We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Average Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Stayed at this hotel as part of a rail vacation package. Not exactly fancy but the rooms were clean and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gringita_ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2007

Nice hotel right at downtown. Stayed there for 2 nights to attend a wedding. Paid about $179 per night. Didn't use any facilities. If is not for the wedding, would probably opt for other locations not in downtown since we rented a car anyways. (to save a few dollars)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NayKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

The holiday inn in downtown vancouver is my favourite hotel to stay in downtown vancouver. It has many facilities included in it including a pool, fitness centre, and restaurant. My first stay I got an executive room on the 6th floor with king size bed, sofa and tv. My second stay I got a room with a murphy bed, kitchenette and bathroom with shower only. The view from the room wsa great as it was a corner room with floor to ceiliing windows. The staff at this hotel are excellent and I will be staying here again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We opted for this hotel for its location to Stanley Park and Gas Town. I was shocked when I went to make a call and it stated on the phone that local calls were .95. I have never been charged for local calls before. "Anything to pick my pocket" fee!! I guess the $179.00 we paid per night isn't enough to cover these types of costs. Anyhow, the hotel is alright, but I'm not sure I would stay here again though. There is not enough available parking, so if you get a stall, keep it and use a cab. We dined one night in the hotel restaurant. We each had a drink, both had a dinner and we shared a dessert. Our bill was $72.00, and we both left hungry!!! Went upstairs and ate potato chips. The portions are very small, My steak was small and I had an ice cream scoop of potatoes, and about 5 sprigs of aspharagus. That's it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank I_Love_Grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

very central to all in Vancouver Hotel clean & tidy, city tour bus stops outside.
worth going to capilano can be done on the public transport, local ferry than bus.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsbunny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Stayed here on two separate nights with a gap in the middle for our trip to the beautiful Victoria.

Both nights were Priority Club reward nights (i.e. free) and, unusually for such redemptions, we were given a suite. For us Europeans this suite was on the large side (see pics) with all the amenities you could wish for, less a minibar (which I found quite strange).

The hotel itself seemed very busy and the first night of our stay we ate a bar snack (we arrived quite late). The waiter was very accomodating if a little rushed off his feet, poor chap!

We found the pool but weren't staying at this hotel so we could swim. The hotel was within reasonable walking distance of main downtown (around 15 minutes), plus around 5-10 minutes away from the trendy Gastown restaurants.

The service was excellent and we would consider staying here again, although I have the feeling there is probably somewhere better for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JayPDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Vancouver June 29 and 30 leading off the Canada Day weekend. It was a spur of the moment trip from our home in Tacoma, WA; we booked only 3 nights in advance, and it was Canada's national day... so we weren't surprised to pay CDN$159 per night. We were surprised, however, that for $159 our room had only a murphy bed, the kind that folds into a wall. Of course, the hotel was full and there were no other rooms.

To the hotel's credit, the room did have a kitchenette, but we didn't need that so we used the kitchen space to store our suitcases and the barstools that had to be moved there in order to open the bed.

Shower was very small and difficult to maneuver in and juggle soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. Bathroom was very clean.

Our end of the hotel was clean and quiet, although it is a bit confusing to navigate. There are multiple elevator banks that stop on slightly different levels - sometimes between levels so you still have to walk up or down short flights of stairs to get to/from rooms.

Great open terrace on the second floor to socialize, smoke, and people watch. There were families playing card games. Hikers resting tired feet. Couples. Young and old. A great mix. Great location close to Granville Island, Robson Street, and Davie Street. No shortage of restaurants, bars, and entertainment in walking distance. And for us, the biggest plus was a Starbucks on the opposite corner.

The garage is convenient, under the building. A tight squeeze for a mid-size pickup.

My main advice: make sure you know what type of room you are reserving before you confirm. If I had known we'd be in a murphy bed, I would have considered paying $30 or $40 more at another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TacomaGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
709 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
1,748 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £105 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing