We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Downtown Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Location: This hotel is very well situated in downtown Vancouver. It's walking distance to major Skytrain stations (Stadium Chinatown) which we use quite a bit and Yaletown. It's also walking distance to the downtown area and shopping centers like Pacific Center. The downtown area is quite busy and noisy. The Hampton Inn is located away from all that which is quite a bit quieter but still is walking distance to it.

Rooms: Beware, there is construction (hi rise building) right next to the Hampton Inn. However, the construction doesn't start till about 8 or 9 am which is when we wake up anyways. Since they're building out the foundation at the moment, noise is quite manageable and not a problem at all. However, once they start building the floors, the noise profile could be quite different...just beware of it when you book. I suspect, they will be building floors in about 3 months time.

Facilities: The hotel is quite modern and nice. There's a SPA (small pool and sauna) on the top floor with panoramic view of city. It's a stunning view. There's also a ping pong table and fooze ball game up there and very nice exercise equipment. We pent a good chunk of time up there with our 2 young boys playing games and watching the olympics. The pool could use more frequent cleaning. The laundry facilities is quite convenient which we used once.

Breakfast: The breakfast is quite adequate with the standard fare that you would find at any hotels with breakfast included. It could get mundane after about a week or so. They should change the fare a bit more often.

Things to do with young kids:

By the way, all of these places below are accessible either by Skytrain or bus. We didn't bother to rent a car on this trip and it was absolutely the right decision. Get the daily pass on the Skytrain which allow you to use all buses and the seabus as well. It's very convenient and you don't need to mess with having the correct change.

1) Science center...walking distance from hotel along the bay...very nice
2) Stanley Park acquarium
3) Lonsdale Quay north vancouver...check out the market
4) Night Market in Richmond....if you like asian food, don't miss it
5) Metro Town mall...it's unbelievable how big it is. The food court is awesome
6) Restaurants on Robson St..too many to name but Banana Leaf is excellent Malaysian food place
7) Capilano Suspension Bridge. It's a bit pricey but worth the experience.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms on the North side (Cambie St. side) as is next to construction of high rise. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank activekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and great tips on your recent stay at our hotel! It is reviews like yours that we love to read as it enables us to continue providing superior services to our guests.

Regarding the construction across the street, many guests do point out that due to the insulation of our guestrooms the construction noise does not disrupt them at all! I am happy to share with you, and other TripAdvisor readers, that the construction company assured us that the noisiest part of the construction project was completed a few months ago. Thus, the quietness that you experienced during your stay will continue.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent visit to Vancouver! If I can be of any assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me at aliya@hamptoninnvancouver.com or 604-605-1455.

Best Regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was my third stay at this hotel. I booked a room with a full kitchen as I was in town for 9 days of business meetings. I really enjoy the homey feel of the rooms. They were extremely clean. Things were exactly where you needed them - e.g., a nice light in front of the bedroom closet. There is a night light in the bathroom (attached to the hair dryer). The beds are extremely comfortable. I usually don't sleep well when I travel, but I had great sleep in this hotel. The kitchen is well supplied. I was provided with two bottles of water each day. I'm a female traveling alone and I felt extremely safe. You need your room key to get to any of the floors (as well as into the parking garage). I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great service and help with things to do and see in the area. Front desk staff were very patient with our questions and very helpful with recommendations. Easy access to Robson street and GasTown (however would not recommend walking back to hotel after dark from GasTown - rough patch on the way with some rough looking characters). As other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast area is tight in the mornings however the breakfast is free so its not a big deal. Tip - walk a few short blocks towards the water and take a water taxi over to Granville Island - great way to get there and very affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side back up to construction site - which can get a little noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were traveling through on our bikes, and stopped at the Visitor's Center at the US/Canada border and they booked our room here at the Hampton Inn. It was the ONLY hotel in downtown Vancouver that had any availability because it was a holiday weekend. The room was a bit pricey. But, if you want to be within walking distance of downtown Vancouver, it's worth it! There are bike trails and walking trails all over along the water. Close to great shopping and great food! They also have a good breakfast buffet, but go early because it gets packed after 8:00!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We travel a lot and are quite picky. My husband and I were very pleased with this hotel. It is within walking distance of Yaletown and Gastown restaurants and shopping. Since we were new to the area, we were at the desk quite often asking for advice. The staff was very, very helpful in providing recommendations.
The complimentary breakfast was better than at a usual Hampton Inn. The workout and spa area has a nice view from the top floor.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor in a corner room...beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellefson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at the Hampton on Robson for 3 "reward" nights recently.
The lobby and breakfast area are compact, so both can seem crowded at times.
Front desk staff, and all staff in general were always very friendly and helpful.
The (2) elevators are quite slow.

They gave us an executive corner room on a high floor. I highly recommmend this room option. The size was huge and the layout is "L" shaped with floor to ceiling windows completely covering both walls. The view is OK, but those windows are awesome.

**Room features**
Overall decor - nice ambience
Safe - yes
Coffee & tea - yes, free
Microwave and fridge - yes
Umbrella provided - yes
Bed - Very comfortable
Bathroom - Spacious and clean. The hot tub was very tricky to fill (controls difficult) and was tricky to take a shower in.
Room AC and ventilation - Temperature was easy to modulate, but the fan speed would only go at full blast, which was so strong it moved the curtains. Staff told us that was the characteristic of that room type.
TV - Nice big flat screen with a multitude of channels.
Soundproofness - wow, is there anybody else at this hotel....it was soooo quiet, especially with the door so far from the bed in it's own entrance area. The room door is also very heavy and has special gasketing.

**Leisure and Fitness**
There's a great big leisure area on the top floor with fitness equipment, games room, sauna and pool.

**Bonus stuff**
A guest laundry with quite a few machines

**Breakfast**
Breakfast was OK and along the lines of a Residence Inn, (styrofoam plates)

What we liked:
- Outstanding room (ambience, size, sleep quality, sound proofness and features)
- Leisure facilities
- Feeling of value

To improve:
- Refurbish elevators to high speed type
- Somehow improve the hot tub controls, or remove/replace the hot tub (so 80's)
- Change the ventilation in the Exec room to allow different fan speeds
- Take the breakfast up a notch to match the rest of the hotel experience

Conclusion: The room and the leisure facilities (along with the convenient location) makes the Hamtpon a good choice.

Room Tip: Executive corner rooms are very quiet and have floor to ceiling windows on 2 walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family and I stayed at this property for one week and had a great experience. Every member of the staff helped us enjoy our daily activities. They were very knowledgeable and gave us excellent recommendations. The staff was very friendly and truly seem to enjoy their job.

Thank you so much for the great service!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,583 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £117 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing