We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad internet, didnt clean” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    158
    159
    85
    94
See reviews for
86
187
93
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a basic room and everything was exactly as expected. The room was small but was used primarily for sleeping. Large flat screen tv and cable which was nice. No microwave and no mini fridge but forgivable as the hotel is within walking distance to 24 hour food options. Location was great and central. Very clean place and courteous staff. Wifi username and password provided at checkin. Affordable place in the heart if the city.

Thanks for the hospitality!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rileyhalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Riley,
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are extremely happy you had a nice stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The location is great en the rooms are big enough. You get what you pay for so don't expect luxery but everything you need is there. It's clean and the staff is friendly. At the weekends it can be a bit noisy because the hotel is in the middle of a busy area.
There is a nice france bakery next door where you can get some breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Linda V,
Thank you very much for your review, and thank you for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed our budget friendly hotel and enjoyed the location and your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here while in Vancouver on business and it was fine for me. If you know Howard Johnson you know basically what to expect. The staff didn't really handle my reservation very well. My boss had booked it and it was a bit of a process to get checked in, as they for some reason didn't seem to trust me even though my name was on the reservation. So, I had to sit in the lobby while we got her on the phone. Not very pleasant given I had just flown in.

The hotel has a nice bar attached to it and is in a good location. Plenty of stuff that you can walk to: restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Getting down into the core of the city is very easy by bus or taxi, so you're really not too far from anything, but this is definitely not in the center of the action (Gaslamp, etc., not walkable).

If you're going to Vancouver on a budget and looking for somewhere that's clean, this would do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear BanhRan,

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us. I'm very sorry about the situation at check in, I tried to research your reservation to find out what exactly happened and how to prevent this from happening to our other guests, but unfortunately I have noticed, that you stayed with us a year ago, and I was not able to pinpoint what exactly happened.
Glad you liked our city and enjoyed your stay here.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here for a New Year's get together, and had excellent service from the front desk. I had rented tuxes for a formal ball that night, and the next day the receptionist offered to return the tuxes of all my friends and I. I have nothing but glowing words for this woman. It is now 4 months later and I still think of all the time and effort this lady saved me. If you're reading this, Brenda, I thank thee.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Princess P,

Thank you very much for your review. And thank you very much for staying with us. It has been an absolute pleasure helping you, we know how hard it is for our guests to get any business done on stat holidays. We are here to serve you and help you and I'm very happy we were able to do that for you and make your stay memorable, because of that.
We hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in March, 2014. My main reason for choosing it was it had a laundry. We had been on Amtrak for 3 days and needed fresh clothes. They put us on the same floor as the laundry and on the back(quiet) side. I also liked the fact that the front desk is open 24 hours, since we arrived after midnight. They were very helpful giving us sightseeing advice such as where to catch our city bus, etc. It is in an excellent location. The only problem and it didn't bother us too much was the heating system-none in the bathroom, except the portable heater for the room. Luckily, it wasn't very cold when we were there. Thanks again to the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Deer Deex9,

It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad to hear somebody is using our washer and dryer!!! Ha ha. Hope you had a nice and uneventful trip home and hope to see you here again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. It was a great price for downtown hotel and the service was also excellent. The staffs were helpful and knowledgable in giving directions and advices of good places to eat. The price did not include breakfast though. There was a bar next to the hotel, and there would be people coming in to rooms at dawn. My sleeping was quite distracted a little bit by those noises and talks, but I know this was not the hotel's fault. The hairdryer was broken too. However, the staffs were really friendly. They even help us to call AAA when our car was out of battery. The hotel was non-smoking, but there would be people smoking outside the hotel sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Felicia H,
Thank you very much for your review and also thank you very much for staying with us.
It has been an absolute pleasure to help you with the car, I hope it was ok to drive it home.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing