We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's downtown...it's cheap for downtown...it's ok but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It's downtown...it's cheap for downtown...it's ok but...”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I grabbed a room at the Days Inn downtown at the last minute as I had a meeting at a clients office in the next block. I had checked people in for my company at the Days Inn during the 1980's and 1990s as it was the most reasonable cost hotel in the downtown core. It still is.

It's old. There is no hiding it. That's not by default a bad thing. It can be charming and mmemorable. They have done a great job to try to keep it retro-ed and updated. But there is only so much you can do. My room was small. Most seem to surround the elevator doors and the noise that comes with middle aged, middle management folks cut loose in the city on an expense account to go to a conference a couple of blocks away at the Trade and Convention Centre can be an issue.

I was in room 303(?) with the bright light outside the window illuminating the front street sign outside my window. Other than being woken up as the post dinner meeting crowd tumbling out of the elevator 3 metres from my door at 11 pm, I woke up repeatedly thinking it was a sunny day in Vancouver as the outside lamp burned holes around the curtains all night. Breakfast cost $20.

I checked out in the AM with a $200 bill (inc breakfast, off season Oct 4 2010). I think that's a deal for the Vancouver downtown core. But I prefer a short Skytrain ride to the burbs and a nicer hotel with big rooms and modern facilities for less than half the price.

If staying downtown is your preference and you are not looking for an epic hotel experience and you are looking to save a few bucks by finding a cheap downtown hotel, the Days Inn is OK. I'm not fussy in hotels. I travel over 200 days a year. Hotels are for me are pure utility. Sleep, food, clean, internet, quiet... at a decent price. Forget the spa and aroma therapy and bed turndown service (I like to lie in bed in my tighty whities watching TV usually when the nice lady knocks on the door to turn down the bed. It's not a pleasant visual. Don't dwell on it).

For $3.75 and a 20 minute Skytrain ride, you'll save a hundred bucks a night and have a great sleep (see my review on La Quinta in Richmond).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoqwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
Oct 08th 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about our hotel, from your busy schedule.
We really appreciate that you remembered our hotel, when you had your people checked into our Hotel during the 1980’s and 1990’s.

Yes our hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the city and has been a hotel since 1918. Major renovations have been done to keep up to the present standard.
The hotel’s proximity to the Vancouver Trade and Convention Centre, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Financial District and all tourist attractions make our hotel a reasonable place to stay.
We are very sorry that you were woken up by the post dinner crowd at 11 pm, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Ish Awan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    430
    313
    127
    61
See reviews for
208
348
131
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and I stayed one night following our cruise. The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodated our early arrival. They were helpful with dining, transportation and area information. Great location for exploring downtown Vancouver. Clean and comfortable. The down points were no views, a window a/c unit, and one small elevator.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaSt_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Hotel is located in a very good part of downtwon. Walking distance from the Vancouver Harbour and English Bay. We only stayed there for one night since we were just roaming around BC. We did not have the chance to try the restaurant downstairs but it look like a very good setup. The lobby is pretty small so after check out and waiting for a taxi there were barelys any seats to wait at. There is no GYM, sauna, etc howevre, there is a YMCA and Steve Nash SSport Centre facility nearby. Again the location was great. it is a block away from Granville Street and they always have lots going on. "we got to see Finger Eleven doing a public presentation" that was neat for anybody that knows FingerEleven. What I did notice that did not like for sure it is how noisy traffic can be downtown and how thin the walls were. We could here people closing and opening doors in the Hallway and the only way to neutralized this was by turning on the AC. Bathrooms were decent. The room overall was very clean and I had two queen beds in the room and we still had room to walk around them. TV was a flat screen. It had a mini fridge and the internet signal strenght was good as well. Finally, for how much I paid for that night I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokksol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Thank you for your reservation with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time while in Vancouver and happy that you liked our rooms. Our restaurant is very well priced and we hope that you will be able to try it next time you are ever in Vancouver. Once again, thank you and hope to have you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We only had one problem with the room, the sink was stopped up. When told of the problem, the front desk sent someone up to try to resolve it. When they couldn't, they gave us another room. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant downstairs provides responsibly priced good food for a quick breakfast before heading out for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugged7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to create a review for us. We hope you had an excellent trip in Vancouver and hope that you got to see many tourist attractions near us. It is our goal to try and resolve any issues our guests may have with the rooms and it is good to hear that you were moved to a more suitable room. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We chose this hotel because of the price and location. The rooms come in all kinds of sizes. Each of our four rooms had a different size and layout. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, helpful and accommodating (we had a very small room by the elevator and requested a change which they granted us). So we all had rooms toward the back of the hotel, away from Pender Street which gave us a quieter night. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable.
Restaurants in all directions from the hotel.
Stanley Park is a nice 1 mile walk away. I would HIGHLY recommend going there and renting bikes.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to Canada Place, but it is so close and downhill, we walked with our luggage in tow.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to take some pictures and writing a review for the hotel. The staff and I definitely appreciate all your nice comments. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay while in our city and look forward to accommodating you in the future if you every choose to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teutopolis, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Hotel was close to the Sky Train and Canada Place where we were able to get on the Hop On Hop Off bus. Currancy exchange a block down the street.
Loved having two rooms with two TVs for each kid!
Only negative I can say is that we could hear all of the noices from outside.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our apologies for the inconvenience oft the noise out side your room.
Thank you, once again for your stay, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

At the end of our month long road trip around British Columbia and Alberta, we chose this hotel for our few days in Vancouver before we flew back to the UK.

The room was compact and the view out of the window was the wall of the building opposite, but it was clean and well decorated, and comfortable.

The staff were very polite and helpful, there was free wi-fi.

The breakfasts were of good quality and value

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorky201024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
May 24th 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and you chose our hotel, to stay few days in Vancouver. We really appreciate you found our hotel to be very clean, comfortable and well decorated.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about our hotel, and we do hope serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
834 reviews
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#40 of 92 in Vancouver
517 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort steps away from Vancouver's stunning Waterfront, the Olympic Torch, Vancouver Convention Centre, Cruise Ship Terminal, American Consulate, Gastown, Railtown, Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. Canada Line (train that connects the airport to downtown)is 3 blocks away. Stanley Park, one of the top urban parks in the world is not far. Free WiFi in all the property and a spacious Business Center on the second floor. Non Smoking Hotel. Keurig coffee/tea in rooms as well as umbrellas, irons and ironing boards. The Chelsea Restaurant opens for breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:30 am and The Butcher & Bullock Pub, from the Donnelly Group, opens from 11 am to 2 am. Come enjoy warm hospitality in a clean, cozy room and explore everything our spectacular City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing