We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Metro
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We researched a lot before going to Vancouver. It seemed everything was more expensive than in the US, so we looked for free parking, free breakfast and an economical room. When we arrived in Vancouver, the area was our first concern. McDonalds is right next door - but who goes to Vancouver to eat at mcD's? There is not a drive to use to check in, so you have to park and access to the parking lot is not easy. The people at the desk were nice and helpful but the quality of the facility is poor, poor, poor. There is not an elevator so access to ALL rooms is difficult. The room is dark, dirty and very cramped. The queen bed was the biggest available and it was very uncomfortable. The bath is awkward- no shelf or counter to put toiletries on, the towels were very small and no extras were included! The tile was dark and dingy. There was actually a bug crawling across the bathroom floor! Free breakfast was another disappointment- no selection, cramped and crowded room and dirty area.The only good thing we have to say about the Days Inn is that it is located on a road that has good access to lots of different areas in Vancouver. There is a Ramada Inn just down the road that has the same access to Vancouver. It is definitely worth a little more money to NOT stay at the Days Inn!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank gklee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

I am sorry that we were not the correct hotel for these guests. We are a smaller, 70 year old hotel and we spend a lot of time and effort into maintaining the property. We have just finished the installation of our new granite top furniture in all of our rooms. We do not have an elevator but our staff are more than happy to help you with your bags.

Our location offers our guests great access to the public transportation, both bus and Skytrain (if you are driving it takes about ten minutes to get downtown). There are three family owned restaurants directly across the street, one of them, The Tipper, we keep their menu in the rooms and they act as our room service.

We do not pretend that we are the hotel for everyone but if you are looking for an affordable clean room, friendly attentive service, free continental breakfast, parking and wifi then we are at the corner of Kingsway and Victoria.

Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice clean Days Inn in Vancouver. Not directly in the downtown area, but only a short drive
away. If you have a large suitcase request a room on the first floor as there is not an elevator to the second floor. Free wi-fi, breakfast and parking. It's an older hotel, but seems to be
kept up well.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have trouble walking or moving luggage request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello Mrs. Cleo. It sounds like you had a lot of fun visiting Vancouver. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with two other adults in a room with two queen beds. Whilst the room had recently been nicely renovated, it was very small when sharing between 3 adults!

The bath had a sheet of rubber bathmat on the bottom which looked very worn, and the bathroom didn't seem well ventilated. The bathroom floor was often wet- not sure if it was coming from the toilet. Wasn't too much of a problem though.

It was great to have breakfast included daily, however it was an extremely chaotic experience. The breakfast room is absolutely tiny, considering the number of rooms and guests at the hotel. Although, we were here during Canada Day so perhaps it was busier than usual. Whilst it's not the fault of hotel staff, other guests did not seem very courteous during breakfast. People often spoke very loudly, children were running around in the small space (a child even turned off the light on one occasion, and hit me on the leg). Despite a sign requesting otherwise, nearly every guest appeared to take a significant amount of food out of the breakfast area. There was actually no fruit left on two of our three mornings. I tried going a little earlier on the third morning and all the bagels and wholemeal toast were also gone. The tables are very close together and it was difficult to get one each morning.

As reflected in other reviews, sound does travel in this hotel.

Reception staff were fairly helpful. They were able to give us transport directions and arranged a taxi for us.

Overall I'd probably look somewhere else. Too chaotic and noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

I am glad that you liked our renovations. We are 95% done our remodeling, a few rooms still need a piece of furniture. The Canada Day Long Weekend is an extremely busy weekend for us, mostly filled with families. My apologies that the Breakfast Room was so crowded, the next project that we are going to tackle is the expansion of this area. I am glad that my staff helped you out so well. I consider myself lucky to have such a helpful, knowledgeable team.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Not a bad place to spend a night or two, but I could've been happier. The parking lot stank of old garbage despite the cool weather, and there were some shady characters strolling through the lot. I didn't feel entirely safe, although nothing happened. The neighborhood is okay, but there's nothing really there except a brand new, clean McDonald's right next door. Lobby service ranged from indifferent to average. Breakfast is well stocked. Our biggest issue was the carpet of the room felt a little moist, there was a foul odor, and the carpet in front of the bathroom was wet. We laid a towel in front of the bathroom, and it turned brownish yellow... eugh. Once we notified housekeeping of the problem, it was corrected promptly - no more moistness, odor or unidentified mess. Room was nice and clean othetwise, although lack of table space in the bathroom was a problem, and the beds squeaked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I believe you have the wrong hotel. We do not have a McDonald's beside us. Maybe it is the Days Inn Vancouver Metro that has a McDonald's next door. I would appreciate if you can ask TripAdvisor to transfer your review to Days Inn Vancouver Metro.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Free wifi and breakfast here, and you just hop on the 19 bus to go to all the main city sights, including Stanley Park. Staff were friendly and rooms are large and clean. Be warned though that sound can travel in this hotel so try to get a room at the end, but even then I could hear the person in the room above walking around! Recommended nonetheless for its good price.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Many of our guests find our location very convenient. Being on the public transportation route, going anywhere from Stanley Park to the Metrotown Mall is very easy. Parking is free in the hotel, but can be hard to find and rather expensive in Downtown Vancouver. I am glad that my staff looked after you so well and I hope that you enjoyed your time in Vancouver.

Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This nice hotel is 10 minutes walk from Nanaimo skytrain station , so has easy access to downtown of Vancouver.
It's located in some oriental part of Vancouver , so it has lots of Chinese, Vietnamese, Chinese and son restaurants, Laundry is across the street.
Rooms are clean, but shower stream was extremely weak.
Breakfast is very light(continental).
In overall very great value and suited for families.

Room Tip: If you want more quite in the morning, chose room NOT facing to McDonald's drive through
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romhulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

I am glad that you found good value in your stay with us and that our location worked out so well for you. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Booked for a week, bit of a distance from airport by taxi but public transport can drop very near the hotel..........it's on a busy road which leads directly into down town Vancouver but noise from passing traffic isn't a real problem however the internal walk ways can be noise with people passing by the rooms but it's certainly not the worst than we have experienced. The price was good for its location and room quality.....Internet is excellent, staff very helpful and cleanliness was very good.........the hotel offered helpful guides to local attractions with detailed and percise public transport access...........overall I couldn't complain

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is good to hear that everything went so well with your stay. We do take pride in providing clean rooms and friendly, knowledgeable service at the Days Inn Vancouver Metro. I hope you enjoyed your time in Vancouver.

Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
930 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#56 of 92 in Vancouver
420 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
713 reviews
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Metro

Address: 2075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5N 2T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £46 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Metro Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing