We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with service and lack of courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We almost always stay at hilton properties, my husband stayed here last Nov (I couldn't make it) and got upgraded to a Gorgeous high floor corner suite with jacuzzi, we went for our anniversary and, not only did they never say anything about our anniversary despite it being in their notes from my phone reservations, but they booked us in a room with 2 queens instead of a king, I understand if they were busy no upgrade was possible but we spend a lot of money on hilton and are honors members. Even though I made the reservation, at check-in the person behind the counter only spoke to my husband. Very rude for a young lady of 20 or so to just assume they should speak to the husband and ignore the wife. When we got to our room, there was one little chocolate on the nightstand and barely enough towels for 2. Only after a note to the maid with gratuity did we get towels for 2. If there are 2 beds, there should at least be towels for 2 people. Also, breakfast was out of several things including eggs, bananas, pastries, hash brown potatoes. Bummer Hilton let us down this time. The rest of our anniversary in the are was spectacular, but this was the first impression after arriving at the airport post 14 hrs of travel. A smile would have been a nice way to greet us. The hotel we stayed at for the rest of our stay in Vancouver was beyond our expectations and will be our choice the next time we come here. Hampton also sent us a survey, in which I mentioned every thing above, and Hampton never responded. I thought they had a 100% satisfaction guarantee. How are you supposed to be satisfied when your are not treated with courtesy, I'm not looking for a refund, because we did sleep well, but a customer service response to my comments would have been nice. Not what we expect from hilton properties at all. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you don't care about front desk service the rooms on the high floors are nice. There is no po...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CMF568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear CMF568,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with fellow travellers. I am so disappointed that we left a poor impression on you and your husband, especially on what was to be such a special celebration. I assure you, this is not an accurate representation of our hotels service standards and had we known of your anniversary, we definitely would have shared in your celebrations.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the service lapse experienced by you and your husband. I assure you, the young lady who checked you in was most definitely not trying to segregate based on sex and I sincerely apologize if this is the impression she left.

Each guestroom has 4 sets of towels, including 4 bath towels, 4 face towels, 4 hand towels and 1 bath mat. We do clean all sheets and towels after every guest; whether they were used or not. As our desire for an environmentally friendly hotel exists, while still upholding to our cleanliness standards, we limit the number of towels we place in our guestrooms to the aforementioned amounts. However, a need for more towels can always be accommodated by calling our front desk.

CMF568, it is heartening to see that we have loyal and concerned guests like yourselves who are as committed to a high level of service as we are and I apologize again that this was not what was experienced during this last stay.

I have messaged you privately asking you to kindly contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations, and we hope that if ever your travels bring you back to our city, you allow us the opportunity to do so. Again, I can be reached by either calling 604-605-1455 or aliya@hamptoninnvancouver.com.

Thank you again. I look forward to hopefully speaking with you further.

Warm Regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
604-605-1455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,902)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent 4 nights here in June 2014 and found the hotel to be well located near shops, food and facilities. We had a suite which was very spacious, room was clean and everything in good working order. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We use Hampton Inn a lot as they are reasonably priced, pretty consistent, and we know what to expect. Plus the points add up. This is a first rate Hampton Inn. Great location, good rooms, better than most breakfast. The front desk, and service in general is great. They have a free shuttle which you can reserve to go to various locations. They also provide bicycles for free, for up to 3 hours. This is as good as it gets for this class hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ztaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

It's the staff that make this hotel. Yes it's in a good location, clean and with really comfy beds but the staff go above an beyond and that's what made our stay. We needed to confirm tour bookings and they did this with us barely having to ask. They helped us book another trip and recommended other things to see in the city in such a friendly way and nothing seemed too much effort. You're welcome to take your breakfast back to your room and the whole hotel is just lovely and laid back. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here a week ago, I agree w other reviews that this is an above average Hampton Inn. We were there to see a concert at the Rogers Arena and it was an easy 10 minute walk. Also easy access to downtown shopping, Water Street, and the metro transportation - so if you fly into Vancouver don't take a taxi to the hotel like we did the first night - take the SkyTrain and walk a few blocks to the hotel. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn style. They could use a bigger breakfast area - gets crowded in the morning with cruise guests etc. The crew at the front desk were helpful in providing directions and referrals on where to dine. Overall a great place; we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VentureswithVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Convenient location. The complimentary breakfast helped save on some of our food costs. The room was pretty standard. But then again, we weren’t staying in our room for most of our trip in Vancouver. Self-parking with in/out privileges was $24/day which seemed pretty reasonable. A really great feature of the hotel is that they have a complimentary shuttle bus service that will drop you off anywhere in downtown. (The driver does accept tips, though.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacopork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear jacopork,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Downtown Vancouver, a great stay at a great value is what we do! Our hotel prides itself in providing unparalleled value such as our complimentary shuttle bus service, hot breakfast buffet, WiFi Internet, bicycle rentals, bottle water, 24 hour coffee/tea service and rooftop fitness and games facility. I am so pleased that you were able to use some of these complimentary services while visiting and do hope you’ll get to enjoy the others on your next trip here.

Thanks again!

Warm regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
604-605-1455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An above average Hampton in a great location. We had two very clean rooms near each other and used this as a base to explore Vancouver for 2 days before a cruise. The hotel van dropoffs were very helpful (they are dropoffs only so you need to plan your own return) we got dropped off one day at Canada place and the next at Granville Island. Vancouver was a great city to walk around and easy to navigate. The front desk service was extremely good and provided us great directions as we walked to Yaletown for dinner both nights (about 5-10 minute walk). The frontdesk and other reviews had mentioned construction - we saw few signs of it, and the restaurant on the 1st floor had reopened just prior to our arrival, although we didn't try it. The 16th floor serves as the gym and also the gameroom so there were times when the gym was overrun by kids - folks seemed to use the gameroom as babysitter - it would be nice to have these separated. Also had some large groups staying here before cruise and so getting behind them in breakfast area meant you might not be able to sit together (or sit at all sometimes) - seating is sparse during the peak breakfast times. Overall a very nice hotel in a great part of Vancouver - I would (or will) stay here again when in Vancouver....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeking_direction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,594 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £125 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing