We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small, overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Metro
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Penticton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too small, overpriced”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel, 2 adults, 2 children, in a very small room with 2 double beds. We asked for a larger room, but were told that was the size of all rooms. We felt like sardines in a can, had to pile luggage in the closet area. The breakfast area was dirty and crowded and down a flight of stairs, which made it difficult for handicapped persons.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linrich51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. All of our rooms are approximately 250 square feet and we do have two, one bedroom suites that are a little bigger. I am sorry that we did not have one of the suites available to offer you. The only place for us to build the breakfast room was downstairs, off the lobby. Again my apologies that our breakfast room was not convenient for you. I hope you enjoyed your time in Vancouver, Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    261
    233
    71
    70
See reviews for
208
235
97
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Summary: Do not book any hotel with Expedia. Don't stay at this hotel if you mind loud noise at night and poor customer service.

Details: The room was what I expected from a hotel with a 2 star rating. The beds were pretty comfortable and clean. There was a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was poorly ventilated. It didn't have a fan and the window didn't open. The tub drained very slowly so every time we showered, lots of water pooled in the tub.

Our big problem with our stay was noise. There was noise from the courtyard every time someone passed, which wasn't a huge deal. The bigger problem was that it sounded like our upstairs neighbors were jumping on the floor every few minutes in the evening. The noise was quite loud and woke our toddler multiple times.

We complained about the noise to the front desk. At first the employee said he would confirm the noise, then called back to say he wasn't able to confirm it. During that call, the thumping happened again and it was loud enough that he could hear it clearly over the phone. He said he would fix the problem. This was around 9 at night, about an hour after the noise started and half an hour after we first complained. Around 10 the noise was still ongoing and we called the front desk back and got no answer. The noise continued past 11 pm.

The next morning we called Expedia, through which we had done a prepaid booking, to cancel the last two days of our stay. Around 9 am we told Expedia and the hotel we were checking out. After a few more long phone calls with Expedia, during which we needed to repeat the whole story every time, we eventually received an e-mail saying they refunded our stay for only the second of the two remaining days. We had left the hotel and notified both Expedia and the hotel that we were leaving two hours before the check-out time. After already spending way too much time on the phone with Expedia, we did not call back to debate the day we paid for after we checked out.

This experience reminded me again of why I usually don't use Expedia. If you see a good rate on Expedia, try calling the hotel and mentioning the rate. They will often match it, then you get to be a direct customer of the hotel, which gets you better service in many cases.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wow_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am sorry about your recent experience with us and about the inconsiderate guest in the room above you. I always recommend for guests to do their research online and then to call the hotel directly to make your reservation. In this case we could have made a rate adjustment for your first night and then moved you to the top floor for your last two nights.

If you would like to give us another try the next time you are in Vancouver, please call me directly. Thank you, Sean Barrington, 604-876-5531.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My room was affordable and clean. The location had excellent transit connections, and was close to a lot of good places to eat. I took the precaution of sleeping with earplugs in ( I do this at home, too), and had as good nights sleep, despite being located next to the parking lot. I must commend the housekeeping staff: My room was immaculate!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good value for the cost. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Even tried to call me when I left something on the counter after checking out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnMetro, Operations Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Metro, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. My favourite comment to read from our guests is for them to mention that they received good value for choosing to stay with us. Sean Barrington, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
863 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Coast Vancouver Airport
#70 of 92 in Vancouver
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Metro

Property: Days Inn Vancouver Metro
Address: 2075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5N 2T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Metro Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing