We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - pity about the cutlery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I chose this hotel based on reviews at TA and on location to Robson St and gaslight area.

We spent 2 nights, to relax after business before our trip home.

The location was great as we could walk everywhere, and even though there was a football game across the road in the stadium that we could see the roof of from our room, there was no noise in the room.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, a cheaper "Hilton-like" room i.e. the fittings are cheap but functional. But you get what you pay for.

There is not much service - there is a bell man that is never at his post... you have to take luggage up to your room yourself.

There is a complimentary breakfast - its not great but the coffee is drinkable and you can make your own waffles!

You get what you pay for so all in all the hotel is great EXCEPT FOR ONE THING THAT WILL MAKE ME NEVER STAY AGAIN -

WHY oh why do you have to eat breakfast from plastic knives and forks and plates! This is a horrible experience , not to mention the rubbish it creates - made me and my colleague vow to never stay here again. I overheard others talking about that too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver. We constantly strive to improve our services and products, and your comment is appreciated as it is a valuable part of this process. I am extremely disheartened to learn that the reason you will not return to our hotel is due our cutlery. At the Hampton Inn Downtown Vancouver, we understand the importance of minimizing waste through recycling and reusing. This is the reason that the Hampton Inn brand chooses to use TaterWare (http://earth-to-go.com/faq/taterware), an environmentally conscious material made out of potatoes that is both biodegradable and compostable. I truly hope that with this information, you will consider staying with us again. If you would like to discuss your stay further with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-605-1455 or aliya@hamptoninnvancouver.com.

Best regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money. Good restaurant out front (Zachary) and location great ( especially for sports fans with stadium next door)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

To be fair, I stayed for free using my Hilton points, but I checked pricing online and my room would have cost only $125per night! The hotel is directly across the street from BC Place Stadium - where the Lions and Whitecaps FC play. Our room was on the fourteenth floor and we watched the first half of the game on the big screen, from our window.
The room was spacious enough for two, with a wraparound picture window, and included a mini fridge and microwave for any leftovers from one of the hundreds of great restaurants within walking distance. The bathroom was on the small side, but had a huge whirlpool tub, that the wife loved! Parking was not cheap ($25ish), but it's underground and gated.
There is a restaurant attached to the building, with an interior entrance, but we had one drink there, no food. This Hampton Inn also has a small gift shop, which is different than the few H.I. I've stayed in the past. Service was impeccable and included chocolates, delivered upon arrival.
Also, the 16th floor has an exercise area, that connects to a huge outdoor balcony. One evening, my wife and I sat out with a bottle of wine and watched the sun go down and the fog roll in. Very romantic. There is a large hot tub attached to the exercise area, with a huge window looking out towards the Stadium/Inlet/Marina.
Other than check in, we had little contact with hotel staff, but they were very friendly and helpful on our two or three encounters.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for business, or a romantic weekend. It is not as big or nice as the Fairmont or Pan Pacific, but it's a great value and nice stay.

Room Tip: Views are better, higher up. Ask for 12th floor or above. Know that facing the stadium will allow br...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markmcguire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stay at many Hampton Inns throughout the year and come to expect a clean and comfortable place to stay that is moderate in price. However, the Hampton Inn in downtown Vancouver rises above the average. From smooth and friendly check-in to a sparking clean upgraded suite, our stay exceeded our expectations. (Great Italian restaurant next door in a competing hotel.) Easy and free hotel shuttle to the cruise port.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyCamperNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Downtown Vancouver. Nothing delights us more than to hear your stay at our hotel exceeded your expectations! We are also delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant next door at our sister property. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Aliya Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We chose the Hampton Inn because of it's proximity to BC Place and the BC Lions game and it was an excellent choice. Very easy and prompt check-in. The room was a good size with comfortable queen beds. It was quiet and there was little noise from the street and none from other guests. Great complimentary breakfast. Would stay here again for other events at BC Place or Rogers Arena.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VE7CKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to going on a cruise. Upon arrival, the front desk staff was an absolute delight and very helpful in getting accustomed with the downtown area. The room itself was a standard Hampton Inn room, and well kept. It is a highrise facility, so the view from the room was terrific. The location is optimal as it is in walking distance to lots of restaurants, shops, and last minute purchases (bottle of wine and pop/soda for the cruise). There is a downtown mall not too far away, and a free hotel shuttle helps transport you around...not to mention free shuttle to the cruise port! The only somewhat downside of this site is that the breakfast area has a small area for seating, but the offering of different types of foods is more significant than at other Hampton Inns. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear SuzanneManhattan,

We are thrilled to have had you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton prior to your cruise, and that you got to use our complimentary shuttle bus service to the cruise port and to other areas in downtown Vancouver. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast options and are happy to inform you that we will be going through renovations to improve our breakfast area in the next few months! Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

Sincerely,
Aliya Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at the Robson Street Hampton Inn recently following positive reveiws on trip advisor, and just wanted to add some additional information. Robson Street is the main shopping street and the hotel is located at the bottom of Robson Street. There are plenty of good places to eat in the area, and also walking distance to the skytrain station. There is parking in the building, and a bus stops right opposite the building.

The room was huge with typical Hamton Inn fluffy white pillows and bedding. Spotlessly clean. We had a kitchenette in our room which was brilliant. Almost like a self catering, but with the convenience of a hotel.

Breakfast was basic, but good.

Free wireless internet access was fast.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamThomasCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,593 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £126 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing