We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean room, very comfortable beds, courteous staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“clean room, very comfortable beds, courteous staff, great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked a family room for a one night stay. 3 adults. Courteous staff at check-in, because our SUV is taller than the 6 foot height limit to the underground garage, we were directed to their special secure parking garage at the rear entrance of the building. We were met there by a hotel employee, who opened the large gate. We were told that the parking space was good until the next day at 6 pm ! Pretty good deal if you want to discover downtown on foot. The room was spacious and the two queen beds clean and comfortable, super nice pillows ! The bathroom (tub/toilet) was separate from the sink, which we all appreciated. The sliding doors opened onto a small balcony with a view of downtown. We did not mind the traffic sounds. There is an excellent heating/cooling unit in the room that is much quieter than most hotels we have stayed at. This "family room" had an additional, separate, cozy/small room with a single bed. I was concerned that this was going to be like a "cot", but we were very surprised to find a nice thick regular mattress. Very comfortable for somebody under 5 foot 10. We were on the 5th floor and there are a number of elevators to chose from to find your way to the lobby or the pool, the directions are posted very clearly and you cannot get lost. The hotel lobby is spacious and inviting with a lounge and restaurant area all located on the same level. The breakfast and dinner menus looked great but we ended up eating somewhere downtown while we were out shopping. All three of us agreed this was a good hotel, it was nicer than we had expected and we will stay here again. The location is very central, close to the business hub of downtown the courthouse etc. It is a very easy walk to all the major malls downtown and Robson street. But It may be too much for some people to walk to the Waterfront, Denman St, China town or Gastown. A note addressed to all the people who complained about the pool in the past: it is clean and it was open during our stay.

Room Tip: When traveling with a family: family room 535 is where we stayed. 2 queen beds and a separate small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garden-witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    381
    232
    70
    53
See reviews for
194
289
84
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Spent 2 nights here while playing the tourist. From the hotel's location I could walk everywhere: to the Rogers Center for a hockey game, to the Hormby ferry dock for the Granville Island aquabus, to the harbor/convention center/Canada Place sights (Fly Over Canada virtual show). As others have said, the lobby is bright, modern and clean. Dennis at registration was professional & helpful to the max: finding me an available room prior to the 4 p.m. check in, giving me complimentary internet tickets for the business center, storing my baggage after checkout and before departure, calling for a taxi, providing me with a tourist map and overall showing that he cared about being in the hospitality business. The concierge, Cori, located in the center of the lobby is a fount of local knowledge and her good vibrations add to the hotel's overall ambiance. My room with a single queen was somewhat small but completely remodeled & clean & very quiet. I had 1 breakfast downstairs and it was reasonably priced and capably put together (fruit, garden omelette, english muffin & coffee), with efficient table service. There is an adequate & clean 24/7 fitness room where I was able to get a light workout in & a 24/7 pool which is also clean although not as heated as it could be. The "business center" is just 1 pc located on the 2nd floor landing it's hit or miss whether it's available. To sum up, for the money it's a good, friendly, centrally located hotel with decent amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thank you for a great stay! I was there for a meeting and the staff were nothing less than fantastic. Met Arlie in the bar and we spoke about our travels, and how he frequents Hong Kong. We chatted very comfortably and saw him the next day with the same friendliness. Was booked into a room with a King Size bed, was such a good night sleep. Went swimming in the pool very cool pool, in between meeting rooms and a huge whale painted in the pool.
Close to Downtown, shopping and skytrain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

When we first checked in here, we were pleasantly surprised by the bright lobby and bar, the professional front desk personnel, the very friendly bartender and ice cold draft beers plus our room overlooking Howe Street. Although our bathroom was small, the room was well-appointed and comfortable. The location of the hotel put it within reasonable walking distance of most of what downtown Vancouver has to offer.
However, when my brother and his family arrived, things began to go downhill. While in the car waiting for my brother to check-in, a young man staying at the hotel decided to go outside and throw up right beside their car, which was parked in the hotel driveway! Then, they were given a rather small room with a view over some very seedy buildings and across from the suspect "spa". My niece was initially afraid to touch anything. Because it was for only one night, they decided to stick it out.
After our afternoon and evening out exploring Vancouver, we returned at 10:30 to attempt a good night's sleep before our early departure for the airport. Unfortunately that was also the time that our neighbors and many others decided to amp up the party in their rooms, in the hall outside our room and generally all over the hotel, or so it sounded. Even covering our heads with pillows did not completely muffle the noise. It went on until after 1. We are still not sure why quiet hours are not enforced in this hotel. Perhaps that is because the hotel caters to large groups, offers lower prices than almost anywhere else in Vancouver and does not seem to care whether its transient population ever returns.
On our next visit to Vancouver, and there will be another, we will look elsewhere for our accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Bianca M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Quisco, Chile
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A problem-free stay at another well-run IHG property. Good central location to all downtown venues, attentive staff, free internet. Convenient bar/restaurant in the lobby. The rooms are perhaps slightly on the smallish side, but perfectly serviceable. My only possible complaint is that the layout is somewhat sprawling, and it is easy to get turned around / confused because of there being two parking garages / towers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked this hotel through a travel site that told us we would have 2 double beds and a pull out couch for our family of 5. When we arrived we were told that they did not have a room like that available and that the best they could do was give us some extra blankets to make a bed on the floor in place of the pull our couch. After travelling all afternoon with 3 antsy boys we decided to just stay. We got to our room which was a decent size and looked it clean clean but when we went to freshen up there were no towels in the bathroom which I had to call front desk for. Our boys had energy to burn so they changed into their swim suits and headed to the pool. They were back quickly though as they were not allowed in the pool as it was broken, another disappointment. We calmed the kids down and I took one of my sons down to the lobby area to the little snack bar. I was greeted rather rudely by the overwhelmed waitress/hostess/cashier who clearly needed someone else helping her. After waiting over 5 minutes for help we decided on a couple brownies and were then told it was $6.50 for 1 pre wrapped, dry looking brownie. We instead got some beverages and a couple of cookies and headed back to our room. On our way back we walked over a mezzanine that overlooked the pool where it was clear why it was closed, poop in the pool, yuck! I know that it is not the hotels fault someone pooped in it but it seems that they could have at least scooped it out of the pool instead of letting it sit there to turn the water murky. When I arrived back at our room my husband was looking frustrated as he had been trying to get the air conditioner to turn on and it would not. Apparently it was stuck on warm and we ended up turning it off and opening our window to get the room to cool down. We couldn't even use the "fan" setting on the unit as it just blew warm air. With the window open the noise from the street below didn't allow our kids to sleep as the sounds of garbage being thrown out by restaurants, sirens and the odd person yelling was a little too much. Add to that the smell from greasy food being cooked and it was not pleasant. I eventually downloaded a background noise app on my phone and we fell asleep listening to the sound of crashing waves, if only they had been real and the warmth was from the sun. Never returning here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyForAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Good day BeautyForAshes,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that your stay went so wrong. Regarding the booking we do have family rooms at the property which have two queen beds and then a small nook room with a single bed. These rooms do sleep five. Given the vast number of sites available to book through these days feel free to contact the property to have one of our team members review the booking.
The pool unfortunately did have to be put out of order for the appropriate treatment steps to take effect. It is unfortunate that this results in nobody being able to use the pool however necessary in this case.
Your review touches on points that were preventable. This room should not have been rented to your family given the lack of attention it received. Your review has been brought to the attention of our departments to address so we can improve our service and operations.
I apologize for your experience and would like to speak with you further if you have the opportunity. Please feel free to contact me: tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm usually not too hard to please. And, in several respects, this hotel was wholly adequate. The place looks nice enough, the neighbourhood is fine, the room was clean (but quite small), and the staff was friendly. So, why a two star review you say? Well, one of the things you spend a great deal of time doing in a hotel is sleeping (at least once you're my age anyway) and the beds at this hotel were unbearable. I had paid in advance for two nights, with no refund, and I seriously considered going to a different hotel after the first night. The beds feel like a sheet stretched over a piece of plywood.

The pool is clean enough, but very strongly chlorinated and pretty small. The room is tiny and is an echo chamber. Lastly, on our second morning the housekeeper was banging on our door at 8:20 in the morning and again less than an hour later. With beds this poor, when you finally do get some sleep being awoken by tapping on your door well before check out is bothersome. I wouldn't return until the beds were replaced -- and I'd want a test drive!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Good day Callicles,

Thank you for sharing your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the mattress in your room. We did replace the beds during our renovations in 2012 and 2013 so it is disappointing that you did not find it comfortable. While the comfort of beds is unique to each of us I would be happy to look at the mattress in the room you stayed in to see if there is a particular issue.
Please feel free to contact me: tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com

Best regards

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing