We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend at the Manor!”
Review of Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor Guest House
Ranked #34 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I recently spent a weekend at the Manor Guest House and couldn't have been happier with our choice! The location was perfect! It is located on a quaint and quiet street which was so relaxing but at the same time it is only a 5 minute walk to the Skytrain (Canada line) so it was super accessible to downtown and the rest of the city.

The staff was so pleasant and helpful during our stay. The manager Dave even took the time to sit down with us on our first morning to map out our day in the city which we were really grateful for! On top of that he is an amazing chef who cooked the most delicious breakfasts each morning ie. - salmon scrambled eggs, freshly baked croissant, fresh fruit...mmm and the list goes on!

All in all we were beyond pleased with our stay at Manor Guest House and will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Vancouver!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I just recently spent the weekend at the Manor Guest House and was pleasantly surprised.
Firstly, the location is perfectly situated. Three short blocks away from the main subway line which takes a quick 5 min to get to downtown. This puts you downtown from the front door in about 15 mins. From the airport, just 25-30 mins.
Secondly, the room was exactly what you need. A comfortable queen sized bed. Clean shower and toilet. The staff tidied and made the bed daily. Couldn't have asked for better.
Thirdly, and most importantly, the staff. The staff was incredible. Knowledgeable about to city, tours and restaurants. Kind. Helpful. And incredible cooks! The breakfast each morning was the best parts of my days. Dave, the general manager, makes the breakfast each morning and does it very well. To give you an idea: day one was a Mexican omelette with fruits, toast, homefries, coffee and juice all set out on the kitchen counters like a restaurant buffet. I went for seconds... Each day.
To the staff, keep up the good work. I'll be sure to go back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Since we had a rent car, we needed a parking space because we wanted to use public transportation for going downtown and parking spaces are hard to come by in Vancouver. The Manor Guest House had some reserved parking spaces in the back of the house, but all parking on the street is reserved for residents, so do not park on the street.

We took the basement suite when we arrived as that was available, but were told that a larger party was coming and when an upstairs room became available, we would need to move up there. We travel light, so that wasn't a problem, but it was unusual to be asked to have to change rooms during a stay.

In the basement, we had our own kitchen, but upstairs we had to share a kitchen space with a couple who were staying there while the husband was being treated at the nearby hospital. They were very nice, but that was also something that for the price of the room, we would have liked to have had our own space.

Note that to get to the parking area in the back, you have to go down to the end of the block and then come up the alley to get to the parking spaces directly behind the house. The Manor Guest House is actually two houses.

We flew into SeaTac in Seattle and rented a car and drove to Vancouver. From previous experience in Canada, we knew that things were much more expensive than in the States, but we had no idea how expensive Vancouver is compared to other parts of Canada. But given our experience, fortunately we stopped at the Walmart in Bellignham (about a mile off the highway) and stocked up on cokes and snacks and other things we thought we would want. If you want some wine or liquor, you should also buy a little and take it with you, although I'm sure there are some strict limits on how much you're allowed to take into Canada. But after paying outrageous prices for nearly everything in Vancouver, we were glad we had brought snacks and other basics with us from the Walmart in Bellingham. By the way, the Walmart parking lot was full of cars from Canada (what a surprise) as apparently the people from Vancouver have to come the states to buy as much as possible.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Over the course of 6 days, the HeroX.com team of professionals gathered at The Manor for our Quarterly meeting. We literally took over the quiet dining area and transformed it into our boardroom and we filled the walls and infused the space with future mission making. David made us fresh croissants and was especially patient with the ever-evolving game plan for arrivals and departures. We had an extraordinary meeting together with thanks to the amazing hospitality. The home itself had so many nice spaces for respite that fostered both sharing and productivity - a great foundation for the work we set out to accomplish. As a company HeroX is setting out to making a meaningful difference in the lives of a billion people around the world. The Manor Guesthouse played a part in making that happen! With sincere thanks, The HeroX Team.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I travel a lot and stay in many hotels. I only use the Manor House when I travel to Vancouver because the experience has more of a home-feel that is far more comfortable than typical hotels.
Check-in and out is easier than in a hotel. Value is solid. Location is great, as it is close to everything that I need. Parking is available when I arrive with a car.
It is easy to be a repeat customer and they accommodate my last minute reservations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I recently visited the Manor Guest House and it is a pleasure to share my observations.

The Manor is a beautiful Edwardian heritage house – a joy to behold. I love the layout of the home, the beautiful woodwork and the charming rooms.

The gardens are fabulous (thanks to Brenda the charismatic owner who does the garden design herself!). Coming or leaving, one cannot help but stop and take in the beauty of the flowers. Or, better yet, sit and relax in a comfy deck chair in the quiet upper garden and enjoy a beautiful day….

The location is excellent - right in the heart of the city, 2 blocks from public transit and walking distance to downtown, in a safe area of heritage houses and lovely greenery.

And that brings me to the staff –– the people responsible for making the guest feel so welcome and at home. From the ladies who serve the sumptuous and delicious breakfasts, to the maids who do a great job of cleaning the rooms, to David, the onsite manager who is professional and dedicated, the staff is excellent. They manage to be present when needed, but not at all intrusive – wonderful traits for guests who value their privacy. I appreciated David, in particular - he was always available to help, provide useful information on the City and places to see and he seemed genuinely concerned that his guests enjoy their stay. And not to forget the owner, Brenda, who is responsible for the quality and welcoming atmosphere of this guesthouse. Kudos to all!

I highly recommend the Manor for your next stay in Vancouver. My visit was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I had our first visit to Vancouver and stayed at the Manor Guest House. It was a lovely experience! The manager was very friendly and professional, the accommodations were first class and we enjoyed the breakfast, treatment and the Vancouver experience completely.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonflylashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Little India / Punjabi Market
White House Bed and Breakfast
White House Bed and Breakfast
#26 of 56 in Vancouver
7 reviews
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 56 in Vancouver
64 reviews
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#10 of 56 in Vancouver
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
Shaughnessy
Windsor Guest House
Windsor Guest House
#16 of 56 in Vancouver
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Guest House

Address: 387 W 13th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: £34 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1909, this Vancouver guest house features large windows, hardwood floors and high ceilings. Free WiFi,free breakfast and a flat-screen digital cable TV, are included in all rooms. Private or shared bathrooms and kitchen offered. Vancouver city centre is 1.9 miles away.The Canada Line rapid transit system is 8 minutes walk away. Vancouver General Hospital is 0.6 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing