We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest and disreputable”
Review of Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor Guest House
Ranked #34 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dishonest and disreputable”
Reviewed 4 December 2005

An employee quoted us the rate for our room when we checked in. When we received the bill upon check-out, we were charged a higher rate for each night. The employee agreed that there had been a mistake but said that the manager was not available and the staff was not authorized to correct the bill. When I tried to correct the problem later with Brenda (the manager), she claimed that we must have been mistaken and refused to make any adjustment to the bill or refund the difference to my credit card. She will probably describe this review as "libelous," but Brenda was not there for the conversation and has no knowledge of what took place, so I do not appreciate her implication that both we and her employee were mistaken or lying, nor do I appreciate her refusal to stand by her employee's representation.

The guest house itself is alright, but I could not possibly recommend it to anyone after the experience we had there, which apparently was not unique. Believe the reviews and stay somewhere else. The house is on a quiet, tree-lined street, not far from downtown Vancouver, but far enough away that you will need some way to get around (car, bicycle rental). The rooms were comfortable but average, and the ones in the main house all have a musty smell. Not very quiet. Breakfasts were average.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank citybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    40
    21
    16
    34
See reviews for
40
74
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 September 2005

We stayed at the Manor from June 27th to 30th and on July 7th. What a waist of money! We heard noise all night and the people who were staying in the penthouse above our room made noise until three in the morning. The owner mas so antipathic! We asked for a reimbursement the next morning and we had to fight with her. We finally got it, but we will never go back there! The food was OK.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2005

We had the most wonderful time at the Manor Guest house! Brenda kindly hosted our wedding ceremony in her garden. We were not able to be joined by our family or friends, and didn't expect Brenda and the rest of the guests to join in and support us -- they made our day really special. The entire stay was just super; Jane made some fabulous breakfasts. We couldn't have wished for a better host; Brenda and her staff really took care of us. We would truly recommend the Manor everytime to anyone who wants to stay real close to downtown, yet in a quiet and clean residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brit-in-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2004

I stayed at this B&B in August 2004 with my girlfriend and was surprised by the reviews of other tripadvisors. We found the hosts very freindly and the relaxed family atmosphere at breakfast was unusual but very pleasant.

Our room was clean and comfortable and we made ready use of the internet and telephone facilities. As for the hobos, we saw very few in the area surrounding the manor guest house. I would have no qualms about staying there again or recommending it to friends - a real home from home

Helpful?
4 Thank Propidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 October 2004

I was shocked! Poor service (well actually no service), nothing in the way of breakfast and rude staff.

At a certain point I wondered whether the street hobos were having a better time - I wanted to go so badly, but the guest house had already taken the money (even before authorised). Not only had the guest house taken the money without my knowing but had taken far more than expected.

Don't bother going, you would enjoy illegally camping in Stanley Park more. The hobos get a better breakfast going through the trash.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner/General Manager at Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 21 October 2004
The comment by the Oxfordshire guest was libelous. We never charge against credit cards in advance. We do it only in the guest's presence, once that guest has arrived. We never charge more than our posted rate. If we did, guests would never sign their bills.
We have winter rates and summer rates. A room with king bed and private bath is $135CDN ($103 U.S.) in summer and includes a full breakfast. The same room is $75CDN ($57 U.S.) in winter and includes a self-serve breakfast. We stock the guest kitchen with a variety of cereals, breadstuffs, milk, tea , coffee and juice and guests help themselves. Our rates are for 2 people and also include parking, local phone calls, and unlimited high speed internet access. So summer or winter, we offer exceptionally good value, especially since we are located right in the heart of the city of Vancouver.
We recently had a couple from England (Oxfordshire!) who made a huge fuss because although they were paying the winter rates, they wanted the full breakfast which we serve in the summer. When we explained that we could not do this, nor was it their due, they opted to leave. We happily agreed despite the fact that we have a stated 7 day cancellation policy, both incoming and outgoing.
The vicious letter on Travel Advisor was their revenge.
We have been in business for 12 years and are full year round. We work very hard to provide our guests with a positive experience. It is unfortunate that there are some guests who have a unique capacity to make life miserable for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 December 2002

no breakfast as advertised..

no cleaning..

rude host..

loud music from manager below..

the site on internet does not accurately portray manor guest house..

i strongly advise against staying there..

all guests complained as i did..

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
402 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
694 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Windsor Guest House
Windsor Guest House
#18 of 54 in Vancouver
129 reviews
Little India / Punjabi Market
No photo provided
White House Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 54 in Vancouver
6 reviews
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#14 of 54 in Vancouver
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Guest House

Property: Manor Guest House
Address: 387 W 13th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1909, this Vancouver guest house features large windows, hardwood floors and high ceilings. Free WiFi,free breakfast and a flat-screen digital cable TV, are included in all rooms. Private or shared bathrooms and kitchen offered. Vancouver city centre is 1.9 miles away.The Canada Line rapid transit system is 8 minutes walk away. Vancouver General Hospital is 0.6 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing