We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy on Granville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Noisy on Granville”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Handy to downtown and St. Paul's where husband had emergency surgery.
Unfortunately my room faced the parking lot and there was a lot of noisy people in parking lot till about 2 am. Then at 3 am a car radio was playing rap music full blast on Granville with several people surrounding car laughing and swearing. I should have had ear plugs!
The room was neat and clean for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen-Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    159
    161
    85
    96
See reviews for
88
188
93
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is decent overall; the location is very central to everything and the neighborhood is not nearly as bad as some other reviewers make it out to be (i.e., the area is not overrun with sex shops). Granville Street is very busy with restaurants, bars, and dance clubs, so if you have a room facing the street, expect noise. Otherwise, our room was decent, clean, and relatively quiet. The staff was pleasant. We didn't spend much time in the room so it was a good deal for us. You can walk to just about any part of downtown rather easily from here.

Our low rating comes from the parking situation at the hotel and the failure on the part of the hotel to inform or accommodate us. The hotel only has a small outdoor lot next to it and it is first come, first serve. When we booked, the amenities specifically mentioned that parking was available. When we arrived, however, the front desk said that no spots were available for the weekend and that we had to find parking elsewhere in the city. The worst part about it was that the hotel staff did not have a backup option to recommend to us. We felt this was very poor customer service and would recommend avoiding this hotel if you have a car. If you must stay here and need overnight parking, the parking structure on Seymour just past Nelson by the Starbucks has covered parking for a reasonable daily rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtoad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Two nights here and little to fault. I read about the nightclub on T.I. So asked for a room on an upper floor and didn't hear a thing,
Room was spacious and modern though we could have used a fridge.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is convenient to all places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor preferably at the back. No view but it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihlava, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in July. Nice hotel in central location. You have access to all of downton. You can walk everywhere or take the Hop on Hop off bus 1min from the hotel. We had a clean room with free Wifi. The staff was a great help with booking local attractions and providing us with tips for local dining. Overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ji_D_13657285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I've stayed at the HoJo twice lately, and it was perfect for what we needed. Very inexpensive considering the location, especially if you book through a site like Trivago. No need to drive or use taxis if you stay here; less than a 10 minute walk to Pacific Centre and the incredible shopping on Robson, and surrounded by a variety of restuarants, pubs, and clubs. The rooms are small and outdated, but very tidy and if you're going for something specific (shopping, clubbing, an event, etc) vs. the "hotel experience", then it's a great place to get ready and then to sleep. MUCH preferred to the Sandman in terms of location, quality, and cleanliness. The staff is very friendly, and they offer free wi-fi. If you're looking for the ice machine, it's on the 1st floor :). Parking is available to reserve; but this hotel is very near the sky train station so you could skip that nuisance altogether if you choose.

Others mention noise from the restuarant downstairs; I was on the second floor on both stays and didn't hear anything. Also, security is very present within the hotel, so be sure to keep it down yourself! If you get a little too loud though they'll knock and offer a polite reminder to please keep it down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayGirl_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed on two occasions recently before and after a cruise. This hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the Skytrain for access to the airport. It is also a short taxi ride from Canada Place cruise terminal. The rooms are clean and functional. Some rooms are spacious, but some are a bit on the small side.
The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, a great source of information for tourists. There is a self service laundry in the hotel. The Wi-Fi worked very well in our rooms.
The hotel is located close to restaurants and bars, and breakfast was easy to obtain close by. There is a night club nearby, but we did not hear any noise from our rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear to avoid any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyBambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing