We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for getting round downtown Vancouver - a little dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #78 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good location for getting round downtown Vancouver - a little dated!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Needed a hotel last minute and this was one of the cheapest we could find. Vancouver is extremely expensive so this would be classed as a fairly budget hotel. Positives - location, clean rooms. very comfortable beds and linen, ice machines on the corridors, a large bathroom - able to have a two double bedded room for my family, pleasant staff. Negatives - dark, dingy corridors - just because the wallpaper was a dark terracotta colour - very little wardrobe space and room to move around. A single friend of ours had a room upstairs and he got a kitchen, fridge, lounge area and a double bedded room. We just had a room with two beds. We would have appreciated the kitchen facility as food and drink are expensive in this city. The hotel has little room facilities other than a TV, hairdryer and an ipod dock which was a bonus. All in all it was an OK experience - would have really appreciated a larger room with chairs that we could have sat on, other than sitting on beds. Granville Street is quite noisy at night. There are lots of beggars who irritate you with their cardboard posters, e.g. 'help get a punk drunk', 'hippies need cash for dope' and 'too proud to prostitute, too honest to steal'. But hey, this is the sadness of the world we live in and there appear to be a large proportion of people in this area with mental health issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW-Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    444
    466
    246
    211
See reviews for
344
502
243
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed for a one night in a double bed room after reading the single bed rooms are pretty tight. Our room was nicely updated and the size was acceptable. The room was on the 5th floor and faced Granville Street.

The room was nicely updated and in very clean condition. The hotel itself is old and the renovations help it out. The fact remains it is still an older hotel and the halls and rooms will be tight.

As we were going to a BC Lions game at BC place, the location worked very well. Walking distance to BC Place and Robson St (also on a main bus route) and just blocks away from Yale Town where there is some good restaurants to go to in moderate price ranges.

Just a heads up if in room facing Granville, between 1 am and 3 am the Night Clubs let out so expect some hooting and hollering below. As we stayed on a Saturday night things were ramped up a bit.

As for the location, this part of Granville is making steps in the right directions but there is still a bit of “edge” to it with panhandlers and adult stores in area. Ok for couples but if you have kids, try a hotel more in the city centre.

We found the hotel staff to be quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed for 3 nights last week. Room was quite small, but for the price I paid I'm definitely not complaining. Staff were friendly.

The only downside was on the Thursday night there was loud music all night long and I wasn't able to sleep until after it died down at 2:00 a.m. Not the best when you're traveling on business and have important meetings at 7:30 a.m. I probably won't stay again just based on the noise but for those looking to save some money this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

I booked this last minute, and confirmed online for a queen bed. When I arrived they gave me two double beds, as they said they didn't have any queens. I showed my reservation and asked why they would let me book a queen if they didn't have it... They just said too bad. Not even an apology.
The hotel is older and you can see it in the hallways. A few things need cleaning, updating, and there are a few weird smells. Once you're in the room though it's fine. The rooms are tight quarters, but as you would expect in a hotel right downtown on Granville. This is a great location for nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebirdskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After a tiring trip from seattle with 2 kids ,Our visit to vancouver was made excellent through the super duper friendly front office supervisor Michaela! Seeing us with kids, she gave u free upgrade and even receive coupons for the vancouver aquarium! the hotel is well stuated, walking distance to Pacific centre, a shopping mall and accessible to everywhere with the bus station just in front....thank u ramada!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heerah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Easy check-in process, no hassle and even received a free upgrade. Room was rather spacious, and met our needs. Not to mention, one staff member is extremely easy on the eyes, you'll know when you see her.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mwg116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

As two college kids traveling on a budget we have to say, the best experience possible! The rooms are not huge, but we weren't there to stay in the room. The beds are comfortable, the TV is new and nice, and the furniture is plentiful...new decor, down comforters and plenty of pillows and towels.

The location is the best, right in the entertainment district, on Sunday streets were closed down once the clubs opened. Really cute English pub right next door if you're not into the club scene, fallafel and coffee on the same block too.

We booked through Priceline and got an amazing deal, and they were going to charge us $15 extra for a double instead of a queen, but the Romanian gal at the front desk (Roxanna?) was very amicable and gave us the upgrade for free! The older gentleman at the desk was very kind to give us tips for getting around town and seeing the sights. Parking is $20, but the lot seemed safe and staffed by a guy at night. You can also get day parking for $10 in public lots.

The location, price, comfort, and level of nice service made this stay awesome.

Room Tip: Try the fallafel place two blocks down from the hotel, better than the one one block down. And nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 90 in Vancouver
95 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1221 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing