We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Nice Room, Huge TV, Less Expensive than Others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Phoenix
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Nice Room, Huge TV, Less Expensive than Others”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Excellent location downtown, a quiet location, 1 block from major street of Davies and hippie street Granville. Also about -5 blocks from Skytrain Metro. I walked on Davies St. to Englishbay beach, about 10-15 blocks, but buses and taxi abound.

Nice Room, with Huge TV,

Less Expensive than others in area.

Room Tip: Get room above 4th floor for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madstrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    387
    232
    72
    54
See reviews for
196
296
85
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Breakfast - at the restaurant - nothing to write about, the selection is not great.
Room - spacious, however hot water takes more than 2 minutes to come on in the shower, wifi connection was poor in the room.
Bed uncomfortable.
Agree with previous reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexfridman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear alexfridman,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was adequate for our stay but nothing special. Room was a bit dated and not particularly clean and it had a slightly odd layout. Location is reasonable but immediate neighbourhood seemed a bit sleazy at times.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank markle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Good afternoon markle1

Thank you for taking the time to provide us valued feedback from your stay. I am sorry that your experience was not more pleasant and memorable. I will bring your comments up to Housekeeping.
Vancouver like many major cities does have characters in some parts. I hope this did not impact your experience of the city as it has so many wonderful attractions and sites.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

From reading the reviews I can only assume there is a wide range of rooms styles and sizes that might account for some people being disappointed with this property. Our room was large, clean and obviously newly renovated. The carpet was brand new and everything was spotless. We had a king bed with a pullout sofa in a small sitting area. While the balcony overlooked a back alley, at least it was quiet.

The bathtub/shower and toilet were separate from the sink/vanity area, which I think works well. The bathroom was small and the tub was older, but it was clean.

The location is perfect - right on the border of downtown and the West End.

The lobby area is great. They have used the space well and it was a great place to sit with my morning Starbucks to read the paper.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinpaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Good day travellinpaddler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. As you noted with the Summer weather it makes for the ideal time to enjoy a Starbucks coffee either from our restaurant or across the street and sit outside and enjoy the sites and sounds of Vancouver.
We hope you will come back and visit us again when you are in Vancouver.

Warm regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great location in Downtown, easy access to all public transportation, walking distance to an enormous amount of cafes and small restaurants. Good customer service. Breakfast is $10 per person and absolutely Not worse it. Choices are very limited, quality desires to be better. Hotel advertises Free Wi-Fi, good luck getting connection in the room, however in the lobby works really well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmogirl-la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I am from Vancouver Island and anytime I am going to Vancouver I stay at the holiday inn on Howe st. It is easy to get to and is close to everything.
But I will not be returning for my next trip. The past two times I have stayed have been awful. When I stayed in March out room was dirty (vomit in the bathroom) and we were on a floor where a sports team was staying and it was loud all night a s received many knocks at our door from our neighbors. Later in re evening when we arrived back at the hotel from our event we went to the vending Machine and were greeted rudely by the night staff and told to get back to our room immediately. We left out stay with a bad taste in our mouth from that but we had already booked our next stay with them and decided to give them one last chance.
This stay was for a concert. We arrived at the hotel/ checked in and were getting ready when a housekeeping staff walks into our room. We were a bit surprised but we didn't complain. As we were about to leave for our concert A STRANGE MAN walks into our room. He didn't speak English well he shows us his keys and they had out room number on it(they ha checked him into our room one night early...we still don't believe how this happens). He was shouting that it was his room. As one girl calls the front desk the man is still in our room and wouldn't leave. The front desk simply said sorry mean while we were left to get the man out of our room. No one came to the room to help us.
We were told to just pick up new keys when we returned. We had to demand to have our keys before leaving for our night out.
If this all wasn't enough to never return, the next morning around around 9am another housekeeping staff walks into our room as my friend is getting out of the shower. (Do they not knock??)
I will not return to this hotel. It is expensive approx.$260.00 for a very basic out dated room for a single night. Dirty as I experienced in March. And as a young female going to the city I defiantly do not feel safe at this hotel after 3 people walked into my room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kallyhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Good day Kallyhun,

My sincere apologies for your experience with us this past June. I realize I cannot change the negative impression that was left on you from previous experiences however as I mentioned when we spoke, please feel free to contact me when you are next coming back to Vancouver so I can ensure your experience is a positive one.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Nashik India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We returned from an enjoyable Alaska cruise about 9.30 a.m. We were not given a room till four in the afternoon. We could not organise the day properly because of this inconvenience. We were not informed about this fact when we booked our cruise and the rocky mountain train journey. We were supposed to leave early next morning at 6.30 a.m.to board the train.
We were surprised to see many guests were hanging around for their rooms.
Staff was not friendly at all.
After an enjoyable holiday on board a cruise ship this was really a come down.
Those who are responsible for booking this hotel should make sure the guests are not inconvenienced

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudhi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Good day Sudhi_9

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. I am sorry that you were not advised that our check in time is 4:00pm. Our goal is to get our guests checked into the rooms they book in a timely fashion prior to 4:00pm. Cruiseship season is wonderful and creates a busy time for hotels and we try to balance the departure time of noon and the early arrivals. I sincerely apologize we were unable to get you in sooner.
Occasionally during this time some guests like to store their luggage with us and book a sightseeing tour. I hope you enjoyed your overall experience of Vancouver and the Alaskan tour.

Best regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 90 in Vancouver
678 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 90 in Vancouver
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#78 of 90 in Vancouver
1,699 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 90 in Vancouver
3,665 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing