We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid hotel but not romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights upon returning from a 7 night NCL Alaskan cruise on the last leg of our trip. Previously we had been in Vancouver (west end) and then Whistler before heading to Alaska and making the Hampton Inn and suites our last stop back in Vancouver before heading home.

The hotel is solid and I would suggest more aimed at business traffic rather than a romantic or family break. It is located downtown beside the BC stadium. Not the best area but not the worst as it was closeby (walking distance) to the main shopping district and also the trendier and more upscale Yaletown with its bars/restaurants

Our room was perfectly adequate, Service at front desk was professional and friendly. The hot tub on the roof was a nice bonus. Ultimately it served a purpose for what we needed it to be but its not the type of place you are going to be blown away by or hanker for a return visit.

If you are travelling as a couple and want to feel like a local then stay at the West End instead, up by Coal Harbour or even better, Stanley Park. The Times Square Suites (where we 1st stayed) were awesome. Self contained appartment, free local gym usage, neighbourhood bars and eatieries closeby, stroll to Coal harbour or cycle to Stanley Park in minutes. This is where our heart is in Vancouver and where we would stay upon returning. We wish we had booked this place both times but you live and learn.

Don't get me wrong, there was nothing particularly wrong with the Hampton Inn and suites and thus if your preference is to be situated in this area of Vancouver and if you want a no frills, no fuss, solid central hotel then this is a decent option.

Room Tip: Try a meal at the Italian Kitchen nearby, have the Kobe meatballs... outstanding
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,904)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very busy hotel....with cruise ship passengers...but nice and clean too. This hotel has excellent employees. Very busy breAkfast station....fill your plate, grab your coffee and head up to the lounge on the sixteenth floor and eat it on their outdoor patio! Ping pong table,etc. are up there..hot tub...nice laundry facilities...two washers and dryers...immaculate. Machines take loonies. Pain in the butt to use elevator...you have to swipe your room key to be able to use it.
Room pretty good...clean..nice bathroom. One employee..."David"....is such an excellent worker...Hampton is lucky to have him...the most unlazy person I have ever met. Actually, all their employees are awesome. Thanks Hampton!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Susie B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Downtown Vancouver. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments about our team members. David is definitely a star employee, and we have been very lucky to have him as a part of our team for over 12 years.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences with travellers. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just to reiterate views already expressed here, this hotel is far superior to other Hamptons we've stayed at. The free breakfast is better than many we've paid for in other places, staff helpful and attentive, room spacious and the location is ideal for exploring downtown. Stopped here for 3 nights on route to Hawaii from the UK, perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reevesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Arrived by taxi, and the taxi station is only 2 minutes away, so no waits when you leave. The rooms do have kitchenettes so if you have leftovers or want something from the grocery store, its a bonus. It was quite enough and represents good value. While the breakfast isn't as good as the Hilton's, it is free (included) I thought it was pretty decent. Hot waffles, cereal, yogurt,muffins, toast. I didn't eat here, so I did end up walking ~~ 5 blocks to a Keg, and so the location is only an issue if you don't like to walk. I have stayed here several times and the staff have always been helpful.

Cheers,
Britishcanadianeh

Room Tip: Away from an elevator or an ice machine
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Britishcanadianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Ok. So this may or may not seem petty, but to be fair and honest, when you've already extolled the virtues of this establishment, to find something menial that impacts the overall appeal of the hotel it is important to mention it.

After having several drinks at a nearby establishment I developed a craving for sweets and assumed I would be able to simply purchase a chocolate bar at the hotel vending machine. Unfortunately I have encountered the first high class hotel in downtown Vancouver that contains only ONE vending machine for snacks, and said vending machine does NOT accept $2 coins!!!

Petty? Maybe, but after several drinks even the most petty issue seems almost monumental when looking at a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninjaroo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel's exceptional staff, especially the front desk and manager, facilitated a comfortable and enjoyable three night stay. The facilities were a notch above some Hampton Inns. When in the area again, I'll be sure to return.

Room Tip: The front desk assigned a room at the rear of the hotel away from the street.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel for five nights during a conference and walked everywhere in that part of downtown. Taxi fare to and from the airport, with tip, was about 35CAD for the two of us. Check in was smooth and the people were all helpful. Free Internet in the room also makes us happy.

The downside was breakfast. It wasn't bad, but they do not know how to scramble eggs, and some sort of scrambled eggs were the ONLY choice of egg. The only time they put out hard boiled eggs was when they had ham in the scrambled eggs. Frankly, they should have put out hard boiled eggs all the time as the scrambled eggs were always pre-salted with too much salt. (The salt and overcooking explains the grainy texture as well.) The hardboiled eggs were overcooked, but not too over cooked. They always had chopped fruit out in a fruit salad, but it had obviously been prepared elsewhere and shipped in bags as the edges of all the melon slices were rounded from being transported, and the fruit had the chopped-the-day-before flavor. The rest of the breakfast was standard fare and was suitable.

We would probably stay again, but we might also try one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Traveller2984

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback that we receive and use it to increase the quality of the services we offer.

Our hotel offers a variety of breakfast items to cater to the varying tastes and preferences of our guests, including hot items, such as eggs and bacon, baked goods including croissants, donuts, and bagels, fresh fruit such as bananas, apples and oranges as well as cereal and oatmeal. The cooking methods used to prepare these items have been tested to ensure quality and consistency.

Each time we receive a suggestion on how to improve, we do everything we can to ensure the suggestion is implemented throughout the hotel. I am happy to write that starting June 2012, we will be offering three hot items on a daily basis as per your suggestion for those guests with similar palates to yours.

I am delighted to read that you found us conveniently located in downtown Vancouver, that you were happy about the complimentary Internet and pleased with the helpfulness of our staff. I am confident that with the changes that we have made based on your suggestions, you will be able to add an amazing breakfast to this list during your next stay!

Kind regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
604-605-1455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,595 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £125 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing