We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely small room, no dining room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #76 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely small room, no dining room”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed st the Ramada International for 2 nights while travelling on business in Vancouver. The hotel is located at the end of Granville street, not far from the bridge. It is an ideal location for restaurants and buses.
The hotel itself is small and very clean. The security is adequate as a room key is required to access the lobby after-hours and the elevators at all times.
My room was was way too small, even for one person (approx. 2 feet between the bedroom door and the bed). The window was almost non-existent. It really felt like a broom closet. The bathroom was ok but very noisy when the ventilation was on.
I was dissapointed and a little claustrophobic but decided to stay in the room because I was only there for two nights. Should I have had to stay longer I would have asked to be moved to another room.

The fact that there is no dinning room was a big let-down for me. The hotel was booked through work so I didn't get a chance to check beforehand (my mistake). The good thing about it, however, was that it encouraged me to go out and discover local restaurants.

Overall my stay at the Ramada was average. What convinced me to stay was the cleanliness of the place and the location. But I will not be returning to it should I travel again to Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_robert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    443
    464
    246
    208
See reviews for
341
500
242
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location. Can't beat it in the heart of all the action. It is in the popular club area of Granville but its further from the action. There is a small club (ginger 62) attached to the hotel. Stay on the 3rd floor and above and u won't hear anything. The rooms are quite small but re done. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The biggest downfall to this hotel is the parking. It's small and very tight. We have a f150 and it was a tight squeeze to fit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimmosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It is OK for a short stay, the location is great, lots of night life around. The check in and out was quick, the room and elevator are small. I can hear the other guests talking in their room. The fun in the bathroom is noise. The staff is helpful for assistance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I read that a lot of people thought the rooms were small and noisy but I think they are just being extremely picky!! Our room was spacious, the staff was so helpful and we were right on the street and the noise from the club (which is only open 3 nights a week) was minimal. It was quieter than New York and exactly the noise level you could expect from a large city. I would stay here again especially since the price was so affordable!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplecupcake84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We were after a cheap hotel, so we chose ramada, as we got a great Internet rate.
Beds were really comfy and the room was clean.
Hotel is in good location to access all of Vancouver.
Rooms are extremely small, barely room to move around the bed.
Hotel is old, so every single noise from the corridor and next door room comes right through to your room - bring earplugs.
There is a night club below, so expect to hear the music and feel the vibrations, we did and we were on one of the higher levels.
The corridors smell strange also.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 00charlzy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The room is more than I expected for the price. The bed was extremely comfortable which helped me get over my jet lag quicker. The Irish pub downstairs does a great breakfast. The only thing better than the helpful staff is the awesome location in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshPruyn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Hi my name is Maria Pook. I stayed at the Ramada Inn on Granville Street for 16 nights.
I would highly recommend this place, not only was it priced well the service was friendly and welcoming. The size of the room was great as well as clean.
A big thank you to Mihaela and all of the front staff for all your help and service.
Also to all the house cleaners that look after that hotel -thank you.

Hope to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajiv S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Hello Ms. Pook, I am so pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. We enjoyed your company as well. If you are ever in Vancouver again, please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist you in booking a suite with us.
Happy holidays,
Rajiv Jackson Singh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1221 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing