We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect budget hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is perfect for the budget traveller who still wants comfort, location and security. My room had no pretty view but was perfectly comfortable and definitely clean. The room was small but as a lone traveller I don't need room to spread my stuff ! Breakfast was included - although there was a limited choice, I have no complaints about the tea/coffee, juice, bagels, eggs, cereals etc... on offer and I really hate having to pay extra for it which is so often the case in N.America. Location was great - a block from the main shopping area and also close to the harbour. As mentioned by some previous reviewers, there is a dodgy area nearby but if you turn right when you leave the hotel you can't go wrong ! For the money this hotel was perfect and not a rip off like some others ! OK, no gym and no swimming pool, but that didn't matter to me on a short trip. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help you out. Thanks for a very pleasant stay !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeymac1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
What a terrific review! This guest covers all of the areas that make our property a GREAT choice when visiting Downtown Vancouver! As this guest mentioned there is excellent added value when staying at our property...most hotels will charge you for breakfast as well as Wireless Internet, but not here! The Ramada Limited Downtown Vancouver gives you those two things for free! Give us a try, you will not be disappointed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    693
    323
    100
    58
See reviews for
282
522
149
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was an unexpected gem in downtown Vancouver. We arrived via plane, then train to Waterfront station. The hotel gave very specific directions on getting there. First walk in the streets of Vancouver may be intimidating, but once inside the lobby, you feel very comfortable. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful in giving directions. We had a room on the sixth floor and the elevators are key pass protected. This is an older historic hotel, and very well maintainined. The rooms are small, but clean. With all the walking we did, a hot bath each night was welcomed. This hotel is just blocks away from Gastown, a historic part of the city we neglected until our last day. Also a walk down the seawall gives great views of the city skyline from many different perpectives. The buses are a great way to get around the city, we went to West Vancouver to catch a ferry to Bowen Island, then the next day, took a short route to Stanely Park. Consider a bike rental for getting around the park and seeing all that it has to offer. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtBeckyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Everything is small and compact, bedroom, bathroom and no security box in the room. Rooms are old, however livable. Front view of the hotel you see on their web page looks pretty grand and impressive. Not so in real live. Much smaller on a one shop front. Just don't expect it to be like a real "Ramada" hotel ok? Although bathroom is clean and may have renovated there isn't much room to swing a cat. So keep your pet at home.. Location central ..walking distance to Canada Place, Gastown (restuarant galore) and Chinatown. My roon next to ice machine so constantly I can hear ice churning...

Room Tip: Get as far away as you can from the ice machines !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrowpet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, General Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are a small, limited service property consisting of 80 guest rooms in a 100 year old, 6 storey historical building. We do not have in-room safe's but we do offer safety deposit boxes at the Front Desk for no charge. Guests choose to stay with us for our great guest service, affordable rates, excellent location and daily added values (Free Breakfast and Wi-Fi).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Difficult to understand the good reviews - must be that the price is indeed lower than surrounding hotels. I will absolutely have invested more to get a decent room. The door almost touch the bed when you open it - difficult to move your luggage around. The carpet was old and smell sweat. There were no window in the room so it was dark even during the day - little light inside. The king bed was in fact two twin beds joined together - very uncomfortable. The AC was old and noisy and wouldn't keep up to keep the room at a decent temperature.
I would avoid going to this hotel - definitively recommend to avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I apologize that you had these problems with your stay. I would like to address some of the issues this reviewer touched on. This is important for all future guests, if you have ANY problems with your room please let us know right away....all we ask is that we are given a chance to fix a problem while you are here. We pride ourselves in providing some of the best customer service in the city and can guarantee that, had this reviewer let us know of the problems, we would have been able to make the remainder of their stay a very enjoyable one. We are a 100 year old building and you will see in the other reviews that our rooms are a little smaller than some newer higher end hotels, but our rooms are very clean and comfortable. All rooms do have windows that open but some do face the buildings beside us and therefore the glass is smoked. We have a terrific Maintenance Department and they would have been more than happy to fix or replace anything in the room that was not functioning to your liking (Air Conditioner). Please take the time to read some more reviews of our property and I think you will find that this is not a common occurance at our property and that we are in fact a great choice for anyone visiting Downtown Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Vey closer to the port and places to visit and eat. Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Anyone going on a cruise - recommend it as a place to stay at a good value and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had an early flight and needed a hotel close to the train line to the airport. The Ramada fit the bill! Cosy room on the 6th floor...no noise from the bars or street. Extremely comfortable bed. Wakeup call when I asked for it and a quick 5 minute walk down to catch the train. Definitely a keeper.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I’m a medical professional and came to Vancouver to attend a week-long conference held at the convention center at Canada Place on the waterfront. Since I figured I’d be in sessions all day long, and out with friends at night, I wanted a cheap sleep within an easy walk of the convention center to avoid the $350-450/day hotel costs at the convention center hotels. Ramada Limited West Pender fit the bill perfectly, and it was about a 7 minute walk to Canada Place.

Taking the train in from the Vancouver airport was a snap, and lets you off at the Waterfront Station, about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. You come up to street level on Cordova street, and all you have to do is walk a few hundred feet East to Richards, then up Richards to Pender. The hotel is on Pender right next to the intersection of Richards and Pender. My flight got in late on a Sat night and I was a bit concerned about walking around the downtown at ~10:00 PM but no concern is warranted. The streets were filled with people and safety isn’t an issue.

The hotel is in a neighborhood bordered by the central business district and the convention center area on one side, Gastown on the other side, and is adjacent to Simon Frasier University. The immediate neighborhood consists of an eclectic mix of restaurants, bookstores, boutiques, an antique store, and student-friendly fast-food places like pizza by the slice and computer repair places. There are also payday loan places and a tattoo parlor. I would characterize the neighborhood as: “just-this-side-of-seedy”. I never was uncomfortable when out and about, day or night but I could see how someone not accustomed to an urban environment might feel unsafe. During my visit I did see some women who looked like prostitutes prowling around and there was some sort of police action right across the street from the hotel one night.

The hotel is old but upgraded to approximately contemporary standards.

My room was smallish but more than adequate, and spotlessly clean. It had two single beds with a night table between them with a clock radio. There was also a sitting area with a large overstuffed sofa and a huge chest of drawers which also held the TV. Unfortunately for TV watchers, the screen was facing 90’ from the view of people watching TV from the sofa. They would do well to replace the oversize sofa (for this size room) with a couple of smaller wingback chairs which would be much more appropriate and utilitarian. The room has side-open-out double-pane windows which were very drafty, so essentially the windows were open all the time, letting in air and street noise, which at times was disturbing. The first thing they should do is replace the weatherstripping so closing the windows would actually seal out the environment, which would also diminish the street noise.

The room has a wireless programmable thermostat that I never figured out how to use. Even when turning it off completely (or so I thought) it would go on in the middle of the night, and I would have to get up and shut it off again. They might draw up a little instruction sheet and have it handy for guests.

The mattress, I’m delighted to say, was completely enclosed in a fabric cover, and I saw no evidence of bedbugs. Kudos to the management!

The carpeting was frayed in one place and the lampshades were crooked but otherwise the furnishings looked good. I wouldn’t call it shabby.

The bathroom was clean and perfectly functional with room for all my toiletries.

The free breakfast was more than adequate. Non-rubbery pre-made scrambled egg paddies and hot pre-made pancakes and waffles for those so inclined, along with white and wheat bread, white flour bagles, several types of cereal, apples and bananas, coffee and tea, and high-fat content looking sweet muffins.

There’s a Vietnamese restaurant right across the street, literally, from the hotel that serves noodle soups and a few appetizers and that’s all. For ~$8.50 you get a giant bowl of noodle soup containing your choice of meats, seafood, and vegetables that makes a tasty, quick and inexpensive dinner.

The other people staying at the hotel mostly seemed to be fellow conventioneers and folks going to cruises which also leave from Canada Place.

I made my reservations on-line and one thing that I wasn’t crazy about is they charge you the full amount of your stay when you make your reservation, and there’s no possibility of a refund if your plans change, unless you register as a member of AARP, in which case you don’t get charged until you show up. I guess they do that in the event AARP members die before their visit. The downside of this payment methodology is that I like paying for my hotel room with every last penny of Canadian money I have in my possession and then using my credit card for the rest. This precludes that possibility and you have to plan some other way of getting rid of your last Canadian money at the time of your departure.

Overall, this is an economical alternative to the convention center hotels, in a good location to restaurants and urban down Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishloverdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
1,716 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
756 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Address: 435 Pender St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Limited Downtown
Ramada Vancouver
Vancouver Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing