We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel enhanced a great trip to Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hotel enhanced a great trip to Vancouver”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel. It had a great location, and we were able to walk pretty much anywhere in Vancouver (Granville Island, Robson shopping, Chinatown). The hotel was close to downtown, but the immediate neighborhood was quiet, which I liked.
The staff was friendly, and the hotel had some extra touches which made it stand apart from a typical Hampton Inn. I liked that they provided an umbrella and bottled water in the room every day. I also liked the availability of the free shuttle.
Breakfast was pretty typical, but I was turned off that it was only offered until 10 am. This may be a Hampton-wide rule though, because I experienced the same thing in NYC. I like that Hampton offers the breakfast-to-go option; this came in handy on our last day.
The hotel was expensive, but the prices were comparable to other hotels in Vancouver. Not much you can do about that.
I also liked the use of the 16th floor as a gym and balcony. I've experienced hotels where the gym is in a stale windowless room, this was bright and airy. The coin laundry was up there too, with a terrace so you can at least get some air.
I found the temperature in the room difficult to control. If I was warm and lowered the temperature, in a few minutes I would be freezing, and vice versa. This was my only real complaint.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    638
    93
    12
    9
See reviews for
520
620
74
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

When staying in vancouver I've always chosen between Pacific Palisades (which is no longer), a sheraton or a westin. I use to stay at this hampton back quite a few years ago when I was in town a lot. It was a great hotel then and its still a great hotel now. The staff at the front are always so helpful their customer service skills are exceptional.

Since the renos this hotel is really great especially if your taking in a hockey game which is a quick walk down beatty street to the game. Fantastic. The breakfast is a nice treat also!!!

Great comfy, exceptional hotel! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridersfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We traveled by train from the Puget Sound area to see a play in Vancouver in late October. The Hampton is a terrific home base, just a short taxi or Skytrain ride from the central station. It's location next to BC Place and within walking distance of lots of restaurants, theaters, shopping,etc work well for almost any activity. It is a little challenging to figure out where the entrance is, but one way or the other you eventually get in. Front desk service was excellent for check in , check out and for concierge service. We have stayed here before and dining recommendations have always been spot on. At least half a dozen newspapers are complementary each day if you just have to know what is going on in the world. The complementary breakfast is served upstairs from the lobby in a space that could be enlarged for a hotel of this size. The breakfast is a very good upgrade continental, with eggs, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, carbs, juices and coffee. There is a decent enough bar and restaurant in the hotel. The rooms are large and efficiently if not exactly elegantly decorated. Bottles of water and coffee / tea are complementary. Wired and wireless Internet is also complementary although the day we were there it was pretty sluggish. The beds and linens were above average although it loses points for the towels which are not remotely commensurate with this quality of hotel or room rate. Everything was clean and functional, lots of TV channels on flat screens, and nice views. Although this can be a very busy area of town, it is quiet inside the building. Improvements: Already mentioned the towels and while you get a lot of complementary ammenities, it is not an inexpensive place to stay, including nearly 16% taxes and fees ( what the heck is a destination marketing fee and why am I paying it?). But given its overall quality and location it only gets docked a little for value. We have always found Hampton to be a quality operation, if a bit pricy, and this one is no different.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnacoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

To get to the hotel, we took the Airport train all the way and got off at China town and then walked the remaining distance - I believe you can travel to the Rogers Arena which might be a little closer but we couldn’t see the stop on the map. While we were excited to make our first stop in Canada, the distance was a little far and on reflection the hotel was quite a walk from most of the entertainment. The hotel is about 10mins away from Granville area and right across the road from BC Place and the Rogers Arena - an excellent choice if you plan on seeing an event.

We booked a double queen which was quite spacious and included a large bathroom and separate wardrobe (?) containing a kitchenette. This was a nice touch although we only used the fridge and ate out most of the time. The view from our room (9th floor) was awesome and you could see right into the BC Place stadium which is currently having some work done to add a retractable roof. We stayed over a weekend and the noise from the workmen was only noticeable on the Monday Morning. Being at the end of Beatty Street it was quite out of the distance but it meant that street noise was at a bare minimum and we always got a good night’s sleep. Free wireless internet in the room is a bonus although a given in a hotel of this type and assisted in our planning for the day ahead.

Maid Service didn’t arrive too early in the morning which is a positive for the night owls and each morning they provide complimentary papers and bottles of water in addition to new towels. It is satisfying to receive double-towels for that night time shower given that most hotels are now restricting their linen arrangement.
The decor was welcoming (although I wasn’t that bothered) and the beds were super comfortable - exactly what I needed after many days of walking the city. When turning the A/C off I couldn't help but notice an odour in the room. I can't remember if I had specifically asked for a non-smoking room but there was definitely that type of smell in the air.

Breakfast was the usual buffet arrangement with scrambled eggs and waffles provided most mornings in addition to a meat item and the common cereal and juice/tea. I don't remember seeing a set restaurant in the building as we ate out each night.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly consider it again when I visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TechGuy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The hotel is perfect, location is amazing right across from BC Place. The breakfast is great. Stayed for a week in September 2009 and loved it, would be happy to return

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetatravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The wife and I stayed here as part of a four night stay in Vancouver. The location cannot be beat, as you are proximate to everything you could want to do in Vancouver proper, and traffic is light in the immediate area. Once the remodel is finished, you are within walking distance of a Lions, Whitecaps, or Canucks game. The free breakfast is standard Hampton fare, and it ends at 10 a.m. sharp.

There is an attention to detail involving the property that is lacking at many other Hampton Inns. There are some nice touches of hospitality, including the fact that we were provided a complimentary umbrella as part of the room, and two complimentary bottles of water daily (not just on the first day of our trip). The internet connection is free and adequate as well. The views from the upper floors are terrific, and the 16th floor exercise facility and laundry have great views of the city as well (setting aside the fact that this is a terrible use for this floor). The Do Not Disturb button and master power switch (typically only found at non-North American hotels) were nice touches as well. Rooms are spacious overall.

You must have a room key to operate the elevator and enter and exit the garage, a problem for the absent minded. (But not unreasonable, in my opinion.)

The bathrooms are great. Plenty of space, roomy counter tops and no shortage of hot water. The lighted make up mirror was a nice extra as well.

The rate was not horrible considering the location.

Multiple free newspapers are available, including both local papers, the USA Today, the Seattle Times, the Globe and Mail (which gets delivered to your room) and the National Post (if you are in need of extra toilet paper, I suppose).

Room service is adequate, but service is very prompt.

Air conditioning works well in these units.

Some negatives of note:

You will never, ever find the entrance to the hotel if you are coming from the northeast on Beatty Street. The signage is non existent. Your GPS unit will drop you in the wrong place as well.

There is no valet, though there is an arrangement for one.

Front desk staff could best be described as adequate to slightly curt.

The room furnishings look cheap, even for a Hampton. They are new and will not age well (our dresser had a broken handle). This also goes for the mattress, though it was of the relatively soft firmness that I like, this was because the mattress is giving due to age.

The business center is not free, abnormal for a Hampton and rather annoying when you have to print directions.

And the home remodeling junkie in me can only laugh at the sad attempt at crown molding in the room.

Overall, I'd recommend it. It's at least even with the competition up the street and if you're a Hilton Honors person, it's good enough to choose on the basis of continuing to earn points.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of October 2010. It was a wonderful experience. The room was very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They allowed me to check in earlier and gave me a room immediately because they had one ready. I had a microwave oven and a fridge which was handy for my takeaway meals. There is a very nice retaurant conveniently located on the ground floor of the hotel and they deliver meals to the room when you order. I was attending a conference at the Canada Place Convention Centre and the hotel offered me a free shuttle bus every morning and to whatever other location I wanted to go to downtown as many times as I wanted to go. Also had free hot breakfast (limited choice but good all the same) and free internet. And all this for under $160.00 per night! In addition the hotel is walking distance to many of the restaurants and shops in downtown Vancouver. None of my colleagues attending the conference had such a good deal. No downsides for me, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OyBO2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,553 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,416 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing