We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family value downtown Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After a fortnight sightseeing we needed a base to say farewell to all our friends in Vancouver. With funds now decidedly stretched travelling as Grandparents, Daughter and Grandchild we opted for a family room at the Holiday Inn. Things of course are never straightforward with us as we also had a huge bike box as well as regular luggage.We were all very impressed with this budget style hotel from the "meet and greet" to our spacious room with an annexe, what a bonus, to a very practical entrance complete with bar and snack zone and to top that a great swimming pool much to the Grandaughters delight. It really was the ideal location to wind down and take stock after a frantic and phonetic fortnight. A great travelling trip by the way is to book those first three weeks of June before the children break up it saved us an absolute fortune as per 100 dollars a day for a Campervan and big discounts on accomadation and by the way if travelling north the bear population is just out of hibernation and our Bear count was 10 Black and one Grizzly - go for it wanderful location, stunning, friendly Country

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Good day nigel w,

Thank you for the great feedback of the hotel and the area. It sounds like you really enjoyed the visit over from the United Kingdom. It was a pleasure having you and your family here.

Warm regards,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

A couple of weekends ago I visited Vancouver for the time and stayed at this hotel for one night on 6/14/14 until 6/15/14. The room we stayed in was awesome and our overall stay was satisfactory. Masa was especially very friendly and helpful. However, our stay was marred by the incredibly loud disturbances overheard in our hallway and also from outside on the street from midnight until 4AM on Saturday night. We got absolutely no sleep and were forced to experience 2 rowdy, vociferous and violent fights directly in front of the hotel’s green Holiday Inn sign. We stay at least 50 nights in hotel rooms annually and understand some noise may be encountered but we have never been exposed to ferocity overheard and overseen from our room window on Saturday night. Both violent occurrences lasted well over twenty minutes.

The first fight we loudly heard a man screaming in the face of a woman “Eff you” over 50 times and being repeatedly held back from trying to punch and grab her! My girlfriend was afraid that a murder or rape was about to occur. The 2nd fight outside of the hotel and loud disturbances in the hallway were almost as equally loud and expletive laden also. My girlfriend made a call to the front desk to request ear plugs and was coldly told your hotel had none. After the 2nd fight she called again to report it and the front deskman just said it should go away by 3:30AM and offered no assistance.

We were definitely traumatized from this frightening experience and I know the other guests in the hotel, especially children, clergy members, elderly people or those not accustomed “common” city fierce, loud, and drunken commotions were disturbed far worse. I urge you to invest in more soundproof doors and windows, hire capable security to prevent, break up fights or at least quickly alert law enforcement so that these alarming fights stop consistently occurring in front of your hotel. Our preference is to see and admire spectacular architecture and city lights versus violence and savagery when we look out a hotel window. Front desk personnel need to offer assistance to guests who request relief from barbaric, profanity filled and menacing conflicts.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room here if you cherish sleep and don't like raucous disturbances througho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiiingB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Good day KiiingB,

I am sorry for the experience on June 14th. Unfortunately the convenience of being centrally located in the downtown core can be impacted based on the external actions of others. The City hosts many great events that bring thousands of people to the City. When there are situations happening off property our staff will call the Police. From there the Police respond as they can and in part based on the level of threat.
These events do not go without action and I apologize if that was not explained by our team. We work firstly to ensure the safety of our guest's and staff and call on the Police to handle matters over and above.

Sincerely,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just attended a 4 day conference at this hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable and have been newly updated. The room had no fridge which would have been nice to have. Wifi can be slow.

All food served was fresh and very good at all conference breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Great coffee! Staff were friendly and helpful. This was a great place to host a business conference or just to stay at.

For larger vehicle parking (4 door full size trucks) it is extremely tight in underground parking..normal for downtown but just to be aware of.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you Daphne D,

Really pleased you enjoyed the conference. We are working on our internet issues and hope to have those resolved soon. Fridges have been ordered to complete the balance of the rooms so next time you visit us from the Island all rooms should have.

Warm regards,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

find this hotel very hand to transport and walking distance to a lot of places. It is clean, tidy, good friendly staff and helpful. Second time we have stayed here and would go back. My only complaint would be the beds...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Good day Dian51,

Hello in New Zealand. Thank you for sharing your review. Overall we are pleased that you would come back however concerned about the bedding in your room. If you can send me a note so I can review the room and see if there is an issue with the particular bed(s)
tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com

Best regards,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in yesterday. Immediately upon our arrival noticed a puddle of.. Something?... On our night stand. Called down to service, they said someone would be right up. Its been 10 hours, still haven't seen that someone, nor heard back from service. We've already booked the next two nights so hopefully it gets better. Will update as the trip continues, for better or worse.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank dustkittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Good day dustkittie,

I hope the balance of your stay was positive. Would be happy to have more information so I can look into the cleanliness of the room based on your first impression. Please feel free to reach me at
tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com

Sincerely,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights, prior to our Rocky Mountaineer Train Trip. Courteous and efficient staff, great room, and very good food at reasonable prices, in the restaurant. Would highly recommend for a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here for two one night stays. Check in was fast and efficient. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly, The room was a little pricey, but this is downtown Vancouver. Nice central location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#39 of 92 in Vancouver
719 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £86 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing