little late, especially if you're needing to leave at 9am for a tour or flight. Oh, they played wonderful music in the dining room during breakfast; jazz, opera, classical.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm. 1 and it was very nice but hot in the afternoon. We had to leave the hallway door open for awhile to cool it off in the evenings.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljohnson173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Room dull and furniture worn and uncomfortable. Shared kitchenette filthy, no cutlery and a microwave that didnt work. Garden furniture filthy and patio a mess. Manager sarcastic when we arrived a little early for breakfast. Charged for my full stay on day one so little chance to ask for a discount.
Dont pay til you leave, or preferrably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent a night at the Manor Guest House earlier this summer. This wonderful inn is a pair of restored Edwardian homes set in a quiet residential neighborhood that is just minutes from downtown. The location simply could not be better, being easy to find on a lightly trafficked street, yet close to everything. The decor is period, and interior renovations were in keeping with heritage designation of the property. Off-street parking was appreciated. Late arrival was not a problem; our key was waiting for us on arrival. Our room was on the main floor immediately off the main hallway--I believe it was called the "Library". The room was large and clean with a private bath and very comfortable new bedding. The accommodations were quiet and peaceful at all times we were there. The bathroom was clean but a little small, yet the shower pressure was torrential (just to my taste) with ample hot water. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection and plentiful helpings. We took our coffee on the rear deck overlooking the wonderfully manicured gardens which were like peaceful oasis in an otherwise bustling city. The resident manager was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, recommending appropriate driving routes to avoid morning traffic to our destinations. We enjoyed our stay immensely and we will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were ultimately satisfied with our stay at the Manor Guest House, but I am not absolutely certain if I would book there again.
On the positive side, the breakfasts were fantastic. There was a nice slection and variey each of the three mornings we were there. Breakfast did not begin until 8:30 however. we usually arrived in the kitchen a few minutes prior and everything was ready - no waiting. ANd there is a bit of outdoor space at the front garden which was very nice to sit in on a summer afternoon. It apparently is a labor of love and it shows - even more so considering the lack of rain in Vancouver this season.
.Frankly, these were the only experiences that put a true smile ion my face.
When our party of three first arrived, we were greeted by Brenda, the owner. She was friendly and let us know that we were to stay in the building located next door. She guided us to the basement "garden" unit - which was not the accommodations that we booked..(Two rooms with private baths) She went on to explain Manor Houses' involvement with the nearby hospital and that there were individuuals going through a recuperative process that was taken longer than expected and that they were still occupying our rooms. Of course we understood the predicament and did not expect that they would be forced to vacate the rooms so decided we would make the best of it.
As a resident of a major city full of "garden" units, we are used to these types of accommodations however this one had the character and charm of a basement. It felt like the ugly stepchild of the main house. Although I did not see the rooms above grade, I would hiope that they are far superior. There was nothing special about the 2 BR one bath. The beds were uncomfotable, there was no place to hang clothes within the bedrooms (armoires in the main "living" room and these bedrooms are intended to be let separately), the toilet ran continuously, we could hear water and effulent loudly trace through the the waste piping in the ceiling above the bedrooms, the living room was dark on a sunny day, the furniture was worn and unattractive and there was a faint musty smell throughout the unit. The bathroom was OK, except for the toilet matter and the tile looked new. I would expect that if you are going to rent a basement unit, you would create an oasis that folks would actually like to stay in.It is certainly in need of a remodel.
In short, I did express my disappointment and satisfaction to the management at the close of our stay. To their credit they were accommodating to a point that was reasonable. I hope appreciated my constructive criticisms.. .

Room Tip: Dont stay in teh "Garden" Unit
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Out of the three different places we stayed on this trip, unfortunately this one would rank last. That doesn't mean our stay wasn't enjoyable, but there were a few things that would've made it better. The first night there were lots of children staying and they were quiet noisey. The next two nights we were the only room in the house that wasn't a part of a huge family, which was a little awkward. We never got to eat breakfast outside or really enjoy all that was prepared because of the amount of people there. We did, however, enjoy the free international call phone.
We ended on a good note as we had to leave early on our last day and the manager put a "to-go" breakfast in our fridge which was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews