We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
“Great service”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. It was a great price for downtown hotel and the service was also excellent. The staffs were helpful and knowledgable in giving directions and advices of good places to eat. The price did not include breakfast though. There was a bar next to the hotel, and there would be people coming in to rooms at dawn. My sleeping was quite distracted a little bit by those noises and talks, but I know this was not the hotel's fault. The hairdryer was broken too. However, the staffs were really friendly. They even help us to call AAA when our car was out of battery. The hotel was non-smoking, but there would be people smoking outside the hotel sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Felicia H,
Thank you very much for your review and also thank you very much for staying with us.
It has been an absolute pleasure to help you with the car, I hope it was ok to drive it home.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    160
    166
    85
    97
See reviews for
89
191
95
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for one night not too long ago. First of all, when we checked in, the front desk girl was not friendly or welcoming in any way. We didn't know where to park while checking in so we asked her and all we got in response was a condescending look and a "do you even have a reservation here?". We were then informed that all of their parking spots were sold out for the night. We checked in around 4pm and when booking our room there was no information that parking was limited or that it sells out. We were under the impression that if you reserve a room, you can have a parking space for an extra $25 (which is ridiculous enough), but we ended up having to park many blocks away. Their parking lot consisted of about 10-20 spaces for a hotel with 50+ rooms. Not adequate. The room was decent, fairly cramped but we expected that for a cheaper room in downtown Vancouver. There was a club right across the street that kept us up late, but we expected that too. Other than the service and the parking issue it was okay. Definitely would go with the Best Western next door next time as they have a huge underground parking lot and are known for good customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundTheWorld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your frank review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, even though you experienced problems with parking. We have "very limited" parking and all of the websites that we sell our hotel on, will advise you of that. This is one thing that we are up front about, because we do understand that we do not have enough for everyone and the last thing we want, is to have guests upset when they arrive. Please note, we have 30 spots, not 10. All websites will advise of our parking situation saying either limited parking / which means we do not ahve enough for everybody/ or parking nearby / which means there is a parking lot near by/. Hotels.com and Expedia says parking nearby, meaning in next 2 blocks, $ 25 fee. Please note, none of the hotels around us have enough parking, Ramada and Comfort Inn have the same sitation as us. We used to have a lot of parking, but now we have new residential building beside us, that used to be a parking lot and the amount of parking is very limited. City counsel is approving more density in our lovely city and soon we will probably don't have any parking lots at all and only new hotels build in last 20 years will be ok, since they all have underground parking. I'm very sorry we have dissapointed you and do not provide every guest with parking spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This place was in a good location but the service was absolutely terrible. Charged us extra person costs for having people come in the room and get ready with us before going out. Would never go there again. Not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Sandra,
I'm sorry to hear that you do not think that our guest service agents have a good customer service. As per your conversation upon check in, visitor hours are over at 11pm, anybody staying past 11pm, you will be charged extra person fee. Many of our guests come here to sleep, not everybody goes out to party. We do not have problem with your guests coming here to get ready to go out, we only have a problem, when we recieve a phone call from room next door to you at 3 am complaining about loud noise coming from your room and to our surprise we find more guests than just the registered ones in your room, even thought you said, that they are not staying. If your friends left right there and then, you would not be charged, that much was explained to you at night, instead you wanted them to stay over, since they had their luggage with them already anyways and extra charges for extra person has been explained again. The morning front desk clerk has been informed about what happened at night, and I'm sorry to hear, that you think she did not provide you with good customer service, just because she would not take off the extra charges from your account. Your friends checked out at the same time with you, they did stay the night, therefore the extra person charges apply.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I needed a place for the night and this place was one of the cheapest we found. It's an average hotel. Average bed. Average WiFi. Average water pressure. Average service. We'd stay here again, but a couple of caveats...

1. Hotel parking is $20. There was probably street parking, but we were exhausted and didn't even think to ask. If the room price seems very cheap, that might be why.

2. The heat in the room came from a small (10" diameter) space heater with a not too quiet fan. If you like being warm and total silence, it might be an issue. My wife likes silence and doesn't get cold. I like warmth and don't mind noise. Needless to say, I slept in a hoodie.

3. It was Friday night, we were on the 2nd floor and in the back, but there was still some street noise (e.g., young folks yelling). Not enough to keep us awake.

4. There was a vagrant or two walking through the parking lot when we checked in. Typical stuff for a downtown area. Not even kind of dangerous.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yanokwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on our small, boutique hotel. Your review touched on many things that make us a terrific choice for anyone visiting Downtown Vancouver. We do have some challenges being a 100 year old historical building I the centre of a large city. Our rooms can be considered smaller compared to some of the newer, more expensive hotels in the city, but we do have sore spacious rooms and encourage our guests to let us know if there are any issues whatsoever. That being said, our location cannot be beat with close proximity to many attractions and access to all public transit including the Canada Line train to the airport. Our parking fees are exactly the same as any other hotels around us and even if you decided to park on the street, I will guarantee you, that you will end up paying more than $ 19 for your overnight parking. Big condominium building behind us has an entrance from the back alley, many residents cross through our parking lot to get on Granville street, I'm sorry to hear that you thought they are vagrants. As you know, our parking lot is monitored by cameras and we have security to keep an eye on your vehicle also. Hotel is located in downtown and that comes with regular city noises, such as cars passing by, people talking etc. I do understand that sometimes it can be difficult, especially if you live in quiet residential area. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were visiting Vancouver and at the last minute decided to stay an extra night to celebrate new year's. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly--we had to rent tuxedos to attend an event in Vancouver and were not available to drop off the rentals ourselves the next day (Jan 1). The desk manager, Lucia, offered to return them herself and was extremely nice. This topped off an excellent stay in Vancouver and we would definitely stay at the Howard Johnson again because of its close proximity to nightlife and shopping, and the incredible service we received at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear tuxedo boys!
It has been an absolute pleasure to help you and return the tuxedo's! Glad you were able to ring in a New Year in style and we were a part of it! Please come and visit our beautiful city again, perhaps in summer, so you can see it in all it's glory! Happy New Year again, all the best to all of you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Bad area but the staff was very nice. The reception clerks were very helpfull because we ask to change room because of the smell and on a quiet floor. They agreed with pleasure. The local area is not that bad bt still, would not recommand to have a walk at night.

Room Tip: Ask to visit the room before. Smoke odors is current
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanc514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We do our best to ensure all our guests have a great stay at the hotel. Our apologies if you were not fully satisfied with your first room and thank you for bringing it to our attenton. Our hotel is 100% smoke free, we try our best to discourage our customers to even think about smoking with high penalty fees, but unfortunately some customers still do it. I'm very sorry about that and glad that our front desk staff was able to change your room and make your stay happier.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
95 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing