We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were happy to leave ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Location:
The hotel is located between Gastown and the shopping district, near to China Town as well as to the Harbour. So, the location is quite good, except for the fact that there are a lot of homeless people and drug addicts around the hotel. In general the area around the hotel is not exactly "nice".

Rooms:
Our rooms on the sixth and fourth floor looked all the same: they were very small, with two queen size beds, one arm chair (squeezed between one bed and the wall), a window that wasn't really one because it was only one feet away from an exterior wall and therefore pasted up, so that you didn't have to look at the wall. The beds were clean. The bathroom was tiny but clean and had lots of white, clean towels of good quality. The carpet was just filthy and blotchy and we didn't dare to walk on the carpet without shoes. The first room we got (Nr. 601) reeked of urine, so we went back to the reception and asked for a different room. The receptionist was very friendly, apologized for the inconvenience and gave us immediately a different room (No. 403).
Room no. 403 looked exactly like the first room but didn't smell as bad. Unfortunately this time the bathroom had the smell of urine (we think this is because of the floor tiles, since they are difficult to clean). The rooms are simply tiny and darkish and because of the strange smell we were just happy to leave after a two night stay.

Breakfast (included):
The breakfast room is located in the basement without windows. There are two open sitting areas, with blank tables. Breakfast included bagels, muffins, toast, a variety of packed jams and peanut butter, cornflakes, milk, apples, three different juices, coffee, tea and pancakes. Again: we just had a quick coffee and were happy to leave the depressing atmosphere of the darkish room.

Service:
The front office was very friendly and check-in as well as check-out was quick and easy.

Parking:
The hotel offers "valet parking" for 25 CAD/night. For this price you can enter and leave the parkade as often as you like. Since we didn't want to pay 50 $ for two nights we simply parked our rental car in the "easy park" parking garage just across the street for 4.5 CAD/night. But unfortunately the night rate applies only from 6.00pm to 6.00am. So you have to get up quite early in the morning and to purchase a new ticket. But from Saturday to Sunday we could purchase one ticket that was valid until Monday morning (for only 9.00 $). You can enter and leave this parkade as often as you want to.

Other matters:
Next to the front desk there is one computer with internet access - use is free!
The hotel has only one elevator, so especially in the morning during breakfast and check-out time using the elevator can take a long time - but of course you can always use the stairs.

Next time in Vancouver we would definitely spend more money on the hotel or simply do a better research. The dark rooms with the unpleasant or rather disgusting smell was just unacceptable. I think there are some renovated rooms, but the hotel should - by all means - exchange at least the dirty carpets in the old rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

As stated in many other responses.....Downtown Vancouver is the 3rd largest city in the country and with that comes issues of homelessness. You will find a noticable amount of homeless people in ALL areas of Vancouver, not just around our property as this review may imply. We are a 98 year old building and guest rooms are comfortable but may be smaller than some newer buildings. We are very concerned with the comments about the carpet and smells and therefore have recently began having all the carpets in guest rooms and hallways proffessionally cleaned and will be replacing any carpet that cannot be cleaned. Guests are not required to stay and eat in the Breakfast Room and are encouraged to take a tray of food to their guest rooms if the Breakfast Room gets too busy. The Valet Parking that we offer is a great value as it is an underground, gated and patrolled lot. The $25 will allow you to use the lot as mcuh as you like and it should be noted that it is valid until 5pm the following day. I am glad that the reviewer did notice our focus on service and we would like to stress that we do have a great little property here and are working on rectifying the recent issues brought to our attention via these Trip Advisor Reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Very convenient for cruise ship passengers. Close to Gastown, Seabus & Skytrain. Lots of foreign tourists. Free breakfast.
Rooms and bathrooms are very small. Lobby is very small.
Carpets are filthy! Valet Parking only.
Not worth $170 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleepless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I booked this hotel via a travel agent. To be fair, the location is great with regard to access to the rest of Downtown. However, the hotel is very tired, and there is a reason that is quite a bit cheaper than the rest of the local competition. I stayed for 5 nights, and had 5 rooms - the first was on the 2nd (European 1st) floor, facing the road, which I was concerned would be too noisy (room 215 - facing the main street) - I was then put into 210 which I was told would be quieter as it faced the side-street though it had no natural light. This room did not smell good, though was told that the next day they would try to move me to a higher floor.
The next day I was moved to 410 - the same room two floors above. Whilst this did have natural light it also smelt bad - with a vineger tinge. I had asked for a double-bed, but all I got was two singles pushed together. The shower was a total joke, and breakfast in the morning wasn't impressive - in a tiny room in the basement with only bagels and pancakes as the hot options, and only maybe seating for 20-30 guests at most. With 80 rooms if you went at peak time there was no point as there was no room and nowhere to sit. Free Internet connectivity was good, though the connection slow.
On checkout I wasn't even asked whether everything had been alright with my stay - I wouldn't bother even thinking about this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimaera001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2010

We are sad to see that this guest checked out of the hotel unhappy. I can clarify a few issues mentioned in this review. Firstly, this guest did not stay in 5 different rooms for their 5 nights. They stayed in 2 different rooms (210 and 410). Guest was checked into room 215 (one of our larger rooms with big bright windows as well as a fireplace). We blocked this room specifically for this guest because they were staying for 5 nights and would appreciate the extra space. The guest was "concerned" that there could be a "potential" for street noise because this room is at the front of the hotel and facing the street. Guest informed our Front Desk of this concern and was given the option of staying in the room for the night (to see if the street noise would even be an issue) or moving to the one vacant room we had (210). Guest was given this option and after inspecting this room decided to move into room 210. As per the guest request, he was moved to a higher floor the following day. Guest wanted a quiet room (away from the street) and a room with natural light. After being given keys to room 410 the guest stayed in this room until the end of their stay (4 nights) without mentioning any concerns about this room. In relation to the other comments..."shower was a total joke"..I am unclear as to what this means exactly. We get comments almost EVERY day about the great shower pressure and have had several guests purchase shower heads from us because they like them so much!! There are many great reviews on the quality of our FREE breakfast and it seems that a majority of our guests love it. This review says we have "Pancakes and Bagels" but it is much more extensive. Our breakfast room cannot accomodate every one of our guests all at once (I dont know any hotel who's restaurant could accomodate every single guest all at one time). We do provide an additional room for guests to use during busy times and we also provide trays so that guests can take food to their rooms. We have a terrific wireless internet provider and they are happy to assist with any connectivity issues (24 hours a day, 7 days a week). Guest should have been asked how everything went with their stay at check out...as it is our goal to have all guests leave the hotel happy!! I can assure all readers of this review that we are a very nice, clean, friendly and centrally located property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We arrived at the hotel, thinking that the Ramada is a reputable hotel to stay in. When we opened the door to the room, we smelled a strong smell of urine. The carpet was so dirty that we wouldn't have even taken our shoes off and the bed was so soft that you could feel the coils when you sat on it. Needless to say, we didn't stay at the hotel. Instead, stayed at the Pinnacle Hotel on the Pier in North Vancouver, which I might add was amazingly beautiful and for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

We would like to apologize that this was your first experience at our property. This guest was immediately offered several other rooms to choose from but unfortunatly they refused to look at any of them. We certainly attempted to help this guest but were not given the opportunity. It should be noted that this guest was contacted the following day by myself, the Assistant General Manager, to apologize. The mattress in this room has been replaced and we are currently working on having the carpets in all rooms proffessionaly cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Our room smelled like urine and feces upon entering. The hotel's response was to give us a can of spray air freshener. We could see a big stain on floor where someone had the accident. No other rooms available, so we had to stay. No one should have to live in those conditions, let alone pay. Hotel refused to discount room. Room was so small and cramped my husband and I had difficult time walking around without squeezing. It was awful experience. It is one of the cheaper hotels, but not worth it. Be warned, do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanetteschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

I can assure all future guests that our property was recently inspected by Ramada Worldwide and recieved an almost perfect score (one of the highest in North America). Our houskeeping department does and incredible job and recieves awards and positive guest feedback on a regular basis. I will be reviewing this guest room to see if there is infact any staining of the carpet and ensuring that appropriate steps are taken to avoid having any guest issues like this in the future. It is always our goal to have each en every guest leaving the hotel with nothing but good things to say about our property and staff. If any guest has what we feel is a legitimate complaint about our product, we certainly will do everything within our power to rectify the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights prior to joining an Alaskan cruise. It's a little basic, but had everything we needed, including free internet. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and we were able to check in on arrival, despite being there four hours before official checkin. In terms of what we paid it's good value, particularly since breakfast was included. For us it was a little too far to walk to the Cruise terminal with our luggage, but the taxi ride was cheap. The area is a bid seedy, and I'm not sure I'd want to walk round there at night alone - there was a bit of an incident nearby on our first night. But in daylight it's fine, and so easy to get to main shopping area, Gastown, Chinatown etc etc. I would definitely stay there again if price was my driving force.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank janem25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! As mentioned in the review, we are in a great location for anyone taking an Alaskan Cruise. We are only 6 blocks from the Cruise Ship Terminal, but as the reviewer mentioned, most guests will take a taxi (approx. $6) because of the amount of luggage most guests bring for a Cruise. We are right in the middle of Downtown Vancouver and like most metropolitan cities around the world there can be a lot of activity...but Vancouver is considered very safe and guests should feel totally safe walking around the city, regardless of the time of day. I am not sure what the "bit of an incident nearby" was but I am sure it was nothing of significance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I am not over rating this hotel...but for me and my partner, this hotel is the best among the rest... great value for the money you'll spend... breakfast for both of us is really good. Amy, she is really nice and accommodating... she always welcomes guest with a big smile and will greet them with a good morning... (for me that is one of the most important thing, to start your day right, with great people and good food). Location wise, the hotel is really great... we just rode Canada line from the airport (fare is expensive in YVR terminus), off to waterfront station, and from there we just walked 2-3 blocks going to ramada. If you're in for walking... everything is just a walking distance from the hotel, name it! (Canada place, Robson square, Gas town, China town, Waterfront station). Our room is always clean, and we can say that the room attendant is doing their job well, because we stayed there for 5 days and boy! they cleaned our room really good. On our 3rd day we informed the attendant that our curtain was broken, they said that maintenance will come to fix it, and whoala! when we came back to our room, everything was clean and our curtain was already fixed, that's what you call fast and reliable service. =) We slept really good and we don't have any problems with noise or anything. By the way, we really did not expect this, because we arrived in Vancouver early at around 10am and the check in time is not until 3pm, we went in the hotel hoping to ask the clerk if we can just leave our luggage because we need to do something important that day, then, we were surprised that the front desk clerk told us that we can check in now because the room was already ready... WOW!!! =) and the other best part was that, from the other reviews they said that some of the rooms don't have windows, so here I am, asked the clerk if she can give us a room with window, and our wish is our command... she checked us in early, +++ she gave us a room with window... she is really nice and accommodating... =) the sad thing is, I forgot her name, but she is in the front desk when we checked in last june 7, I think she worked on the weekdays, tall lady with brown hair... really nice and friendly... =) Amy and her is really an asset in this hotel... =) Me and my partner missed Vancouver badly... and we are planning our next trip there, and in our plan, we will still stay in Ramada Limited Downtown Vancouver... =)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASCA0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,779 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown

Address: 435 Pender St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £79 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Limited Downtown
Ramada Vancouver
Vancouver Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing